We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Crystal Gateway

Save Saved
You added Marriott Crystal Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Crystal Gateway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #19 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Juneau
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Typical Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a typical Marriott--you can read that as good or bad. The staff, room and furnishings are what you expect. The timing of my 9 day stay was not the best. I stayed the week after Easter Sunday with the hotel hosting a technology conference, a national grants conference, the National History Bee and Geography Challenge, Easter Sunday, hundreds of high school students, and an Indian wedding--"the Perfect Storm". The hotel was noisy and with only 2 of the 4 elevators not working in my room's tower, there was a 8-10 minute wait for the elevator. That got annoying really fast. Despite all of the hustle and bustle, the housekeeping crew did an amazing job cleaning my room and keeping the hotel clean. The concierge was fabulous and so were the shuttle drivers. Room service was prompt and the food was good. The beds were comfy, the sheets were soft and the towels were fluffy. The internet in the room worked without any glitches,

Would I stay here again? Yes. This was my first trip to the DC area and I found the location very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ve'an R, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Crystal Gateway, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear JuneauCoho,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to provide an excellent experience for our guests. I sincerely apologize for the extended wait times for the elevators. We are in the process of modernizing our elevators to eliminate these types of issues in the future. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the DCA Airport shuttle service as well as the prompt and delicious In-Room dining service. I will share your positive feedback with our Housekeeping and Concierge staff; I am certain that they will be delighted that they made your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to hosting you again upon your return to the Nation's Capital!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    297
    95
    25
    16
See reviews for
164
87
61
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a nice hotel to stay in if you don't need to be right in the center of DC. The Metro is available through a tunnel in the lobby. I stayed on the 17th floor with a king size bed and it was very comfortable. The room was a little muggy...I woke up sweaty even though I had the thermostat set at 67 degrees. The only thing I wasn't thrilled about was the $20 buffet breakfast (after tip). Seemed a little steep but the buffet was ample with a lot of choices. I learned through trial and error that the Metro Yellow line at the hotel was MUCH faster than the Blue to get to the center of the action (Smithsonian and such).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maimy C, Manager at Marriott Crystal Gateway, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Dave H,

Thank you so much for staying with us and special thanks for your review. Our connected path to the Metro and our proximity to DC is a great benefit! Thank you for your remark regarding the breakfast buffet price, we will take it into consideration. I would like to inform you that as we speak, our Chief Engineer and his team are inspecting our guestrooms to identify and fix any thermostat issues – thank you for bringing it to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I got this location confused with the Crystal City Marriott, which is just a couple blocks away. The hotel is fine, although it could use an update. The carpet looked pretty dingy. The restaurant in the hotel was closed for dinner and the only thing available was a grill in the lobby. The area is mostly condos so there weren't any good restaurant choices in walking distance. Overall the place was average.I would definately have preferred the Crystal City Marriott which is more convenient to the Metro station, shops, and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maimy C, Manager at Marriott Crystal Gateway, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear SteelRibbons,

Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott, we appreciate you taking the time to post your review. One of the many benefits our hotel has to offer is our location; we are conveniently connected though the underground concourse to the Metro station, shops, and several restaurants! To supplement our restaurant, the Atrium Lounge and Room service is open for dinner. I am happy to share that we are within walking distance to Pentagon City Mall and 23rd Street, where we can help you find exactly what you are hankering for because it is so close by. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Gateway Marriott is a little bit of an older hotel with some upgrades. You can't beat the proximity to the metro and dining options though. It was bustling during our stay over Palm Sunday weekend but we never felt crowded. Really, a first rate experience.

The dining room where they serve breakfast, along with the lobby are my favorite areas of the hotel. Clean, modern, light. The pool area is due for some upgrades, but the plants make it feel lush at least.

Our room was comfortable with views over the lobby (second floor), which also gave us continued access to the wifi! The pool and fitness room were right down the hall too so that was convenient as we were traveling with older kids.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maimy C, Manager at Marriott Crystal Gateway, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear chick127,

Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted to see your comments about your experience at our hotel. We look forward to hosting you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel was suggested to me for the price and proximity to the Metro, both which cannot be beat. Many of their rates come with either free parking or free breakfast.

Pros:We chose the free parking which was a savings of $56 for a 2 night stay! The hotel was easy to find, parking was convenient.
The room was comfortable, air circulation worked very well. The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable, as were the pillows. This was a real plus!
The proximity to the Metro and the shops and restaurants in the mall near the hotel/Metro, makes this an extremely convenient location to the sights in Washington, DC and surrounding areas. There are also many restaurants within walking distance outside of the hotel area.


Cons:The check-in area could use improvement. There was a sign for "online check-in" but I could not find an option available in the hotel for that. There was no discernible line for check-in, so it was up to the people in line to pay attention to who was checking in, and who was next. Once at the counter, the staff was friendly.

I had asked for extra pillows when I made my reservation, which was noted by the check-in staff, but I never received them. I asked again the next day and was assured I would receive them, but did not.
The elevators are EXTREMELY slow..which is so difficult for such a large hotel. It was a very long wait for the elevators from the lobby to hotel rooms.

Although we enjoyed the breakfast buffet, most of the the food was really not hot enough unless it was made to order.

My biggest complaint: The WALLS ARE PAPER THIN. Not just thin....EXTREMELY thin. This is an area that really needs improvement!

Overall, I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here while we were awaiting the arrival of our granddaughter from Seattle. Shuttle took us back and forth to the airport to get escort passes and to pick up our granddaughter and saved us a lot of time, money, and hassle. Metro is downstairs and through the tunnel...very convenient even with an 11-year old. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Concierge level amenities were fantastic with snacks in the evening and good breakfast in the morning.
Convenient to 23rd street restaurants...we walked it with no problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maimy C, Manager at Marriott Crystal Gateway, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear glebo,

We appreciate you taking the time to post this nice review about your experience at our hotel. Our complimentary shuttle to and from Regan National Airport is a special benefit to our guests, I am so happy you found this helpful. Thank you for mentioning our staff, great services, amenities and convenient location! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel was clean. Air vents are loud in the room. Elevators and parking were the big problem. More than half were broken, and for such a large hotel, 2 elevators makes for long lines to go up and down. Parking garage did not have enough spots, and the directional arrows are all worn away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faraz A, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Crystal Gateway, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Kim A,

Tahnk you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We take this feedback very seriously and will work towards resolving these issues from happening in the future. Based on this feedback, we are already reviewing our parking process to assure our arriving guests always have ample parking available for them. In addition, we are currently working to complete the upgrade of all of the hotel elevators which will eliminate issues you encountered during your stay. I know this does not make up for your experience, but i wanted you to know this is being addressed.

Tahnk you for your business and we hope to host you during your future trips to our Nation's Capital!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Crystal Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Crystal Gateway

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#17 Business Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Crystal Gateway 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Gateway Marriott offers an ideal location for vacations, business trips and weekend getaways. We are only one mile from Reagan National Airport and provide complimentary shuttle service to and from for our guests.The Crystal City underground can be accessed from our lobby offering direct access to the Metro system and a multitude of restaurants and shopping. Guests can also take advantage of complimentary WiFi in our lobby and multiple dining options within the hotel including Einstein Bagels. We're also minutes from the sites and sounds of Georgetown, Old Town Alexandria and unbelievable shopping at The Fashion Centre at Pentagon City. Our hotel provides 34,300 sq. ft. of meeting space and 27 meeting rooms with an on-site business center and Hertz rental desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Marriott Crystal Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Crystal Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.