We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, highly recommend for families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Gateway Marriott to your Saves list
Crystal Gateway Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, highly recommend for families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We took a long weekend trip to Washington DC, and were looking for a 2 room suite at a reasonable price. This hotel is just over the river, and very convenient with direct access to the Metro. We were at the Smithsonian stop in 15 minutes from boarding. We arrived during spring break,and boy could you tell! There were groups of students and tourists everywhere! Just be aware that this is a large bustling hotel, and if you are looking quiet and intimacy, this is not your destination!

We reserved a King Suite. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. The only downside was there was no door between the bedroom and the 'living' area. It wasn't a deal breaker, but we were traveling with 2 14 year old boys, so a little privacy would have been a plus. The main room had a nice eating area that the boys claimed to set up a board game, a large TV, and a pull out loveseat. The bed was full size I believe. We also requested a roll away, and it was delivered within 30 minutes of our check-in. It was a bit tight when the pull out was set up. I had to trip over the boys during the night to get to the bathroom, which was located immediately inside the door as you entered the suite.

Downstairs in the lobby is a bagel shop where you can pick up breakfast in the morning. There was always a line in the morning. We never ate there however, as the boys were more interested in the Dunkin Donuts located at the entrance to the Metro in the Crystal Shops. There is also a Starbucks located in the shops for those of you who prefer their coffee (that was me!). I was confused initially on how to get to the metro and the shops, but no need - from the lobby there is a tunnel that goes under the highway that runs next to the hotel. Everything is enclosed, and you never need to go outside to get to the metro or to the shops.

At night after trooping around Washington, we would ride the Metro back to the hotel, drop the boys off at the room, and go to the lobby bar for a nightcap. It was never crowded, and the bartenders were attentive. Should you need a late night snack (remember the 2 14 yr old boys!) there is a small sundry shop in the lobby that has sodas, chips, and candy, and was open late at night. We did also order room service one night, for the boys, and it arrived quickly, and everything looked very good.

The few downsides - the high cost of internet service meant that we did not have access to email or to any online services. However, the costs were in line with what other hotels are charging. Also the parking fees were an added last minute expense at checkout, but they were a bit cheaper than similar accommodations located within the city.

All around we had a wonderful visit, and I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We are on the top floor, which made for a nice view. Also we were right by the elevator, but did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    379
    121
    33
    21
See reviews for
212
116
67
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Well run hotel. Helpful staff. Easy access to Metro. Clean rooms. Nice bar.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth County, NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is one of two Marriott's located just across the Potomac from DC in Arlington, VA. The two properties are located about a two blocks from each other and are connected via an underground passageway as well as by shuttle van. Crystal City is a nice business area located on the fringe of a residential district and very close to National Airport.
This property is very large and hosts large events. I stayed with my wife and three small children. The property was recently upgraded and is very nice, Parking is $22 per day in the garage. However there is a height limit of 6'3" - so any SUV with a Thule or similar carrier won't fit. The hotel has a bar and restaurant and connects to an underground mall with several restaurants, a pharmacy, and supermarket.
The staff was very polite and helpful. However requests needed to be followed-up on to get done - I chalked this up to just the sheer number of guests at the property. The pool is an outdoor/indoor combo (only the indoor portion was open). It was somewhat dated and the floor tile is incredibly slippery when wet; so much so I can't believe it hasn't been modified due to the hazard it presents.
We stayed in a junior suite on the 17th floor. It was a very nice room equipped with a sleeper sofa, fridge, lockbox with digital combo, and tv's in both rooms. However the bedroom area did not have a door to separate it from the main area. The separate bedroom tends to be helpful when traveling with small kids. The view was limited due to high buildings across the street. You could see the top of the Washington Monument though. It was quite, the bedding and pillows were comfortable.
I purchased the breakfast package and found it to be a good deal for a family of five. The food was served as buffet style and offered a wide variety of good breakfast food. However we were incorrectly billed a few days after we departed but it was quickly rectified when I called the hotel.
This hotel is good for either business or family travelers. It is located literally above a Metro stop which makes it a good home base to operate from. You are close enough to DC that you could travel back during the day for a break and head back in. Parking is high but DC parking rules can be confusing and the Metro is very user-friendly. I think this property is a little too large for families with kids under 5 however. The lobby can be very busy and a child could easily get separated; the property is so big they could easily get lost. The preschool TV channels were limited - Disney was the only option. Adults or families with older kids would be fine in my opinion.

Room Tip: Junior suites a very spacious - just lack a door between bedroom and sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermitage
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have stayed here twice now and as before it was great. Very accomadating, very clean. Love the location, near the metro and shops. Had a above average size room! The only little thing I would say was my family wished the pool was open later hours. Getting the breakfast included in the room was a great value to us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakbrook Terrace, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We held a meeting here for close to 400 people in early April. The conference service staff here is really on top of things & very attentive. The catered food for the meetings was excellent. The guest rooms look to be recently rennovated & very current, clean, no complaints whatsoever. The location of the hotel, while in a more of a business district, still has many good restaurants within walking distance. There is excellent access to the metro via the lobby & a short walk through underground shopping mall area. Being a female traveling by myself, I had no qualms about getting to & taking the metro by myself. All access was in a very busy well lit & well travelled areas. The metro system is very user friendly & the metro staff, while not necessarily friendly, was very helpful. Lobby area bar is a nice place for informal business meetings, busy enought to have energy, but not so crowded or loud that you could not carry on a conversation. The restaurant The Mez, was OK. The soup while very good, was too salty (corn & crab chowder). Entree - Salmon was excellent. Did not try the desserts, but the catered desserts were very good. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. If you're looking to see the sights/monuments, etc. you can usually get a much better rate in this area & just spend a little bit of time on the metro to get there. Not a big deal - It only cost about $3.50 / way to get to the center of the National Mall & back. MUCH cheaper than taking a cab & much cheaper room rate than staying in DC.

Room Tip: Not much of a view from some of the rooms, but you don't much time in the room anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our late-night arrival was met full service. The staff was friendly and professional. Not a dark or desolate lobby. Was happy that the room was neat, clean and relatively up-to-date. The bed was very comfortable and the bath was nice with a lot of counter space and a shower head with multiple settings and a detachable wand.
It's convenient to shopping and a lot of places thanks to the underground connection to the Metro. Reagan Nat'l, Arlington, and the Pentagon are all a matter of a few minutes away.
Expect a busy lobby/restaurant/bar on weekends. A little noisy just going through the lobby. Conference facilities and food service were very good.
A few drawbacks I would mention:
The pool area could have been better. More like a place just to sit in the dark than a place to swim. Apparently some teens had been through earlier one night and got trash in the pool. One questions: How did that happen? The attendant did go through a disclaimer about it upon arriving, so maybe he had cleaned most of it out. Not very conducive for a workout either. didn't see the gym, so I can't offer any insight there.
There also seemed to be a lot of surcharges. I got an excellent promo rate for the value, then discovered the pricey fees like Internet service and parking. Standard practice but maybe a little high. And attending conferences elsewhere, I've seen some fees waved. Could not even use Internet in the business center without a fee. Could not access wi-fi in conference rooms either. We had a nice stay and would return simply because it was solid, but it did not rate a five.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, staying in the north tower would allow for avoiding the bar. Staying in the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

First off, to get to why "Value" is only 4 stars. $12.95 a day for Internet access is absolutely laughable when small, independent, $35 a night dives offer it for free. (They note that free wifi is available in the lobby 24 hrs a day - to which i say.. So what? If i want to access free internet in public, every McDonald's has that...) It would be wiser if this hotel added the cost to room price giving the illusion of a "free" amenity - whether the temporary tenants use it or not. (Instead their current system of a somewhat higher priced room that includes the wifi or the daily $12.95 price gouge). Beyond that... On to the good stuff. What an ideal location. Connected to an underground mall network with its own Metro station. The convenience is amazing. $22 a night for vehicle parking in an underground garage. Service is A1. Every employee here is courteous and utterly intuitive. Whatever your question, either they know the answer - or know who does - and will find that answer. Restaurants are a little overpriced in my opinion, but the food served is most often presented with great appeal and flavor. I've traveled the world and stayed in youth hostels to five star deluxe hotels. Few come close to this for service, value, and location. Perfection would be free wifi in every room.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#9 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#16 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#13 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Gateway Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.