We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Marriott. Great Location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Crystal Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Crystal Gateway to your Saves list
Marriott Crystal Gateway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Marriott. Great Location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Everything was great. The staff, cleanliness, shower, bed - hits all the important marks for me! Stayed here on business. Close to DCA airport with a free shuttle, which was fast and pleasant (expecting the opposite). Great location. The hotel has shopping and a large number of good dining establishments underneath the hotel in the mall, very convenient! I will definitely stay again when the need arises.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    311
    100
    27
    17
See reviews for
172
94
62
310
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location near DC with easy access to museums and monuments. The hotel is clean, friendly team, comfortable beds and the assurance of consistency that comes with a Marriott flag, Added bonus of shopping right there!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed three nights at the Crystal Gateway Marriott. The hotel is convenient to Washington DC by car, cab, and Metro rail. Shops and restaurants next to the hotel provided lower priced eating alternatives to the hotel restaurant, though hotel restaurant food was quite good. Getting into Washington was quick and easy from the Metro station next to the hotel.

I only rated the hotel as very good based on the room itself. We had two full sized beds, one club chair, a desk chair, cabinet with refrigerator. Only complaints were that there were some holes in the shower curtain that appeared to be from a cigarette, yet the room is nonsmoking, and the club chair was a little worn in spots on the upholstery and padding in the arms. Housekeeping came by the room quite early, knocking at the door, but we just asked her to come back after 8:30 a.m.

The lady working the concierge desk was very helpful and friendly.

Overall, good hotel choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at this Marriott as we had a banquet that ran late into the evening. We arrived around 5:30 and decided to use Valet parking as it wasn't obvious where else we should park. Check in was easy. We are gold members and were very disappointed that the concierge lounge was not open on the weekend. They offered to give us a complimentary breakfast but the lounge offer so much more.

The room was nicely prepped and to my liking. I enjoy the bath and body works amenities in the washroom. It was also good to have a mini fridge so that we could have cold water.

I only give it three stars as the view was terrible and I was upset that the lounge was closed. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed 5 nights for a conference in DC convention center. Easy access to metro subway below the hotel to any DC points of interest. I would recommend this route due to traffic congestion and super high parking prices.

Location: just across the river from DC and a short distance from DCA airport with free shuttle. The crystal city has lots of shops and restaurant within its compound and also many restaurants and shopping within a short walking distance.

Hotel: decent common area, super small indoor pool which also opens up to outdoor pool weather permitting. Service is rushed at the front desk and at the concierge lounge ( let's get to the point attitude). Requested late check out as a platinum member but was basically told someone is waiting for your room right now.

Room: Outdated by Marriott standards, only had turn down service on 2 of the five nights. No inroom safe but did have a fridge.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just returned from a family city break staying here to visit both Washington DC and the surrounding area. The hotel was perfectly located above a metro station making sightseeing, attending sports games and eating out very convenient. The room was clean and spacious (and we had a rollaway bed aswell as 2 doubles)The staff were extremely helpful and attentive, particularly the staff in the concierge lounge. The only improvement would have been to have a safe in the room, other than that I would'nt change anything and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: A high room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Typical Marriott hotel situated near metro (Crystal City) station. Don't get confused when you get off the subway and head to the wrong Marriott though; there are two Marriotts at the Crystal City stop. Big rooms with plenty of space to stretch out and relax, or work if that's your thing. Also, there is a Dunkin Doughnuts on your way back to the subway so you can get your caffeine fix in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Crystal Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Crystal Gateway

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#17 Family Hotel in Arlington
#21 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Crystal Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Gateway Marriott offers an ideal location for vacations, business trips and weekend getaways. We are only one mile from Reagan National Airport and provide complimentary shuttle service to and from for our guests.The Crystal City underground can be accessed from our lobby offering direct access to the Metro system and a multitude of restaurants and shopping. Guests can also take advantage of complimentary WiFi in our lobby and multiple dining options within the hotel including Einstein Bagels. We're also minutes from the sites and sounds of Georgetown, Old Town Alexandria and unbelievable shopping at The Fashion Centre at Pentagon City. Our hotel provides 34,300 sq. ft. of meeting space and 27 meeting rooms with an on-site business center and Hertz rental desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Crystal Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Crystal Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.