We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits and minor misses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Crystal Gateway

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Marriott.com
and 7 more sites!
Marriott Crystal Gateway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Explore DC from Arlington
Ranked #18 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Albuquerque
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hits and minor misses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I like staying here; I've stayed here a lot on business travel.

Hits: Convenient to metro. Quick taxi ride from DCA. Hotel shuttle from DCA, if you want to save a little money. I've always been treated well by the staff, with some great room upgrades, even on multi-night stays (I'm Marriott Platinum), and they've gone out of their way for me a couple of times to help with simple but out-of-the-ordinary requests. Cleaning staff is very good and thorough (I've had one problem checking in to a sub-par room). Bar staff and Concierge Lounge staff are very friendly and efficient.

Minor misses you might want to know about: The atrium bar is OK, but is brightly lit and can be noisy (a miss if you prefer a dark, quiet place to have a drink); their wine bar has been closed for quite a while now. Lots of families and kids stay here. Food offerings in the Concierge Lounge are sub-par relative to other Marriotts I've visited (warehouse-shopping-club-style microwave "mini-burgers; never any potatoes or meats at breakfast), though the ladies that staff the lounge are absolute sweethearts.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the US capitol, which can be kind of cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    267
    83
    22
    16
See reviews for
143
82
56
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

On a recent trek to DC, my husband and I stayed at Marriott Crystal Gateway. The most positive feature of this hotel is that we didn't have to drive or park in the downtown area. We simply hopped on the Metro, located in the basement shopping area of the Marriott. No hassles, just fun and a clean, comfortable room to return to after seeing all the sights.

Room Tip: I like the second floor, across from the gym and pool entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located in Crystal City and conveniently located to DCA (Reagan Airport) and the transit system to take you into downtown. It is connected to the underground which will take you to shops and fast food as well as the Metro. Many restaurants and shopping options within walking distance as well. I have two complaints:
1. Airport transportation ends at 11pm, which means if you land close to or after that, you're stuck taking a cab and the cab lines can be incredibly long at that time of night.
2. The club lounge is closed from noon on Friday until Monday morning.

Room Tip: For easy access to the Club lounge and restaurants request a room in the Main tower as opposed to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Always know what your getting when staying at a Marriott. It's so convenient to the Metro, shopping and food. The beds were so comfy and your able to get a good nites rest. This will most likely be our choice place to stay when visiting DC but only negative is having to pay for WIFI especially when you have to pay daily for parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wintson salem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to get metro(direct access to crystal city station(blue line) and give good price compared to D.C hotel.
I booked this hotel with AAA membership promotion, so we could have double room including morning buffet under $100(we are 2 adult and 2 kids). The buffet was descent and essential as morning buffet.
The subway food store(in crystal sqaure arcade) is also beneficial to us, tired with sightseeing.
The "Sushi Garden" is very great sushi bar. we bought sushi on my way to come back hotel, exhausted. The sushi and Bibimbob and miso soup are very delicious.
This hotel has indoor pool and laundary room on 2nd floor.
the only thing is not satisfied is parking lot and parking fee($26).
I will be stay again this hotel next visit to washington D.C.

Room Tip: higher floor has good sights but there are many rooms that are connected with door (although it is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Took the grandkids over Spring Break to the Smithsonian Museums. Staying at this Marriott is very convenient, since the Metro has a stop adjacent to the hotel. Then, when you come back after the museums, there is the pool. The adjoining shopping center has several eating establishments. The hotel restaurant isn't bad either.
My only gripe is that the Einstein Bagel Co. in the lobby needs to seriously expand. The line is way too long in the morning, and at conference breaks.

Room Tip: Anywhere is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've lived in DC and gone back to visit often. This will be my new preferred stay! With indoor access to the Metro, you can't beat the convenience for getting around the city. For a large hotel, the personal attention and hospitality were remarkable. Every staff member greeted me and several remembered me throughout my visit. Weekend rates are a bargain, as the local area of Crystal City tends to be busiest during the week. There is a handy bagel/coffee stop in the lobby; breakfast in the restaurant was adequate, but better to get out into the city and explore for your meals. Request a room with a view over the river into DC, and higher up. Rooms were good sized.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor with a view toward the river and into DC
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Crystal Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Crystal Gateway

Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#16 Business Hotel in Arlington
#19 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Crystal Gateway 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Gateway Marriott offers an ideal location for vacations, business trips and weekend getaways. We are only one mile from Reagan National Airport and provide complimentary shuttle service to and from for our guests.The Crystal City underground can be accessed from our lobby offering direct access to the Metro system and a multitude of restaurants and shopping. Guests can also take advantage of complimentary WiFi in our lobby and multiple dining options within the hotel including Einstein Bagels. We're also minutes from the sites and sounds of Georgetown, Old Town Alexandria and unbelievable shopping at The Fashion Centre at Pentagon City. Our hotel provides 34,300 sq. ft. of meeting space and 27 meeting rooms with an on-site business center and Hertz rental desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Marriott Crystal Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Crystal Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marriott Crystal Gateway to your Saves list