We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Gateway Marriott to your Saves list
Crystal Gateway Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located in Crystal City and conveniently located to DCA (Reagan Airport) and the transit system to take you into downtown. It is connected to the underground which will take you to shops and fast food as well as the Metro. Many restaurants and shopping options within walking distance as well. I have two complaints:
1. Airport transportation ends at 11pm, which means if you land close to or after that, you're stuck taking a cab and the cab lines can be incredibly long at that time of night.
2. The club lounge is closed from noon on Friday until Monday morning.

Room Tip: For easy access to the Club lounge and restaurants request a room in the Main tower as opposed to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    357
    116
    31
    20
See reviews for
197
112
66
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Always know what your getting when staying at a Marriott. It's so convenient to the Metro, shopping and food. The beds were so comfy and your able to get a good nites rest. This will most likely be our choice place to stay when visiting DC but only negative is having to pay for WIFI especially when you have to pay daily for parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wintson salem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to get metro(direct access to crystal city station(blue line) and give good price compared to D.C hotel.
I booked this hotel with AAA membership promotion, so we could have double room including morning buffet under $100(we are 2 adult and 2 kids). The buffet was descent and essential as morning buffet.
The subway food store(in crystal sqaure arcade) is also beneficial to us, tired with sightseeing.
The "Sushi Garden" is very great sushi bar. we bought sushi on my way to come back hotel, exhausted. The sushi and Bibimbob and miso soup are very delicious.
This hotel has indoor pool and laundary room on 2nd floor.
the only thing is not satisfied is parking lot and parking fee($26).
I will be stay again this hotel next visit to washington D.C.

Room Tip: higher floor has good sights but there are many rooms that are connected with door (although it is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Took the grandkids over Spring Break to the Smithsonian Museums. Staying at this Marriott is very convenient, since the Metro has a stop adjacent to the hotel. Then, when you come back after the museums, there is the pool. The adjoining shopping center has several eating establishments. The hotel restaurant isn't bad either.
My only gripe is that the Einstein Bagel Co. in the lobby needs to seriously expand. The line is way too long in the morning, and at conference breaks.

Room Tip: Anywhere is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've lived in DC and gone back to visit often. This will be my new preferred stay! With indoor access to the Metro, you can't beat the convenience for getting around the city. For a large hotel, the personal attention and hospitality were remarkable. Every staff member greeted me and several remembered me throughout my visit. Weekend rates are a bargain, as the local area of Crystal City tends to be busiest during the week. There is a handy bagel/coffee stop in the lobby; breakfast in the restaurant was adequate, but better to get out into the city and explore for your meals. Request a room with a view over the river into DC, and higher up. Rooms were good sized.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor with a view toward the river and into DC
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Metro, Regan National airport, Crystal City, fed gov, downtown DC.. name it all, your close to for all kinds of transportation. Great place for business meetings and base place for visiting Pentago and Arlington Cemetary.

Need to book a convention, corporate meeting or host a business seminar. They offer a good number of different size rooms, from small to convention size.

We just booked a global reunion for 200+ people, and they worked well to help accomodate all our needs.

The bar area is open and expansive, and has just the right atmosphere. Close to underground mall, and area restaurants.

Only drawback is their parking garage, a little small, a little spooky and hard to manuever around.

Room Tip: The offer traditional AAA and other discount rates, including honoring Marriott rewards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for a meeting. The lobby looks nice, room and conference room area dumpy. My fitted sheet did not fit the bed and kept coming off the corner. Lousy in-room coffee. Meeting room area had Ladies room with only 2 stalls. Every time we had a break from our meeting, the housekeeping staff were in there--so we had to wait in line. Door to Ladies room slammed shut every time and then was propped open. Staff assigned to meeting room inattentive. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#17 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Gateway Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.