We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Marriott Crystal Gateway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Crystal Gateway

Save Saved
You added Marriott Crystal Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Crystal Gateway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved the Marriott Crystal Gateway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed here overnight while visiting DC for a concert at the 9:30 Club. The room was clean, modern, and the bed was GREAT! The room was quiet and we were glad that they have a checkout time of 12PM. The staff was all friendly and saw plenty of security on the property. Easy access to the metro and the $22.00 fee to park overnight was fine with us. Most places in DC charge crazy prices to park, so it was nice to be able to keep our car parked at the hotel while taking the metro to our destination. The metro can be confusing if you haven't been on it before, so be sure to figure out your route before you go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    301
    95
    25
    16
See reviews for
166
90
61
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

This was my second stay at this hotel, the first being for a convention last year, while this 5-night visit was purely recreational with my family. Positives: location. A Metro station is attached to the hotel, as is a small shopping mall with a few restaurants, a drug store, etc. Many, many restaurants are within a short walk from the hotel. We were able to get to all the attractions with a ten minute Metro ride. The service we received was outstanding in spite of the fact that the hotel was packed. Making the customer happy is definitely a priority at this hotel! The general manager was very visible and made a point to come up and speak with us on several occasions. She was excellent with our children as well as dealing with the hords of teenagers in the hotel for spring break. Value: outstanding. We bought the cherry blossom package and had an unbelievable breakfast bar and Internet in our room for a small additional charge. Negatives: We stayed during spring break/cherry blossom time so the hotel was packed with middle-school aged groups of students. The crowds in the lobby area, pool, and around the elevators were sometimes overwhelming. We left the pool on our first night due to crowds and noise and didn't want to return. Overall, this hotel was the perfect choice for a family vacation, 50 weeks of the year but I would look for a smaller place around the cherry blossom/spring break window.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed for three nights during a field trip to DC and I made reservations early enough to get an excellent rate. It could not have been a better experience. The room was clean and more than big enough. The breakfast buffet was outstanding with plenty of choices. The staff was friendly, efficient and very helpful. I look forward to staying there in the future!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Very nice hotel and very convenient to the DC area. The Metra can be accessed right from the hotel . They also have a free shuttle that takes you to the airport every 20 minuets. Thats the Reagan National airport. The hotel was clean ,the room I had was spacious and my reservation went perfect no problems to speak of. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The really nice thing about staying in Crystal City is they have many choices of places to eat for they are ajoined with a nice shopping center,called the Crystal shops. The area felt very safe .Also three blocks away on 23rd street, they have a cool neighborhood with sports bars and great restaurants,I would stay here again and again when in the D C area. Just a mention price was great too!

Room Tip: A lower floor room would be closer to pool and health club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We took a few days to check out DC with the kids and stayed in a standard double room at this Marriot. Loved the location where it has convenient access to the Metro and felt safe for walking at night. The room itself was clean with comfortable beds, cable tv and a nice street view. For the price it was a really good value. Only downside is the tired looking pool which is somewhat small since the exterior portion is closed until May. I am sure when the outside is available it is a much better experience. But the access to the Metro is really close- just down a long hall and through an interior mall type shop area. Very impressed with the Metro itself, which is really easy to use and clean/ safe. Only hassle was the tickets which didn't always seem to work in my case. With the Metro we were able to see most of the attractions/ monuments without the use of cabs. Would recommend checking out the Capitol's Representative's viewing panel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This was a business trip, to a conference held at the Marriott, and booked at least 6 months prior to event. Upon arrival, 10 pm, they told me it was overbooked, and the only room available was a room meant to be part of a suite.

That would not have been an issue, even if a queen sized bed was booked, if the bed was a "normal" one and not a murphy's bed. And most of all, if it wasn't broken. On top of that, since it was meant to be a adjoining room to a bedroom suite, there was a huge table in the middle of the room. Not a functioning one since one leg was broken off, and just left on top of a chair.

So at close to midnight, I am subjected to a broken bed, no table to work on , nothing they can do about it until the next day. They switched rooms the next day, compensated with free breakfast etc etc.

However, after a terrible night's sleep, and I"m not a teenager going to a legal conference, no desk to work on, the breakfast, somehow, didn't quite fill the bill. Let's say, at my age, I'm not sure I would want to ever attend any conference at the same hotel. And I have been going to this conference annually for many years.

Being a seasoned traveller, I know there are always a few vacant rooms for emergencies. This means the hotel was seriously overbooked, beyond statistically accepted norms. I'm not sure I would ever book at another Marriott Hotel . Once burned, I've learned.

Room Tip: No way to choose any room, never mind a good room if they seriously overbooked, with a reservation m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for many years but this is the first time I am submitting a review. I have had to take many trips to Washington, DC over the years and have pretty much always stayed at this property. The front desk staff is very welcoming and accommodating to any of your needs as soon as you arrive to check in. I am a Marriott Rewards member and have received upgrades on numerous occasions. The conference facilities are top notch, having numerous rooms for break out sessions as well as general business sessions for my group. The rooms are quite spacious, especially the bathrooms. There is always a nice selection of toiletries and the towels are quite fluffy. There is a nice desk area to work at and a very comfortable high back chair for computer or other desk work. The beds are especially comfortable and I always get a good night's sleep at this hotel. The bar area serves a limited menu but is well appointed and has tables, sofas, and several big screen televisions mounted on the walls. There is a nice restaurant on the second floor and the food is good but a bit pricey. There is a lounge for higher level Marriott Rewards members serving breakfast and light dinner fare in the evening. The view at night of downtown DC from this lounge on the 17th floor is really awesome. They have a nice gym and a beautiful pool that is open all year round. In the summer months the pool opens up so you can swim both inside and outside of the hotel in the open air. I have to say after staying at his hotel for over 15 years I have never had a bad experience. It is a bit pricey during the week, but Friday, Saturday, and Sunday rates are very reasonable. One of the best features of the location of this property is the fact the DC Metro Subway station is located directly beneath the hotel only minutes away from the front desk. This makes getting to downtown DC very convenient. There is also a huge underground mall with an entrance off the hotel lobby containing eateries and various shops of all kinds. The hotel is also only minutes away from National Airport and they provide a free shuttle service that runs every half hour. You may also take the Metro subway or taxi to the hotel from the airport in less than ten minutes. All in all, for business or pleasure the Marriott Crystal Gateway is a great place to stay while in Washington, DC.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of Washington, DC or National Airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Crystal Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Crystal Gateway

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Crystal Gateway 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Gateway Marriott offers an ideal location for vacations, business trips and weekend getaways. We are only one mile from Reagan National Airport and provide complimentary shuttle service to and from for our guests.The Crystal City underground can be accessed from our lobby offering direct access to the Metro system and a multitude of restaurants and shopping. Guests can also take advantage of complimentary WiFi in our lobby and multiple dining options within the hotel including Einstein Bagels. We're also minutes from the sites and sounds of Georgetown, Old Town Alexandria and unbelievable shopping at The Fashion Centre at Pentagon City. Our hotel provides 34,300 sq. ft. of meeting space and 27 meeting rooms with an on-site business center and Hertz rental desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marriott Crystal Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Crystal Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.