We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Gateway Marriott to your Saves list
Crystal Gateway Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% off
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Carbondale, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quick and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A while back, past 2012, when i was still living in Maryland, my family and I decided to go on a trip because there was a small convention just enough to take up maybe 2-3 ballrooms. It was a spur of the moment, we didn't get in till late because of some personal complications, yet when we arrived we were greeted with a smile and a warm welcome, it was very busy at the time, but no one seemed to be stressed and nothing seemed or looked out of control. We're off to a great start. Next our room keys were handed to us quickly after my parents just booked at room right as we got there. The rooms were clean and neat. The elevators we're also responding quickly for constant use, which is always a great thing. If i ever get the chance to go back to Maryland and or Virgina, this will be the first place i look for rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    325
    101
    27
    17
See reviews for
177
101
64
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hi:
I had a Dinner Meeting at Crystal Gateway Marriott on 05/07/2013 at 7:30 P.M. The group was around 100 people. I had a vegetarian dinner ticket. Even before the dinner started, I called out the head of the waiters and specifically showed him my vegetarian ticket. He casually asked me to place it on my table. Then dinner started arriving. Every one else in the table started eating and almost finished. Still I did not get my plate. Adding insult to injury, I started eating the salad, and the bread. Alas! The bread was so cold as if they were just taken out of the refrigerator. After all the others finished, I got my plate. Thye took almost 30 minutes to cook some pasta with 2-3 pieces of zuchchini. Even this food was luke-warm. It appears that the chef must have prepared it and placed it somewhere, and the waiters totally forgot about it.
The service of the kitchen staff is extremely poor. I doubt whether I will go there again or recommend another meeting at this hotel.

Thanks.
Sincerely
RSV

Room Tip: This hotel is not a good place to hold dinner meetings. The staff cannot handle a big crowd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a large hotel that easily accommodated a meeting of 2,000 people, though it is spread out. Rooms are fine. The "convention food" was excellent in the group setting. They did it well. I generally prefer Marriott over other chain hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel is located near Washington, DC and close to public transportation. The Yellow and Blue Metro lines are a few minute walk through a connecting passage. Taxi rides were expensive because Virginia cabs cannot pick up fares in DC and so add an extra charge and DC cabs cannot pick up passengers in Virginia so there is again extra charges. Just a heads up if you stay at the hotel. As for the Hotel, my friend and I stayed at the Hotel for a conference and got great rate, 191.00 a night. In comparison to other Hotels I have stayed in the rooms were adequate, large king bed, but was to soft for sleeping soundly. One recommendation if you stay here and have any allergies make sure the pillows are not feathered, I believe they are standard in the rooms. The rooms were exceptionally clean and the household staff did an excellent job in taking the care of the room. The rooms were lacking a safe and refrigerator, perhaps this is a minor complaint. One problem was the concierge provided a map of the local area that was completely wrong and my friend and I wandered around for a long time looking for the restaurant we had reservations in. Also, we were given wrong information about the Metro. The adjoining restaurant was very good for breakfast and lunch. The meeting rooms were rather cold but the hotel did warn us about that so we were prepared. The fitness room had free weights, a few weight machines, treadmills, cross trainers, and bikes and had towels, water, and monitors on the machines, but bring your own headphones. Overall, the experience was pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, western australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for four nights, and used it as a home base. We were out all day and night, visiting all the attractions Washington DC has to offer. The Metro on your doorstep, shopping, restaurants, makes everything all within easy reach. The rooms were large, and had everything you needed for a peaceful, safe holiday. I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area. Marvin at the front reception was very helpful, and managed to find us a room for aavery early check in, which was great. The concierge ladies were also very helpful when we needed to ask any questions. Great staff, excellent location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The price, even with the conference discount, was a ridiculous $259+tax per night, and that only provided a standard Marriot business hotel experience. Nothing extraordinary, nothing terrible, just as expected. Luckily the conference wireless extended to my room on the 3rd floor, and that was great as it had IPv6 connectivity. The meeting rooms were good, as was the provided lunch.

Room Tip: ask for a room far from elevators which are loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

First visit to Washington DC, and like any major City many hotels, and prices to choose from. We chose this hotel due to a superb location, a free shuttle operates to Regan Airport. The hotel adjoins a shopping mall, and the metro. Three blocks away is the Pentagon City Mall, where the Open Top city tour bus stops.
The hotel is the standard Marriott offering, of spacious comfortable rooms, and all the requisite amenities. Like many we rarely take breakfast in the hotel, but on this occasion we did, and it was first class and good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#14 Family Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Gateway Marriott offers an ideal location for vacations, business trips and weekend getaways. We are only one mile from Reagan National Airport and provide complimentary shuttle service to and from for our guests.The Crystal City underground can be accessed from our lobby offering direct access to the Metro system and a multitude of restaurants and shopping. Guests can also take advantage of complimentary WiFi in our lobby and multiple dining options within the hotel including Einstein Bagels. We're also minutes from the sites and sounds of Georgetown, Old Town Alexandria and unbelievable shopping at The Fashion Centre at Pentagon City. Our hotel provides 34,300 sq. ft. of meeting space and 27 meeting rooms with an on-site business center and Hertz rental desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Gateway Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.