We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service at tremendous price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Crystal Gateway

Save Saved
You added Marriott Crystal Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Crystal Gateway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #18 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great location and service at tremendous price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent a weekend night here for $99.00 which is an unbelievable price for the location. (Check out weekday prices!) The staff we interacted with was super friendly and professional. The hotel is elegant and in great shape considering it is always very busy. I've stayed here several times before on business and like it for it's location. You can access the Metro system without going outside the hotel. Parking is expensive - but no different than any other hotel in Crystal City. Not only would I stay there again, I've already got reservations for a business meeting in August.

Room Tip: Being a Marriott Rewards Gold Level got us upgraded to a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    290
    91
    23
    16
See reviews for
157
86
61
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay here unless you need the location. They don't honor their rates. I showed up to check in and they wouldn't honor my rate. They changed the rate and I had no choice but to accept it. The manager was extremely rude and unhelpful. Told me that I was stuck with a rate that was triple what I booked it for and had proof of. I always try to stay at Marriott but never again at this Marriott. Entire staff took the same attitude as the manager. They were all rude and not willing to help. Every time you asked a question they acted like it was a huge inconvenience to answer it. Find somewhere else to stay. This hotel doesn't deserve the honor of being a Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Was at this hotel on business for 4 days. Vey nice large hotel. Has a underground walkway to shops and restaurants. You can practically walk underground and come out at several points including crystal drive. Conference area was very nice and well organized. One thing I did not like was the last day of the conference coffee was horrible. Tasted the same in the restaurant. The other two days it tasted very good. The last day it tasted as if the only made it with half the coffee; very watery. No other complaints. Rooms were nice and roomy. Oh my irin did not work, but it was replaced right away.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days on business and was not impressed. The hotel is very large and the room I was large but oddly shaped. The room did feature a small living room with couch and tv and then a bedroom type space with the bed and another tv. The living area with couch was badly stained and smelt horrible. The floor was stained and the under side of the couch had dust piled so high I personally cleaned it. The window seal was caked with dust and paint splattered all over it. The bed was pretty comfortable although you had to lay in the middle as the mattress was caving in towards the middle from all guest sleeping in the same spot. Maybe time for a mattress turn or a new one all together. If I was traveling with another guest, the bed would have been an issue. The Lobby bar was over priced but as to be expected in DC hotel. The elevator's very terribly slow and often waited 10 min or more to get up or down. The hotel is connected to many food court options below the hotel and also the metro. All in all, the stay was very avg.

Room Tip: The higher the better..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A while back, past 2012, when i was still living in Maryland, my family and I decided to go on a trip because there was a small convention just enough to take up maybe 2-3 ballrooms. It was a spur of the moment, we didn't get in till late because of some personal complications, yet when we arrived we were greeted with a smile and a warm welcome, it was very busy at the time, but no one seemed to be stressed and nothing seemed or looked out of control. We're off to a great start. Next our room keys were handed to us quickly after my parents just booked at room right as we got there. The rooms were clean and neat. The elevators we're also responding quickly for constant use, which is always a great thing. If i ever get the chance to go back to Maryland and or Virgina, this will be the first place i look for rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal City, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hi:
I had a Dinner Meeting at Crystal Gateway Marriott on 05/07/2013 at 7:30 P.M. The group was around 100 people. I had a vegetarian dinner ticket. Even before the dinner started, I called out the head of the waiters and specifically showed him my vegetarian ticket. He casually asked me to place it on my table. Then dinner started arriving. Every one else in the table started eating and almost finished. Still I did not get my plate. Adding insult to injury, I started eating the salad, and the bread. Alas! The bread was so cold as if they were just taken out of the refrigerator. After all the others finished, I got my plate. Thye took almost 30 minutes to cook some pasta with 2-3 pieces of zuchchini. Even this food was luke-warm. It appears that the chef must have prepared it and placed it somewhere, and the waiters totally forgot about it.
The service of the kitchen staff is extremely poor. I doubt whether I will go there again or recommend another meeting at this hotel.

Thanks.
Sincerely
RSV

Room Tip: This hotel is not a good place to hold dinner meetings. The staff cannot handle a big crowd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a large hotel that easily accommodated a meeting of 2,000 people, though it is spread out. Rooms are fine. The "convention food" was excellent in the group setting. They did it well. I generally prefer Marriott over other chain hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport
Airport Transpo...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Crystal Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Crystal Gateway

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#15 Business Hotel in Arlington
#20 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Crystal Gateway 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Gateway Marriott offers an ideal location for vacations, business trips and weekend getaways. We are only one mile from Reagan National Airport and provide complimentary shuttle service to and from for our guests.The Crystal City underground can be accessed from our lobby offering direct access to the Metro system and a multitude of restaurants and shopping. Guests can also take advantage of complimentary WiFi in our lobby and multiple dining options within the hotel including Einstein Bagels. We're also minutes from the sites and sounds of Georgetown, Old Town Alexandria and unbelievable shopping at The Fashion Centre at Pentagon City. Our hotel provides 34,300 sq. ft. of meeting space and 27 meeting rooms with an on-site business center and Hertz rental desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marriott Crystal Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Crystal Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.