We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harar Mesob

Harar Mesob
542 S 23rd Street, Arlington, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #196 of 642 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We came here for a family dinner before a show. My kids (teenagers who like ethnic and spicy food) wondered why we had never taken them out for Ethiopian food before. I wondered that, too. We had a very tasty meal of the combination meat and veggie platters, plus a couple of lamb dishes. The service was good, and we liked the atmospheric pop Ethiopian music. We'll be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
127 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I ordered a vegetarian meal, my husband had meat, and we shared. One of my lentil dishes was especially tasty, spicy with maybe allspice. I tried the honey wine and found it to be much too sweet (Ethiopian beer was much better). The service was excellent, all our food was delicious, and the atmosphere was attractive.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant and economical surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stumbled upon this small Ethiopian restaurant while at a local conference in Arlington Virginia. My wife and I enjoy Ethiopian cuisine but find it rather pricey for the usual amount of food served. No worries at Harar Mesob where we enjoyed a small but tasty lunch buffet. Several of the vegetables were probably out of a can; however, the preparation was excellent and the selection quite varied. Restaurants rarely have enough vegetables but on this day we enjoyed collard greens, green beans, and both red and green cabbage. They also offered a chicken and a beef dish for variety. Our server was pleasant and quite knowledgeable. The best part of the experience was the price - $8.95/person. Unfortunately, the buffet is available only during weekday hours. The lunch buffet is an excellent way for individuals to try out a delicious yet under appreciated world cuisine. We will make every effort to return in the future.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great intro to Ethiopian fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Our waitress guided us to some great choices for our group to enjoy our first experience with Ethiopian food. The incense was a little strong when we first came in but they may have just started some and it thinned out quickly.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Worth Checking Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This place is easily lost in the bustle of "restaurant row" on 23rd St. in Crystal City. It's a bit smaller than most of the others, but was a great dining experience - I was torn on whether to give this place a "very good" or "excellent". The service was good, food was unique and tasty, and the atmosphere was laid back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harar Mesob also viewed

 

Been to Harar Mesob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harar Mesob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.