We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some hits, some misses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Gateway Marriott to your Saves list
Crystal Gateway Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% off
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Ohio
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“some hits, some misses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This Marriott is often confused with the Marriott Crystal City a couple of blocks away - it's a shame that two very similar names are used. Lobby is nice and spacious, with a different infused water featured daily (the strawberry and basil is especially good). Elevators are very slow. Rooms are a bit on the small side, with a lounge chair that's uncomfortable and a bed that's too hard. Exercise room is top-notch, with high-quality equipment and a nice overlooking view of the indoor-outdoor pool. The pool is a big winner for me, as this Marriott has staff on hand to monitor behavior - at one point one of the staff members nipped some kids' horseplay in the bud and make them walk a lap around the pool - but was nice andfriendly about it. Their monitoring made being in the pool area a nice experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    323
    101
    27
    17
See reviews for
177
100
62
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here to babysit for our grandchild while daughter and SIL attended meetings at hotel. Before check in SIL found out that hotel was over booked and some guest would be bumped to sister hotel. When I have confirmed reservations I expect to stay at the hotel where I have the reservation. I quickly called hotel and spoke to Elizabeth. She made a notation that I would be staying there to baby sit and needed to stay at same hotel as my family. Upon check in I was treated very well and offered a room on the same floor as my family. I over heard that the hotel was booked at 110% capacity. What? I noticed that in addition to meetings there were 2 family reunions and a wedding party. I guess they don't refuse any large group even if they are at capacity. The pool (which was beautiful and nicely landscaped) was crowded. The elevators moved slowly when meetings were starting. I know this because I had to use elevator to go downstairs and PURCHASE breakfast every morning. There was an Einstein Bros. Bagel shop down stairs.A couple of coffees and bagel sandwiches added $15 a day to our cost. The cost of internet would have added another $12.95 a day. Parking added an additional $26.00 a day. Newspapers were not free. They squeeze ever dime they can out of you. Another review said that even a $60 a night hotel gives you free internet and a breakfast, Additionally, the pillows very so uncomfortable. My husband drove home with a stiff neck. It was a nice clean hotel, friendly staff, but other hotels are also clean and friendly and include more at same cost.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room with an adjoining door to another room. Doors are not soundproof and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Expansive lobby on ground floor though it is directly above the Crystal City Mall and Metro Station. Large bedrooms, super clean. Very comfortable beds with down comforters, HD TV, all amenities, very elegant. The hotel is in Crystal City which is technically in Arlington, Va. right across the river from DC and is walking distance to the Pentagon (or two short Metro stops). It is one Metro stop from DC Reagan AP. This is the 4th time I've stayed at this hotel. This time I discovered the Mez salad served by the Mez restaurant on the hotel ground floor. It is unbelievably delicious (greens, cranberries, pecans, cranberry vinaigrette, and grilled chicken). Truly outrageously good and worth every bit of the $16 price. Not much to say except this hotel impresses me as an elegant world class hotel well suited to our nation's capital.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 47 (ie., 647, 747, 847) are at the end of the hallway and are larger than others an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was here for a conference for 2 nights.
First the good. The room was spotless; the bathroom was so clean even the floor sparkled. The staff were friendly and a pleasure to meet. Nikki at the front desk was smiling every time I walked by, no matter the hour or how many customers were at the counter. Housekeeping was wonderful.
The king size was comfortable and had more pillows on it than the Cuddledown factory.

Now the bad. The wireless iBahn "high speed" internet service was next to useless. - below 1.0 Mb/s download and 0.3 Mb/s upload. I connected with the supplied network connection and got it all the way up to 3 Mb/s download and 15.Mb/s upload. Pathetic in 2013. Considering they charge $12.95 per day for this "service", that is shameful. In the real world I can go to a $60 per night hotel and get free WiFi at 6 times the speed - and get a breakfast with free parking! . Fortunately, I was credited and did not have to pay for internet. I am sure i will be shocked at the cost of parking.

Overall, i would stay here again as long as the bill is paid by someone else.

Room Tip: If wifi is important to you, stay closer to the lobby. The 14th floor was not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just stayed here for a conference in July 2013. Very disappointed given the price. It appears to be an older hotel that was somewhat updated. The rooms are decorated pretty gaudy and mine wasn't in the best repair. The wallpaper was peeling & there was white spackle on the colored wall patching an outlet. The pillows were horribly uncomfortable feather type pillows that offer zero support. I don't think it's too much these days to expect a refrigerator or a safe in your room especially for the price of this hotel. Had to make due with a coffee maker & old fashion ice bucket. As for the Crystal City shops, they're nothing to write home about - basically low end souvenir stores and fast food. A few nice places though. I did find the metro access quick & convenient & highly recommend visiting some of the restaurants that are part of Crystal City but accessible from the street only. Room was clean & daily maid service was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed for three nights with our kids. Their first trip to DC. Great location for metro use. Direct access to crystal city stop. Nice lobby, very friendly staff and concierge. Pool was indoor and outdoor but connected. Our kids thought that was great. Crystal City Mall Shops under hotel. Great eateries near. Would Def stay here again on our next trip. Must do the evening tour of DC to see the monuments lit up, use DC Trails on Tour.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was traveling to The Pentagon on business and this hotel was wonderfully close (two Subway stops away). Since there are no direct flights from Oklahoma City to Washington DC, it makes for a VERY long day!

While extremely well-appointed, the Hotel Lobby was very open & the Staff was most welcoming. The "Bar Kitchen" was open late, but the food was great! NOT what I expected from a bar just before closing time!

My room was spacious & welcoming. I ordered Room Service via the order form I hung on the door (by midnight). It was right on time & delicious!!

The only reason I haven't given the Crystal Gateway Marriott a higher rating is because I checked-in at 10PM & checked-out at 8AM. The next time I have to go to DC, I'll stay here again & give myself more time to enjoy the hospitality!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#14 Family Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Gateway Marriott offers an ideal location for vacations, business trips and weekend getaways. We are only one mile from Reagan National Airport and provide complimentary shuttle service to and from for our guests.The Crystal City underground can be accessed from our lobby offering direct access to the Metro system and a multitude of restaurants and shopping. Guests can also take advantage of complimentary WiFi in our lobby and multiple dining options within the hotel including Einstein Bagels. We're also minutes from the sites and sounds of Georgetown, Old Town Alexandria and unbelievable shopping at The Fashion Centre at Pentagon City. Our hotel provides 34,300 sq. ft. of meeting space and 27 meeting rooms with an on-site business center and Hertz rental desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Gateway Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.