We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for DC and NoVA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Gateway Marriott to your Saves list
Crystal Gateway Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Summer Deal: 25% Off
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great option for DC and NoVA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This Marriott and it's sister property across the street should be considered for every business or vacation trip to DC. In addition to the better chance of a more competative rate, you also get the benefit of being right on top of a Metro stop in Crystal City with many shops and restaurants in the immediate neighborhood.
I should note that I lived in the DC area for 7 years, and that the Crystal City area, for me, has always been a convenient "jumping point" in the district. DC is very much defined by what neighborhood you're in. If you are planning a trip to DC as a tourist, and plan on "seeing the sights", you're going to spend much of your time on Metro or using cabs. Saving $100 a night to stay in a property like this, should be considered first. This hotel is (on average) much larger than hotels in the district, has great amenities (pool, exercise room, access to great running trails [Mt. Vernon trail] and is 2 minutes from DCA). The rooms were large and well appointed, and the staff were great. Another benefit is the indoor access to the hotel from Metro. Most places in DC will require at least a block or two walk outside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Manager at Crystal Gateway Marriott, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello Leighjohnwi-
Thank you so much for staying with us and a special thanks for the review! We think our proximity to DC is a special benefit to our guests. Thanks for mentioning it. Hope to see you back here. CH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    389
    124
    34
    22
See reviews for
222
120
69
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here once before about 4 years ago and I am happy to report that both stays were excellent. The staff is extremely thoughtful and professional. We had a few special requests and they were fully attended to. We also happened to mention that we were in DC to celebrate our anniversary and a birthday. When we got back to the room later that evening we were surprised to find a chilled bottle of champagne, a slice of cake and chocolate hand dipped strawberries waiting for us along with a lovely note! It really made our day!!
In addition, we loved the location in that we could easily get on the metro which is directly connected to the Crystal City center which is directly connected to the hotel. Self parking was also available and convenient ($26 per day). We will certainly stay here again next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Ocean
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I Arrived at the hotel from Dulles using the Washington Flyer followed by the subway. Travel time was just over an hour during Friday rush hour. Note that the subway trip involves changing trains at Rosslyn and a 4-5 min walk from Crystal City station to the hotel lobby through Crystal City shops and an underpass. Not a problem if you are not carrying too much luggage. Otherwise, a cab or shared van might be a better option.

Check in was a breeze. Our room was on the 8th floor with a partial view of the pentagon. Although one of the smallest rooms in the hotel, size was more than adequate. Room was modern, clean and comfortable. Bathroom satisfactory but could do with an upgrade. Toiletries and towels were of good quality. The room was surprisingly quiet considering it was opposite the ice machine.

Concierge was kind enough to take delivery and hold a few packages for us prior to our arrival.

Breakfast which was included in our rate was of very good quality and offered a fairly wide choice. Service was Average. Overall worth the supplement for the three days we were there but could get a bit repetitive if staying for longer. There is also a bagel & coffee shop in the lobby.

Access to DC was extremely convenient by subway. Just about all sights are within less than a 20 min ride away. However, do make provision for a reduced frequency on Sundays. Also note that if you return to the hotel very late, the underpass will be closed and you have to walk above ground, which can be a bit eerie.

Plenty of shops and restaurants around but do bear in mind that as this is part of a business district, many are closed weekends. Pentagon City shopping mall is only one stop away, is open 7 days a week, and offers plenty of shopping and food options.

Free shuttle to DCA airport runs frequently from the hotel. Travel time is around 5mins. Airport is also only one stop away by subway.

Finally, compared to Marriott Crystal City, Marriott Crystal Gateway is marginally closer to the subway station, is accessed through more lively corridors (especially at weekends) and seems to be more modern and in better shape.

Excellent value overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
771 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I generally rate business hotels in the Marriott-Hilton-etc. class Very Good if they come up to the expectations one has for such hotels without that extra zing that would make me go up a notch or some deficiency that sends me searching for a lower rating. This particular Marriott did have some extras that made me select the top rating. One is its easy indoor access to the Washington Metro subway system that can be used to get just about anywhere a visitor wants to go in the DC area. A second is its proximity to Washington National Airport (and you can even walk there from the hotel if you really know what you're doing, but don't try it unless you REALLY know what you're doing; it's only one stop away on the Metro, and in any case the hotel has a free shuttle). I stayed here on government business and a government organization paid the bill at the standard government rate, but if you're a tourist here on the weekend and plan ahead a bit, you can often get a rather spectacular weekend rate at the Marriott website.

I happen to prefer Crystal City as a place to stay during trips to do business in downtown DC, for a number of reasons, and if you also don't feel a compulsion to stay in the high-rent district near the government offices, take a look at this place as an alternative.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

After using 7 different hotels over the past 2 weeks, we stayed at the Marriott for our final night based on its proximity to the airport and their free shuttle to the same.
We were not disappointed! From check in to check out- we had a short but enjoyable time and wished we would have also stayed here instead of the Hotel Lombardy during the first part of our vacation! We found a great rate of $99 which included a fantastic breakfast which other wise would have cost us about $40. Since I signed up to receive Marriott points, I also got free internet. I really wanted to use the beautiful pool but ran out of time. If we are in Washington again, I will not look any farther than the Marriott Gateway.

Room Tip: I requested & received a very quiet room on the 8th floor in a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was here for a conference. Everything was first class. The facility is beautiful and modern. The conference facilities worked out perfectly. The food was excellent. The hotel room was large and comfortable.

More importantly, the personnel in the entire hotel was incredibly professional and friendly. No matter what the issue, the staff couldn't be more helpful in answering questions and addressing issues.

Close to the Metro, airport and restaurants.

Room Tip: The airport side so you can see the planes take off and land. Higher up the better. The 14th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is my second stay here and I'm glad I returned. For $109 we got a very clean and well-appointed room and two passes to their incredible breakfast buffet that normally costs $17 each by itself. The reviewers complaining below apparently didn't know that you can park for free after 4 PM and throughout the weekend in the adjacent Crystal Shops garage, or that wifi is free in the lobby. The room is a bit small for a luxury hotel, but that's more than compensated for by the terrific indoor/outdoor pool/spa and spacious exercise facility. There are plenty of speedy elevators and the Metro station is in the basement! How much more convenient can it get? My only gripe: my wife was allergic to the feather pills/comforter and the bed was too soft.

Room Tip: Park in the Crystal Shopes garage on 18th street and enter the hotel through the tunnel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
The Westin Crystal City
#9 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#14 Family Hotel in Arlington
#15 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Gateway Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.