We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most powerful and unusual theatre experiences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Synetic Theater

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Synetic Theater
2611 Jefferson Davis Highway, Suite 103, Arlington, VA 22202
1 703.824.8060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 28 Attractions in Arlington
Attraction details
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of the most powerful and unusual theatre experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have been to several of the Synetic Theatre's productions of Shakespeare plays without words. And I will be back for more. Without dialogue, it is useful to know the plot line. But the acting is so powerful, that's not even necessary.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Physical, sexy, high-tech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Synetic's brand of theater blends narrative, movement, technology and a visceral approach that's compelling. While not every show is a home run, they are consistently inventive. The theater is easily reached by Metro. There's not much around for dinner/drinks, so you're better off eating elsewhere and then driving/training to the theater. It's a 5-minute walk from the Crystal City metro station, and can be reached without going outside.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Surprisingly delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Beloved and I went to see Jekyll and Hyde. Not having done my homework I did not realize this was a wordless show. It was a great surprise that the lead and supporting cast were phenomenal. My thinking was this would be campy, and although there were moments where they came close to the campy line...a Michael Jacksonesqe dance number comes to mind...the line was balanced. It was exciting and gave me a full understanding of "physical theatre". It was a powerful and very sexy 90 minutes. This particular show is NOT for children or those that are sensative to sexuality. We loved it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NM
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Jeckyll & Hyde”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Play is a different take on the old story. No dialogue. The basic story is okay & the actor playing the main character is pretty good w/a lot of physical flexibility required. Uses dancers in gas masks & a big TV as important parts which frankly I didn't get.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Theatre At Its Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Synetic is one of the top theatre companies in the DC metro area. We see many theatrical productions around the country each year, and Synetic is on the top of our list. You can bet that the shows will have incredible production values - lighting, original music, and choreography are always top notch. The talent of the performers is astounding.
Do not be afraid to attend just because there are no words - no words are needed to understand their brilliance.
Highly recommended for locals and visitors alike. Go see them and be amazed. Then go out for dinner/drinks and talk for hours about what you just witnessed.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Synetic Theater also viewed

 

Been to Synetic Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Synetic Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.