We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with a GREAT location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Crystal Gateway

Save Saved
You added Marriott Crystal Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Crystal Gateway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #19 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Shelbyville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with a GREAT location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

I stayed at the Crystal Gateway Marriott for four nights. The room was lovely, and the hotel service was great. I really enjoyed the workout room, pool and hot tub. The business center offered free internet access to print airline boarding passes, although other internet access was pricey. I LOVED the location with quick access to the Crystal City metro stop. Since it was cold and rainy during my stay, the ability to use the underground tunnels to access restaurants and shops was fabulous. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    297
    95
    25
    16
See reviews for
164
87
61
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, VA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

My meeting was in Crystal City, so this hotel's location worked out great. From the cavernous hotel lobby, you can walk directly into the underground passageways and shops under Crystal City and it is about a block (underground) from the Crystal City Metro stop (another plus). All the rooms had been recently renovated; new furniture, carpeting, flat-screen TVs, high-end linens, etc. Spotless. Be sure to ask for a room on the Eads Street side; the other side overlooks Jefferson Davis Highway (Route 1) and was very noisy, so I had to switch rooms. Parking is steep at $19.00 a day and the breakfast buffet was also steep at $16.00; there are several alternatives in the Crystal City shops. The staff is friendly and helpful, which is always a plus. Overall, a very pleasant and convenient stay.

  • Liked — Recently renovated with high quality furnishings.
  • Disliked — Noisy highway on one side; lobby can be drafty in winter.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

Another nice at a Marriott property. This hotel is close to National Airport and there are quite a few retail establishments within walking distance. The room is clean and the service personnel friendly.

Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

My son found a piece of glass in his ice cream during dessert in one of their ballrooms. I showed a waiter the large crack in the dish as well as a jagged egde on the lip of the dish. The waiter acted like he could not have cared less and took the dish. I figured he was taking it to show a manager or someone in authority but he never returned. The staff at this hotel does not seem to care about the health and safety of their patrons.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

My two teenagers and I took a quick trip to see the sights in Washington DC and stayed in this hotel. Having done much research on hotels in the area, I decided on the Marriott Crystal Gateway because of easy access to the Metro - and the very reasonable price at the time!

We don't travel much, so when we do, I want it to be as nice as possible. This hotel did not disappoint! The staff was amazingly wonderful, and I was impressed that we were remembered on different occasions.

The room was beautiful, and just as shown in pictures posted. I really liked the window. While there wasn't a view, the bow window did make the room seem bigger. Very nice!

My daughter and I loved the Bath and Body Works amenities. In fact, having used the lotion from the room, we are now puchasing it to have at home.

As mentioned in other posts, the Metro stop is reached through an underground mall. While I was a bit apprehensive about the Metro system at first, we quickly became acclimated, and my son delighted in figuring out the schedule before I did so he could lead the way.

The Metro is a wonderful way to get to the sights of DC. Once we parked the car in the hotel parking lot, we never moved it again until the day we left to come home. One stop up on the Metro line brought us to Pentagon City, which had a fabulously huge mall. Not that we had much time (or desire) to shop, but it had a large food court that we utilized a couple of times. It was very pretty, especially decorated for Christmas.

Our trip was wonderful. We didn't have much time, but we loved every minute we were there, and the Crystal Gateway Marriott was one of the factors that made it so nice.

  • Liked — The beds! They are the absolute best!
  • Disliked — Paying for parking
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

In DC with my family for a sightseeing trip

GREAT HOTEL!!! Easy to access from major highways. Very stylish and updated lobby

Extremely friendly staff at all levels

Other reviews were great tip, asked for a complimentary upgrade since I was with children and THEY GAVE IT TO ME!! -despite staying on Marriott points.

Jr. Suite had small living area with pullout couch and a small refrig (Woo Hoo) 42 inch Flat screen

Great King sized Bed in BR and 42 inch flat screen

Bathroom small but nice

Having access to Metro through underground concourse was great and having several stores down there (drug store, grocery, restaurants, etc.) was helpful. A little bit of a walk, so if you wanted much closer access the Crystal City Marriott is literally down an escalator from Metro stop

Breakfast good but expensive (expected in DC)

All in all a great stay-highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

As always, I booked through Priceline and got this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised to get this location at the price I paid. (Significantly lower than retail)

Checkin was prompt and the luggage was taken upstairs by the staff while I decided to go find something to eat.

Once I got back to the hotel, I was ready to sleep. Did I ever! That bed was so comfortable! I haven't slept at a hotel so well in ages.

I woke up the next morning (and really had to pull myself out of bed!) to check out quickly and effortlessly. The only downside of the experience was the $25 parking fees for one night (I wasn't even there 12 hours!)

The bar was also overpriced. (2 drinks was nearly $17)

Otherwise, very clean and comfortable hotel. I enjoyed my stay!

  • Liked — THE BED!
  • Disliked — Expensive parking and bar tab!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Crystal Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Crystal Gateway

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Crystal Gateway 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Gateway Marriott offers an ideal location for vacations, business trips and weekend getaways. We are only one mile from Reagan National Airport and provide complimentary shuttle service to and from for our guests.The Crystal City underground can be accessed from our lobby offering direct access to the Metro system and a multitude of restaurants and shopping. Guests can also take advantage of complimentary WiFi in our lobby and multiple dining options within the hotel including Einstein Bagels. We're also minutes from the sites and sounds of Georgetown, Old Town Alexandria and unbelievable shopping at The Fashion Centre at Pentagon City. Our hotel provides 34,300 sq. ft. of meeting space and 27 meeting rooms with an on-site business center and Hertz rental desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Marriott Crystal Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Crystal Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.