We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Synetic Theater

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Synetic Theater
2611 Jefferson Davis Highway, Suite 103, Arlington, VA 22202
1 703.824.8060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 39 Attractions in Arlington
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We came accross this Synetic Theater a little by coincidence, and what a tremendous surprise we got. This is theather is the most professional way at the most affordable price.
The Three Musketeers was entertaining, funny, very well done and truly unique, which is impressive considering the high standards of such a tale.

The actors were superb. The special effects and lighting, something important to me, who have been on the stage as well and know the challenges of creating and coordinating special effects on--what I am sure is--a limited budget. Everything about the performance was grandiose, and there was nothing left to be desired when compared to the likes of Kennedy Center or Imagination Stage performances.
What a gem!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Md.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very interesting theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have been to Synetic many times, and we have almost always enjoyed the performances. They are very inventive and unlike most dance theaters you will go to. In my opinion, their wordless Shakepearean performances are the best. And the Metro stop couldn't be more convenient!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of the most powerful and unusual theatre experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have been to several of the Synetic Theatre's productions of Shakespeare plays without words. And I will be back for more. Without dialogue, it is useful to know the plot line. But the acting is so powerful, that's not even necessary.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Physical, sexy, high-tech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Synetic's brand of theater blends narrative, movement, technology and a visceral approach that's compelling. While not every show is a home run, they are consistently inventive. The theater is easily reached by Metro. There's not much around for dinner/drinks, so you're better off eating elsewhere and then driving/training to the theater. It's a 5-minute walk from the Crystal City metro station, and can be reached without going outside.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Surprisingly delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Beloved and I went to see Jekyll and Hyde. Not having done my homework I did not realize this was a wordless show. It was a great surprise that the lead and supporting cast were phenomenal. My thinking was this would be campy, and although there were moments where they came close to the campy line...a Michael Jacksonesqe dance number comes to mind...the line was balanced. It was exciting and gave me a full understanding of "physical theatre". It was a powerful and very sexy 90 minutes. This particular show is NOT for children or those that are sensative to sexuality. We loved it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Synetic Theater also viewed

 

Been to Synetic Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Synetic Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.