We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly, Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Gateway Marriott to your Saves list
Crystal Gateway Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Mt. Airy NC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly, Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We arrived to a nice room. Beds were very comfortable. Check in went smoothly. Stayed for 3 nights always came back to a very clean room all our request were quickly met. Parking is very pricey at $21.00 a night. We booked for 109.00 a night and added parking to that it was still cheaper than most hotels closer to DC. Metro directly under the hotel. There are several stores under the hotel as well but they close around 8 pm during the week. We were shocked to find that they all closed around 6 on Saturday night. Please do not pay the outragoues $16.95 for the breakfast they offer instead there is a great little diner down the street about 2 and half blocks Crystal City Diner? Great food and very reasonable prices we eat ther 2 mornings always had great service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    382
    121
    33
    21
See reviews for
216
116
68
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

We spent one night at this Marriott. Our plans were to tour Washington DC for two days. The location of this Marriott was great. The Metro is located under the Marriott. It only took us 10 minutes to ride the Metro to Washington DC. The restaurants and shops located underground by the Metro Station were an added bonus. We ate two meals at the Hamburger Hamlet. There food was delicious and reasonably priced. (They serve more than hamburgers!)
If we ever return to tour Washington DC we will definately stay at this hotel. Our only complaint is that we were placed in a room on the 4th floor by the swimming pool. The pool closes at 11pm. We were tired after a long day of walking in DC. There was a lot of noise from the pool until 11pm. Just be sure to ask for a room not overlooking the pool. Otherwise the room was very quiet!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

I thought this place was great. I was always greeted pleasantly by all of the staff, whether it was the front desk, the valet's , or the cleaning staff. It is great to have a tunnel to get you to the metro or shops. My two friends love the beds, I thought they were too soft so I took the rollaway and all were happy. I give it two thumbs up.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiggermyron
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Absolutely fabulous! Set slightly apart from the hubbub of downtown DC in Arlington VA near the Pentagon and a short Metro ride away from the sights. Beautiful "business" style hotel which also caters to families with features like an indoor/outdoor pool, kids menus in restaurant with crayons,etc. Staff is terrific. Everyone we dealt with was so friendly and helpful. Rooms appear recently renovated and spotless. Ate several meals here too and food was wonderful. Cannot say enough good things about this place! Will recommend to all and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
213 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 4 days in January and was very impressed. We flew in to Reagan National, took the free shuttle and there we were. The hotel was within walking distance of where we had business, the underground mall, Metro, restaurants goes on and on. Short walk to better restaurants up on 23rd. Three stops on the Metro yellow line to the Smithsonian, maybe 20 minutes tops.
Convenience is the word.
Also, the staff were great, front desk, lounge, security, everyone.
Great big rooms with all the mod cons.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy construction work, probably done now
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

If you're looking to stay somewhere very nice in Washington DC that's near dining, a mall, and the Metro, I'd say stay at this hotel. We booked this last minute as we were driving towards DC. The parking is expensive ($27/day) so you're better off not bringing your car. It's right above a mall with a food court and a Metro station. Very convenient access to Arlington Cemetery, downtown DC, etc.

The property is going thru some massive refurbishment in the garage so during the day the lobby is very loud from jack hammers. There's a good restaurant on the 2nd (1st) floor where we had breakfast. Expensive, if you're not on the free breakfast ticket.

Room was nice and in good shape. Hi Def TV, desk area. We had them bring up a fridge that worked very well for leftovers. There's Internet but it's $12/day. Beds were soft but generally comfortable. Pillows were very soft (too soft for me). Good A/C system with thermostat. Again, this is a mid to high end Marriott property. Very responsive staff. Starbucks in the lobby. Indoor pool, fitness center (we didn't use either).

Underground and past the highway is a mall with some decent restaurants and stores, including a CVS-like place where you can stock up on drinks and snacks and put them in your fridge for later.

Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

I was in DC for a couple of nights on business and my company used this hotel to hold the conference. Upon arriving on the red-eye flight into Reagan National I hop into a cab for a short 10min ride to the hotel. The lobby was very clean and spacious. I took a chance in trying to get an early check-in but was told that no rooms with a single king was available so I checked my luggage into the bell desk and hung around feeling somewhat disappointed and tired. No more than 20min had passed when someone from the hotel offered me a room with 2 doubles to use if I wanted to rest up until my room was ready. I immediately jumped on the opportunity and was escorted to my room. The person was extremely courteous and helpful. Room was adequate and I must have snoozed for an hour before getting a call letting me know that they have a room for me.

I was moved into the Arlington Tower on a high floor as requested and it had everything you would need to feel comfortable. No complaints on the room, everything was clean and in working order. Also, I was now in the tower where the conference is being held so it was unbelievably convenient. The underground access to shops and eateries was very convenient and handy. I didn't use the metro line but will try to the next time. I can understand by the reviews posted why this Marriott got such high remarks, can't find anything bad to say except that the fitness center could use an update. Good choice, you can't go wrong, will stay here again even on a vacation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#9 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#16 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#12 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Gateway Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.