We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Crystal Gateway

Save Saved
You added Marriott Crystal Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Crystal Gateway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Super friendly staff. Cozy room. Exceptionally comfortable bed. A short metro ride to Nationals Park and monuments. Parking Garage is a bit creepy and not recommended for taller vehicles, but other than that a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Manager at Marriott Crystal Gateway, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello Jen J-

Thanks for your visit and your post. Letting you know that as we speak, the garage is getting a fresh painting and we are adding more light fixtures. Come back and see the difference! Chris/Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    301
    96
    25
    16
See reviews for
166
90
61
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I’ve stayed here quite a bit over the years. This is a nice hotel but it is an older property. It is still in decent shape and looks to have been refurbished recently, but it doesn’t have that higher end feel of some/most Marriotts.

The newer Renaissance Hotel in town seems to be the fanciest Marriott in town these days.

Very convenient covered walkway (tunnel) to Metro stop – especially nice when raining and/or freezing out.

Convenient to plenty of restaurants.

Parking was steep.

Room Tip: Highway side could get a little loud during the early morning rush - only a problem if you want to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had a good 7 day vacation at this hotel in July, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The best amenity of this hotel are the shops and restaurants underground and surrounding areas. Unfortunately the shops shut down at 6pm on Saturdays and are closed on Sundays. Overall it was a pleasant stay and I would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This Marriott and it's sister property across the street should be considered for every business or vacation trip to DC. In addition to the better chance of a more competative rate, you also get the benefit of being right on top of a Metro stop in Crystal City with many shops and restaurants in the immediate neighborhood.
I should note that I lived in the DC area for 7 years, and that the Crystal City area, for me, has always been a convenient "jumping point" in the district. DC is very much defined by what neighborhood you're in. If you are planning a trip to DC as a tourist, and plan on "seeing the sights", you're going to spend much of your time on Metro or using cabs. Saving $100 a night to stay in a property like this, should be considered first. This hotel is (on average) much larger than hotels in the district, has great amenities (pool, exercise room, access to great running trails [Mt. Vernon trail] and is 2 minutes from DCA). The rooms were large and well appointed, and the staff were great. Another benefit is the indoor access to the hotel from Metro. Most places in DC will require at least a block or two walk outside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Manager at Marriott Crystal Gateway, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello Leighjohnwi-
Thank you so much for staying with us and a special thanks for the review! We think our proximity to DC is a special benefit to our guests. Thanks for mentioning it. Hope to see you back here. CH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here once before about 4 years ago and I am happy to report that both stays were excellent. The staff is extremely thoughtful and professional. We had a few special requests and they were fully attended to. We also happened to mention that we were in DC to celebrate our anniversary and a birthday. When we got back to the room later that evening we were surprised to find a chilled bottle of champagne, a slice of cake and chocolate hand dipped strawberries waiting for us along with a lovely note! It really made our day!!
In addition, we loved the location in that we could easily get on the metro which is directly connected to the Crystal City center which is directly connected to the hotel. Self parking was also available and convenient ($26 per day). We will certainly stay here again next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauritius
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I Arrived at the hotel from Dulles using the Washington Flyer followed by the subway. Travel time was just over an hour during Friday rush hour. Note that the subway trip involves changing trains at Rosslyn and a 4-5 min walk from Crystal City station to the hotel lobby through Crystal City shops and an underpass. Not a problem if you are not carrying too much luggage. Otherwise, a cab or shared van might be a better option.

Check in was a breeze. Our room was on the 8th floor with a partial view of the pentagon. Although one of the smallest rooms in the hotel, size was more than adequate. Room was modern, clean and comfortable. Bathroom satisfactory but could do with an upgrade. Toiletries and towels were of good quality. The room was surprisingly quiet considering it was opposite the ice machine.

Concierge was kind enough to take delivery and hold a few packages for us prior to our arrival.

Breakfast which was included in our rate was of very good quality and offered a fairly wide choice. Service was Average. Overall worth the supplement for the three days we were there but could get a bit repetitive if staying for longer. There is also a bagel & coffee shop in the lobby.

Access to DC was extremely convenient by subway. Just about all sights are within less than a 20 min ride away. However, do make provision for a reduced frequency on Sundays. Also note that if you return to the hotel very late, the underpass will be closed and you have to walk above ground, which can be a bit eerie.

Plenty of shops and restaurants around but do bear in mind that as this is part of a business district, many are closed weekends. Pentagon City shopping mall is only one stop away, is open 7 days a week, and offers plenty of shopping and food options.

Free shuttle to DCA airport runs frequently from the hotel. Travel time is around 5mins. Airport is also only one stop away by subway.

Finally, compared to Marriott Crystal City, Marriott Crystal Gateway is marginally closer to the subway station, is accessed through more lively corridors (especially at weekends) and seems to be more modern and in better shape.

Excellent value overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
513 reviews 513 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I generally rate business hotels in the Marriott-Hilton-etc. class Very Good if they come up to the expectations one has for such hotels without that extra zing that would make me go up a notch or some deficiency that sends me searching for a lower rating. This particular Marriott did have some extras that made me select the top rating. One is its easy indoor access to the Washington Metro subway system that can be used to get just about anywhere a visitor wants to go in the DC area. A second is its proximity to Washington National Airport (and you can even walk there from the hotel if you really know what you're doing, but don't try it unless you REALLY know what you're doing; it's only one stop away on the Metro, and in any case the hotel has a free shuttle). I stayed here on government business and a government organization paid the bill at the standard government rate, but if you're a tourist here on the weekend and plan ahead a bit, you can often get a rather spectacular weekend rate at the Marriott website.

I happen to prefer Crystal City as a place to stay during trips to do business in downtown DC, for a number of reasons, and if you also don't feel a compulsion to stay in the high-rent district near the government offices, take a look at this place as an alternative.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Crystal Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Crystal Gateway

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Crystal Gateway 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Gateway Marriott offers an ideal location for vacations, business trips and weekend getaways. We are only one mile from Reagan National Airport and provide complimentary shuttle service to and from for our guests.The Crystal City underground can be accessed from our lobby offering direct access to the Metro system and a multitude of restaurants and shopping. Guests can also take advantage of complimentary WiFi in our lobby and multiple dining options within the hotel including Einstein Bagels. We're also minutes from the sites and sounds of Georgetown, Old Town Alexandria and unbelievable shopping at The Fashion Centre at Pentagon City. Our hotel provides 34,300 sq. ft. of meeting space and 27 meeting rooms with an on-site business center and Hertz rental desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marriott Crystal Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Crystal Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.