We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for visiting DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Crystal Gateway

Save Saved
You added Marriott Crystal Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Crystal Gateway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
mauritius
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very convenient for visiting DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I Arrived at the hotel from Dulles using the Washington Flyer followed by the subway. Travel time was just over an hour during Friday rush hour. Note that the subway trip involves changing trains at Rosslyn and a 4-5 min walk from Crystal City station to the hotel lobby through Crystal City shops and an underpass. Not a problem if you are not carrying too much luggage. Otherwise, a cab or shared van might be a better option.

Check in was a breeze. Our room was on the 8th floor with a partial view of the pentagon. Although one of the smallest rooms in the hotel, size was more than adequate. Room was modern, clean and comfortable. Bathroom satisfactory but could do with an upgrade. Toiletries and towels were of good quality. The room was surprisingly quiet considering it was opposite the ice machine.

Concierge was kind enough to take delivery and hold a few packages for us prior to our arrival.

Breakfast which was included in our rate was of very good quality and offered a fairly wide choice. Service was Average. Overall worth the supplement for the three days we were there but could get a bit repetitive if staying for longer. There is also a bagel & coffee shop in the lobby.

Access to DC was extremely convenient by subway. Just about all sights are within less than a 20 min ride away. However, do make provision for a reduced frequency on Sundays. Also note that if you return to the hotel very late, the underpass will be closed and you have to walk above ground, which can be a bit eerie.

Plenty of shops and restaurants around but do bear in mind that as this is part of a business district, many are closed weekends. Pentagon City shopping mall is only one stop away, is open 7 days a week, and offers plenty of shopping and food options.

Free shuttle to DCA airport runs frequently from the hotel. Travel time is around 5mins. Airport is also only one stop away by subway.

Finally, compared to Marriott Crystal City, Marriott Crystal Gateway is marginally closer to the subway station, is accessed through more lively corridors (especially at weekends) and seems to be more modern and in better shape.

Excellent value overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    301
    96
    25
    16
See reviews for
166
90
61
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
513 reviews 513 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I generally rate business hotels in the Marriott-Hilton-etc. class Very Good if they come up to the expectations one has for such hotels without that extra zing that would make me go up a notch or some deficiency that sends me searching for a lower rating. This particular Marriott did have some extras that made me select the top rating. One is its easy indoor access to the Washington Metro subway system that can be used to get just about anywhere a visitor wants to go in the DC area. A second is its proximity to Washington National Airport (and you can even walk there from the hotel if you really know what you're doing, but don't try it unless you REALLY know what you're doing; it's only one stop away on the Metro, and in any case the hotel has a free shuttle). I stayed here on government business and a government organization paid the bill at the standard government rate, but if you're a tourist here on the weekend and plan ahead a bit, you can often get a rather spectacular weekend rate at the Marriott website.

I happen to prefer Crystal City as a place to stay during trips to do business in downtown DC, for a number of reasons, and if you also don't feel a compulsion to stay in the high-rent district near the government offices, take a look at this place as an alternative.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

After using 7 different hotels over the past 2 weeks, we stayed at the Marriott for our final night based on its proximity to the airport and their free shuttle to the same.
We were not disappointed! From check in to check out- we had a short but enjoyable time and wished we would have also stayed here instead of the Hotel Lombardy during the first part of our vacation! We found a great rate of $99 which included a fantastic breakfast which other wise would have cost us about $40. Since I signed up to receive Marriott points, I also got free internet. I really wanted to use the beautiful pool but ran out of time. If we are in Washington again, I will not look any farther than the Marriott Gateway.

Room Tip: I requested & received a very quiet room on the 8th floor in a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was here for a conference. Everything was first class. The facility is beautiful and modern. The conference facilities worked out perfectly. The food was excellent. The hotel room was large and comfortable.

More importantly, the personnel in the entire hotel was incredibly professional and friendly. No matter what the issue, the staff couldn't be more helpful in answering questions and addressing issues.

Close to the Metro, airport and restaurants.

Room Tip: The airport side so you can see the planes take off and land. Higher up the better. The 14th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is my second stay here and I'm glad I returned. For $109 we got a very clean and well-appointed room and two passes to their incredible breakfast buffet that normally costs $17 each by itself. The reviewers complaining below apparently didn't know that you can park for free after 4 PM and throughout the weekend in the adjacent Crystal Shops garage, or that wifi is free in the lobby. The room is a bit small for a luxury hotel, but that's more than compensated for by the terrific indoor/outdoor pool/spa and spacious exercise facility. There are plenty of speedy elevators and the Metro station is in the basement! How much more convenient can it get? My only gripe: my wife was allergic to the feather pills/comforter and the bed was too soft.

Room Tip: Park in the Crystal Shopes garage on 18th street and enter the hotel through the tunnel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in the perfect location for us. However, they take advantage at every opportunity charging exorbitant rates for small things that other similar hotels give away - wifi $13, breakfast buffet $20, parking $30. I'll stay someplace a bit less convenient next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This Marriott is often confused with the Marriott Crystal City a couple of blocks away - it's a shame that two very similar names are used. Lobby is nice and spacious, with a different infused water featured daily (the strawberry and basil is especially good). Elevators are very slow. Rooms are a bit on the small side, with a lounge chair that's uncomfortable and a bed that's too hard. Exercise room is top-notch, with high-quality equipment and a nice overlooking view of the indoor-outdoor pool. The pool is a big winner for me, as this Marriott has staff on hand to monitor behavior - at one point one of the staff members nipped some kids' horseplay in the bud and make them walk a lap around the pool - but was nice andfriendly about it. Their monitoring made being in the pool area a nice experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Crystal Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Crystal Gateway

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Crystal Gateway 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Gateway Marriott offers an ideal location for vacations, business trips and weekend getaways. We are only one mile from Reagan National Airport and provide complimentary shuttle service to and from for our guests.The Crystal City underground can be accessed from our lobby offering direct access to the Metro system and a multitude of restaurants and shopping. Guests can also take advantage of complimentary WiFi in our lobby and multiple dining options within the hotel including Einstein Bagels. We're also minutes from the sites and sounds of Georgetown, Old Town Alexandria and unbelievable shopping at The Fashion Centre at Pentagon City. Our hotel provides 34,300 sq. ft. of meeting space and 27 meeting rooms with an on-site business center and Hertz rental desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marriott Crystal Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Crystal Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.