We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gateway to DC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Gateway Marriott to your Saves list
Crystal Gateway Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great gateway to DC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is my second stay here and I'm glad I returned. For $109 we got a very clean and well-appointed room and two passes to their incredible breakfast buffet that normally costs $17 each by itself. The reviewers complaining below apparently didn't know that you can park for free after 4 PM and throughout the weekend in the adjacent Crystal Shops garage, or that wifi is free in the lobby. The room is a bit small for a luxury hotel, but that's more than compensated for by the terrific indoor/outdoor pool/spa and spacious exercise facility. There are plenty of speedy elevators and the Metro station is in the basement! How much more convenient can it get? My only gripe: my wife was allergic to the feather pills/comforter and the bed was too soft.

Room Tip: Park in the Crystal Shopes garage on 18th street and enter the hotel through the tunnel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    350
    113
    30
    20
See reviews for
195
111
65
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice hotel in the perfect location for us. However, they take advantage at every opportunity charging exorbitant rates for small things that other similar hotels give away - wifi $13, breakfast buffet $20, parking $30. I'll stay someplace a bit less convenient next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This Marriott is often confused with the Marriott Crystal City a couple of blocks away - it's a shame that two very similar names are used. Lobby is nice and spacious, with a different infused water featured daily (the strawberry and basil is especially good). Elevators are very slow. Rooms are a bit on the small side, with a lounge chair that's uncomfortable and a bed that's too hard. Exercise room is top-notch, with high-quality equipment and a nice overlooking view of the indoor-outdoor pool. The pool is a big winner for me, as this Marriott has staff on hand to monitor behavior - at one point one of the staff members nipped some kids' horseplay in the bud and make them walk a lap around the pool - but was nice andfriendly about it. Their monitoring made being in the pool area a nice experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here to babysit for our grandchild while daughter and SIL attended meetings at hotel. Before check in SIL found out that hotel was over booked and some guest would be bumped to sister hotel. When I have confirmed reservations I expect to stay at the hotel where I have the reservation. I quickly called hotel and spoke to Elizabeth. She made a notation that I would be staying there to baby sit and needed to stay at same hotel as my family. Upon check in I was treated very well and offered a room on the same floor as my family. I over heard that the hotel was booked at 110% capacity. What? I noticed that in addition to meetings there were 2 family reunions and a wedding party. I guess they don't refuse any large group even if they are at capacity. The pool (which was beautiful and nicely landscaped) was crowded. The elevators moved slowly when meetings were starting. I know this because I had to use elevator to go downstairs and PURCHASE breakfast every morning. There was an Einstein Bros. Bagel shop down stairs.A couple of coffees and bagel sandwiches added $15 a day to our cost. The cost of internet would have added another $12.95 a day. Parking added an additional $26.00 a day. Newspapers were not free. They squeeze ever dime they can out of you. Another review said that even a $60 a night hotel gives you free internet and a breakfast, Additionally, the pillows very so uncomfortable. My husband drove home with a stiff neck. It was a nice clean hotel, friendly staff, but other hotels are also clean and friendly and include more at same cost.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room with an adjoining door to another room. Doors are not soundproof and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Expansive lobby on ground floor though it is directly above the Crystal City Mall and Metro Station. Large bedrooms, super clean. Very comfortable beds with down comforters, HD TV, all amenities, very elegant. The hotel is in Crystal City which is technically in Arlington, Va. right across the river from DC and is walking distance to the Pentagon (or two short Metro stops). It is one Metro stop from DC Reagan AP. This is the 4th time I've stayed at this hotel. This time I discovered the Mez salad served by the Mez restaurant on the hotel ground floor. It is unbelievably delicious (greens, cranberries, pecans, cranberry vinaigrette, and grilled chicken). Truly outrageously good and worth every bit of the $16 price. Not much to say except this hotel impresses me as an elegant world class hotel well suited to our nation's capital.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 47 (ie., 647, 747, 847) are at the end of the hallway and are larger than others an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was here for a conference for 2 nights.
First the good. The room was spotless; the bathroom was so clean even the floor sparkled. The staff were friendly and a pleasure to meet. Nikki at the front desk was smiling every time I walked by, no matter the hour or how many customers were at the counter. Housekeeping was wonderful.
The king size was comfortable and had more pillows on it than the Cuddledown factory.

Now the bad. The wireless iBahn "high speed" internet service was next to useless. - below 1.0 Mb/s download and 0.3 Mb/s upload. I connected with the supplied network connection and got it all the way up to 3 Mb/s download and 15.Mb/s upload. Pathetic in 2013. Considering they charge $12.95 per day for this "service", that is shameful. In the real world I can go to a $60 per night hotel and get free WiFi at 6 times the speed - and get a breakfast with free parking! . Fortunately, I was credited and did not have to pay for internet. I am sure i will be shocked at the cost of parking.

Overall, i would stay here again as long as the bill is paid by someone else.

Room Tip: If wifi is important to you, stay closer to the lobby. The 14th floor was not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just stayed here for a conference in July 2013. Very disappointed given the price. It appears to be an older hotel that was somewhat updated. The rooms are decorated pretty gaudy and mine wasn't in the best repair. The wallpaper was peeling & there was white spackle on the colored wall patching an outlet. The pillows were horribly uncomfortable feather type pillows that offer zero support. I don't think it's too much these days to expect a refrigerator or a safe in your room especially for the price of this hotel. Had to make due with a coffee maker & old fashion ice bucket. As for the Crystal City shops, they're nothing to write home about - basically low end souvenir stores and fast food. A few nice places though. I did find the metro access quick & convenient & highly recommend visiting some of the restaurants that are part of Crystal City but accessible from the street only. Room was clean & daily maid service was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, substance, and unparalleled convenience await you at the Crystal Gateway Marriott. We're reinventing the way that business and leisure guests experience the Washington, DC area and everything it has to offer. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 elegantly appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Onsite dining options include American cuisine at The Atrium, as well as an Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). Last but not least, with the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Gateway Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.