We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience and hospitality in DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Gateway Marriott to your Saves list
Crystal Gateway Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% off
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Convenience and hospitality in DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've lived in DC and gone back to visit often. This will be my new preferred stay! With indoor access to the Metro, you can't beat the convenience for getting around the city. For a large hotel, the personal attention and hospitality were remarkable. Every staff member greeted me and several remembered me throughout my visit. Weekend rates are a bargain, as the local area of Crystal City tends to be busiest during the week. There is a handy bagel/coffee stop in the lobby; breakfast in the restaurant was adequate, but better to get out into the city and explore for your meals. Request a room with a view over the river into DC, and higher up. Rooms were good sized.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor with a view toward the river and into DC
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    323
    101
    27
    17
See reviews for
177
100
62
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Metro, Regan National airport, Crystal City, fed gov, downtown DC.. name it all, your close to for all kinds of transportation. Great place for business meetings and base place for visiting Pentago and Arlington Cemetary.

Need to book a convention, corporate meeting or host a business seminar. They offer a good number of different size rooms, from small to convention size.

We just booked a global reunion for 200+ people, and they worked well to help accomodate all our needs.

The bar area is open and expansive, and has just the right atmosphere. Close to underground mall, and area restaurants.

Only drawback is their parking garage, a little small, a little spooky and hard to manuever around.

Room Tip: The offer traditional AAA and other discount rates, including honoring Marriott rewards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for a meeting. The lobby looks nice, room and conference room area dumpy. My fitted sheet did not fit the bed and kept coming off the corner. Lousy in-room coffee. Meeting room area had Ladies room with only 2 stalls. Every time we had a break from our meeting, the housekeeping staff were in there--so we had to wait in line. Door to Ladies room slammed shut every time and then was propped open. Staff assigned to meeting room inattentive. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Crystal Gateway is located near the 14th Street bridge providing easy auto access to Washington, DC. It also sits atop the Crystal City metrorail stop--the metro easily reached without going out into the weather. The rooms are well maintained and the staff is very helpful. We heard at least seven different languages being spoken by the front desk staff. The meeting facilities are well designed and the meeting planner staff is responsive to needs. The restaurants and bar are pleasant. The food was good, but we found greater variety at better prices in the immediate area.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 4th floor are quieter. Rooms facing away from the Potomac River have less aircraft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant View, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel. Next stop from Reagan Airport on the Metro. Metro is easily accessible and the wonderful shops and restaurants in Crystal City only steps away. So easy to commute to DC from hotel.


  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was here on business. Staff was extremely helpful and eager to give directions. The tunnel to the Metro was very convenient and easy to find places to eat. The hotel room was impeccably clean. The bathroom was very clean and my feet did not get dirty walking on the carpet in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Three stars indicates an 'average' review, and I would say that this hotel is average for the chain. That means its NOT bad - it's quite good by my standards. Lobby is nice enough, staff is very nice across the board, the location is great (better IMO than the nearby Crystal City Marriott), and the rooms are fine. The reason I didn't give it four stars is the rooms are slightly dated. Again, they're not bad at all, and are perfectly comfortable and have all the usual amenities. I will definitely stay here again, and can recommend it to colleagues and friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#14 Family Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Gateway Marriott offers an ideal location for vacations, business trips and weekend getaways. We are only one mile from Reagan National Airport and provide complimentary shuttle service to and from for our guests.The Crystal City underground can be accessed from our lobby offering direct access to the Metro system and a multitude of restaurants and shopping. Guests can also take advantage of complimentary WiFi in our lobby and multiple dining options within the hotel including Einstein Bagels. We're also minutes from the sites and sounds of Georgetown, Old Town Alexandria and unbelievable shopping at The Fashion Centre at Pentagon City. Our hotel provides 34,300 sq. ft. of meeting space and 27 meeting rooms with an on-site business center and Hertz rental desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Gateway Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.