We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Crystal Gateway

Save Saved
You added Marriott Crystal Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Crystal Gateway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #19 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Well run hotel. Helpful staff. Easy access to Metro. Clean rooms. Nice bar.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    297
    95
    25
    16
See reviews for
164
87
61
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth County, NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is one of two Marriott's located just across the Potomac from DC in Arlington, VA. The two properties are located about a two blocks from each other and are connected via an underground passageway as well as by shuttle van. Crystal City is a nice business area located on the fringe of a residential district and very close to National Airport.
This property is very large and hosts large events. I stayed with my wife and three small children. The property was recently upgraded and is very nice, Parking is $22 per day in the garage. However there is a height limit of 6'3" - so any SUV with a Thule or similar carrier won't fit. The hotel has a bar and restaurant and connects to an underground mall with several restaurants, a pharmacy, and supermarket.
The staff was very polite and helpful. However requests needed to be followed-up on to get done - I chalked this up to just the sheer number of guests at the property. The pool is an outdoor/indoor combo (only the indoor portion was open). It was somewhat dated and the floor tile is incredibly slippery when wet; so much so I can't believe it hasn't been modified due to the hazard it presents.
We stayed in a junior suite on the 17th floor. It was a very nice room equipped with a sleeper sofa, fridge, lockbox with digital combo, and tv's in both rooms. However the bedroom area did not have a door to separate it from the main area. The separate bedroom tends to be helpful when traveling with small kids. The view was limited due to high buildings across the street. You could see the top of the Washington Monument though. It was quite, the bedding and pillows were comfortable.
I purchased the breakfast package and found it to be a good deal for a family of five. The food was served as buffet style and offered a wide variety of good breakfast food. However we were incorrectly billed a few days after we departed but it was quickly rectified when I called the hotel.
This hotel is good for either business or family travelers. It is located literally above a Metro stop which makes it a good home base to operate from. You are close enough to DC that you could travel back during the day for a break and head back in. Parking is high but DC parking rules can be confusing and the Metro is very user-friendly. I think this property is a little too large for families with kids under 5 however. The lobby can be very busy and a child could easily get separated; the property is so big they could easily get lost. The preschool TV channels were limited - Disney was the only option. Adults or families with older kids would be fine in my opinion.

Room Tip: Junior suites a very spacious - just lack a door between bedroom and sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermitage
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have stayed here twice now and as before it was great. Very accomadating, very clean. Love the location, near the metro and shops. Had a above average size room! The only little thing I would say was my family wished the pool was open later hours. Getting the breakfast included in the room was a great value to us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakbrook Terrace, IL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We held a meeting here for close to 400 people in early April. The conference service staff here is really on top of things & very attentive. The catered food for the meetings was excellent. The guest rooms look to be recently rennovated & very current, clean, no complaints whatsoever. The location of the hotel, while in a more of a business district, still has many good restaurants within walking distance. There is excellent access to the metro via the lobby & a short walk through underground shopping mall area. Being a female traveling by myself, I had no qualms about getting to & taking the metro by myself. All access was in a very busy well lit & well travelled areas. The metro system is very user friendly & the metro staff, while not necessarily friendly, was very helpful. Lobby area bar is a nice place for informal business meetings, busy enought to have energy, but not so crowded or loud that you could not carry on a conversation. The restaurant The Mez, was OK. The soup while very good, was too salty (corn & crab chowder). Entree - Salmon was excellent. Did not try the desserts, but the catered desserts were very good. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. If you're looking to see the sights/monuments, etc. you can usually get a much better rate in this area & just spend a little bit of time on the metro to get there. Not a big deal - It only cost about $3.50 / way to get to the center of the National Mall & back. MUCH cheaper than taking a cab & much cheaper room rate than staying in DC.

Room Tip: Not much of a view from some of the rooms, but you don't much time in the room anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our late-night arrival was met full service. The staff was friendly and professional. Not a dark or desolate lobby. Was happy that the room was neat, clean and relatively up-to-date. The bed was very comfortable and the bath was nice with a lot of counter space and a shower head with multiple settings and a detachable wand.
It's convenient to shopping and a lot of places thanks to the underground connection to the Metro. Reagan Nat'l, Arlington, and the Pentagon are all a matter of a few minutes away.
Expect a busy lobby/restaurant/bar on weekends. A little noisy just going through the lobby. Conference facilities and food service were very good.
A few drawbacks I would mention:
The pool area could have been better. More like a place just to sit in the dark than a place to swim. Apparently some teens had been through earlier one night and got trash in the pool. One questions: How did that happen? The attendant did go through a disclaimer about it upon arriving, so maybe he had cleaned most of it out. Not very conducive for a workout either. didn't see the gym, so I can't offer any insight there.
There also seemed to be a lot of surcharges. I got an excellent promo rate for the value, then discovered the pricey fees like Internet service and parking. Standard practice but maybe a little high. And attending conferences elsewhere, I've seen some fees waved. Could not even use Internet in the business center without a fee. Could not access wi-fi in conference rooms either. We had a nice stay and would return simply because it was solid, but it did not rate a five.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, staying in the north tower would allow for avoiding the bar. Staying in the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

First off, to get to why "Value" is only 4 stars. $12.95 a day for Internet access is absolutely laughable when small, independent, $35 a night dives offer it for free. (They note that free wifi is available in the lobby 24 hrs a day - to which i say.. So what? If i want to access free internet in public, every McDonald's has that...) It would be wiser if this hotel added the cost to room price giving the illusion of a "free" amenity - whether the temporary tenants use it or not. (Instead their current system of a somewhat higher priced room that includes the wifi or the daily $12.95 price gouge). Beyond that... On to the good stuff. What an ideal location. Connected to an underground mall network with its own Metro station. The convenience is amazing. $22 a night for vehicle parking in an underground garage. Service is A1. Every employee here is courteous and utterly intuitive. Whatever your question, either they know the answer - or know who does - and will find that answer. Restaurants are a little overpriced in my opinion, but the food served is most often presented with great appeal and flavor. I've traveled the world and stayed in youth hostels to five star deluxe hotels. Few come close to this for service, value, and location. Perfection would be free wifi in every room.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Excellent hotel and great location to Metro. Staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. They were also very knowledgable about the area. The room was clean and well maintained. My husband is still talking about the buffet breakfast and how good it was. Great hotel to come back to after a long day sightseeing and I travel alot for business-the mattress was excellent. Just can't say enough about the property..

Room Tip: If you can get upgraded, go for it. I just don't think there would be a "bad" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Crystal Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Crystal Gateway

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#17 Business Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Crystal Gateway 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Gateway Marriott offers an ideal location for vacations, business trips and weekend getaways. We are only one mile from Reagan National Airport and provide complimentary shuttle service to and from for our guests.The Crystal City underground can be accessed from our lobby offering direct access to the Metro system and a multitude of restaurants and shopping. Guests can also take advantage of complimentary WiFi in our lobby and multiple dining options within the hotel including Einstein Bagels. We're also minutes from the sites and sounds of Georgetown, Old Town Alexandria and unbelievable shopping at The Fashion Centre at Pentagon City. Our hotel provides 34,300 sq. ft. of meeting space and 27 meeting rooms with an on-site business center and Hertz rental desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Marriott Crystal Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Crystal Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.