We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meeting Hotel but Quite Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Gateway Marriott to your Saves list
Crystal Gateway Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Meeting Hotel but Quite Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Had a meeting in the hotel. We arrived at 9 AM from the airport and they actually found us a room with all we had asked for (king bed, upper floor with a view). The service was quite good throughout our three day stay and the hotel has an indoor-outdoor pool and whirlpool. The food at the banquets was good if that's any indication of the food in the restaurants. There is a bagel place in the lobby and the Metro is just through a tunnel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    335
    107
    30
    19
See reviews for
184
106
64
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I am so tired of not getting anything for being a life time platinum member. Once again-not on the concierge floor-non of my profile requests were noted-basically nothing. This hotel is the same ole' thing-it would take a minute to really pay attention to your customers but you don't. Location is OK but I would not recommend staying here if you are an elite Marriott member-you will get nothing for it and the rooms are old and need updated. Bed was lumpy-tacky sheet on bed as imitation duvet. Pass up this Marriott.

Room Tip: The hotel needs updating-beds are really uncomfortable and towels are poor quality and scratchy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maimy C, Manager at Crystal Gateway Marriott, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear 147Adventure,

Thank your for your continued business and loyalty to Marriott. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Hosting our guests brilliantly is our number one priority, and I am saddened to read we did not meet your expectations. Please contact me thru the hotel’s switchboard at (703) 920-3230; it would be my pleasure to assist update your Rewards profile so that it accurately reflects your preferences in the future.

I am happy to share that we replaced all guestroom mattresses this year and we continue to upgrade our product. We are working on scheduling a complete guestroom redo beginning next year, which will also include some of the public spaces in the hotel and we are very excited about the end result! I hope you give us another opportunity in the near future to win your business back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here for a weekend visit to Washington. The underground access to the metro was super convenient. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. There weren't many restaurant choices very close for dinner, as the mall shops closed rather early in the evening, so we walked a bit further than we would have liked. Einstein Bros. Bagels was a great grab & go option for breakfast & coffee. Our kids loved the indoor/outdoor pool. Overall we had a pleasant stay and would definitely consider this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

My sister and I stayed overnight, after taking the AutoTrain from Florida. We were too tired to immediately go and see the sights. The concierge suggested a sightseeing bus tour that evening. It was just right! We had time for a rest in the afternoon and then enjoyed seeing the monuments and other DC sights. When the bus was late, the concierge called to remind them to pick us up.

The food on the lobby restaurant was good and the service excellent. The rooms were large and the beds very comfortable. It was exactly what we needed.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed for several days on business. The hotel room was clean and spacious, nice soaps and shampoos, but no tea/coffee making facilities. I was on the 12th floor and near the icemachine which was incredibly noisy at times at night. Breakfast was served as part of our conference, but for those of us with dietary restrictions, we only got one kind of muffin, the same every day, and no soy milk was set out on the coffee tables. There was plenty of choice for everyone else.

Overall, a very busy hotel, other reunions and conferences in at the same time. In a strange twist, during our evening conference reception and exhibit, we found that someone else's reunion event was taking place in a room located in middle of our event area. When these people walked out to go to the bathroom, they took candies and samples things from our exhibit booths, and the music from their event made it hard for us to talk at our booths. They also went and helped themselves to our conference's dessert buffet, there was nobody checking who was who.

Convenient access to the metro and shops underground, also relatively close to the shopping mall. For those of us from out of town, it would be good to have a very clear map of the local area. I walked to the mall according to instructions from the bell hop, only to find later I had been at a smaller branch of the mall, not the main one. I did receive a map of local restaurants though.

Staff were friendly and helpful, just seemed very very busy all the time.

Room Tip: Stay away from the icemachine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faraz A, Guest Relations Manager at Crystal Gateway Marriott, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear TokyoMum,

Thank you for taking time to complete a Trip Advisor survey for your most recent stay at the Crystal Gateway Marriott. We appreciate your time and feedback as this will allow us to improve our services, such as the menu varietywith options for folks with dietary restrictions. We offer several menu choices and will look into ways of communicating those to our meeting attendees to offer other options. As for the noise issues, i am sorry that it impacted your stay and will have that checked out to assure it is addressed. You also reported that some of the other group used your F&B breaks which I am very sorry about. Despite our best efforts, sometime groups end up using other's breaks, whether intentionally or unintentionally.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will use this to improve our offerings to better suit our guest needs. we appreciate your business and hope that you use us again when your travels brings you ack to the Nation's Capital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Very friendly reception and registration area. Friendly staff in general.

Nice location directly contiguous to the Metro - just a few stops to downtown.

The pool and exercise facility is very nice.

But a number of small annoyances aggregated into and unsatisfying experience.

1. The electromagnetic strips on the keys to the room (and the garage) were unreliable. Initially I went down to get a new key. But a new key did not solve the problem and I had to learn a method of trying several times at various speeds. One memorable episode involved at least 20 attempts - and I was quite eager to use the restroom! But it was not just my room - this happened to several people in my group.

2. The capacity and speed of the elevators is woefully inadequate for the demand. Long waits were common.

3. The lobby bar and restaurant is suboptimal given the hotel's rather isolated location.

4. Instead of flowing, the water from the bathroom faucet sputtered.

5. The flushing knob on the toilet fell off.

6. The parking spaces in the underground garage were minuscule, making it very difficult to get in and out of a parked car.

Any 2-3 of these things would not have reached my 'aggravated' tipping point. But by the time I got to 4, 5 and 6 I was certain I'd be going elsewhere on future trips to DC.

Room Tip: Low floors preferable because of slow elevators, although it is quite close to a fire department - g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faraz A, Guest Relations Manager at Crystal Gateway Marriott, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Danmurphy,

Tahnk you for taking time to complete a survey regarding your most recent stay at the Crysal Gateway Marriott. You mentioned several issues that impacted your stay and i am very sorry that your experience was not as excellent as we would have hoped for. There were several things that you mentioned we need to work on to assure these are addresed. Please know that your satisfaction is our utmost goal and we certainly failed to provide you with an excellent stay, for which i am very sorry. I do aprpeciate your nice comments regarding our staff, pool, fitness center and overall location of the hotel. We strive to be one of the best in the area and your feedback will certainly help us improve. Once again, thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

There is two Marriott nearby, and we had a hard time distinguishing the two prior to our arrival. We finally went with Gateway since the agent on the phone was much nicer than the other Marriott. It was important that we had a direct Metro access (it can get rainy and hot in D.C. this time of year), and the Crystal City Marriott receptionist was being quite difficult on the phone and not very helpful...thus we ended up at the Gateway. I must say, it was the correct choice. Gateway is a bigger hotel with more facility (it has a Hertz rental car in the lobby which we used last minute to drive to Virginia, etc...very helpful). The hotel is clean, but the room is in need of some remodeling soon. The rooms looked aged and had that old musty smell to it. The restaurant we ate at (at the lobby-since we arrived late) was marginal and very expensive. Should have gone into the Crystal shops and ate at the restaurants there (Morton's Steak and Seafood, Legal Seafood, etc are just a couple of minutes walk underground, we found out later). The front desk staff was friendly, but opt for the Club floor as they have a very good selection of complimentary breakfast and snacks throughout the day, plus a very friendly staff. Housekeeping is acceptable, though they did forget to stock up on the coffee and condiments during our stay. Crystal City as a whole is not great for tourist...but it is close to the airport (with complimentary shuttle), the metro which can take you into DC attraction, and has a few good restaurants/bars. The airport shuttle comes around every 20 minutes or so and was not overly crowded. There was nothing special about the shops at Crystal City...kind of feel like a large strip-mall located underground. In other word, don't expect to find a lot of things to do here with the family. If your intention is to stay here so that you could catch an early flight out of DCA, then its a good choice. If you want to use it as a springboard to visit the tourist sites in D.C with kids, its not that great of an option since you are on the wrong side of the river. There is not much to do around here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#14 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Gateway Marriott offers an ideal location for vacations, business trips and weekend getaways. We are only one mile from Reagan National Airport and provide complimentary shuttle service to and from for our guests.The Crystal City underground can be accessed from our lobby offering direct access to the Metro system and a multitude of restaurants and shopping. Guests can also take advantage of complimentary WiFi in our lobby and multiple dining options within the hotel including Einstein Bagels. We're also minutes from the sites and sounds of Georgetown, Old Town Alexandria and unbelievable shopping at The Fashion Centre at Pentagon City. Our hotel provides 34,300 sq. ft. of meeting space and 27 meeting rooms with an on-site business center and Hertz rental desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Gateway Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.