We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got married here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Gateway Marriott to your Saves list
Crystal Gateway Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We got married here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Great hotel....beautiful inside with its Marriott signature carpeting....and spacious halls for getting married and holding events/parties. We had a wedding with 250 people, and Arlington Grand Ballroom fit everyone quite nicely for the night.

Everyone was extremely professional. If you decide to hold an event or get married, choose the Marriott Crystal City Gateway. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Higher the better......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    357
    116
    31
    20
See reviews for
197
112
66
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The Crystal Gateway Marriott was our choice for a family trip to the DC metro area last August. Picked the hotel after extensive research between family who've lived in the area and online resources. Three front desk staff, our housekeeper, and the shuttle drivers really stood out for us in their levels of excellence, but honestly there seems to be a top-down culture driving great customer service across the hotel in general. The lobby is kept neatly, provides a very hospitable environment, and gives a lively yet controlled vibe that any world-traveler should enjoy. The hotel is connected through underground and clean walkways to myriad shops, restaurants, and entertainment venues. CGM is also connected to the Crystal City metro stop (yellow and blue lines) through these underground walkways, and that was an extra sweet thing during tropical storm Irene. It's maybe a five minute walk to that subway stop. CGM is one subway stop from DCA - Washington National Airport, but it's just as easy to take the hotel's shuttle. Moving around within a mile of the hotel is easy too because the Crystal Gateway Marriott front desk can arrange for transportation in the Residence Inn shuttle - so we got dropped off and picked up from the Pentagon City mall. Three of us shared a quiet room for 4 nights, two double beds, ample floor/counter/drawer/closet space, a granite-countered bathroom, shower with a hold-on safety bar, great water pressure, flat screen tv, a mini-fridge brought to the room at no extra charge, daily housekeeping. We also paid a discounted rate of $10.00/person for the most extensive buffet breakfast choice at Restaurant Mez (in the hotel) for 2 people for 2 weekend mornings. Everything listed totaled with taxes to about $615.00 - such a deal is highly unlikely in any other hotel of this quality in the DC metro area with close proximity to DC itself. Tips are a separate matter, and they were always accepted with thanks, which is an extra nice thing.

Tips:
1. You don't need a car to move around DC and its metro area. Btw, their subway system is called the Metro, and it is extensive. We found that an all day pass was a good value at $9.00 per person.
2. The Crystal Gateway Marriott is so close to everything D.C. that you can zip in and out of places and then not have a long hike back to far flung regions of VA or MD at the end of your day
3. CGM is next to another Marriott property, the Crystal City Marriott. Spent a little time in CCM because laundry machines at CGM were broken. CCM had great staff across the board too.
4. CGM staff were "on it" when it came to handling tropical storm Irene. Family and I were really impressed with CGM staff's poise and proactive efforts to keep guests informed and comfortable.
5. Only service animals are allowed to stay at CGM, and that's why I have my review marked as a "yes" for "pets allowed".

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I spent three nights at the Marriott Crystal Gateway -- which should not be confused with the Marriott Crystal City which is only a few block away -- during a recent business trip to DC. For the purposes of my visit, the hotel could have been perfect...it was located near Reagan National Airport, it has easy access to the Metro and is has several decent restaurants within walking distance. If I had had the time, I could have visited the nice indoor/outdoor pool and spa. The workout room was decently appointed.

My main critique of this hotel is the amount of effort put into making the lobby look good, but then it seems the guest rooms are an afterthought. The lobby was clean and well appointed with an open air design. A nice bar area had simple breakfast offerings (muffins, juice, etc.). An Einstein Bagels franchise was being installed in the lobby during my stay.

My room was on the 17th floor -- the top floor of the tower I stayed in. There are two towers of guestrooms. The first thing I noticed as I stepped off the elevator was the shabbiness of the carpet and the scrapes on the walls. This was only a hint of things to come.

As I opened the door to my room, I noticed a musty smell even though the air conditioning was going full blast. A look towards the ceiling told me everything I needed to know -- there was evidence of water damage and an amateurish attempt to repair it. There were large, black mildew stains. It was late, and I had just arrived after a long, trans-Atlantic flight, so I only wanted to go to sleep and decided I would bring it to the attention of management in the morning.

For me, the true test of a hotel's service ethic is what they do in response to an issue like this...do they immediately offer to change you into an upgraded room or some other compensation, or do they simply say they'll let the Engineering Department know about it? In this case it was the latter.

What is most obvious to me, is that the maid cleaning the room could not have missed this. It's takes more than a few days to get mildew stains like those I saw -- they simply didn't care. Other evidence of this was the mini-fridge that sat in the hallway during my entire stay.

I'll chalk up the room condition to being on the top floor of the hotel and the roof probably needs some work. Other rooms will likely not have this problem, but my sense is that the convenience and amenities of the hotel do not significantly outweigh the downside in service. There are several other properties in the immediate vicinity. Use them instead.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

This is a great location, one metro stop from Reagan airport. Once off the metro, easy walk in the underground of shops. Nice facility, close to many things. They also have a free airport shuttle from Reagan. I've stayed here many times and have always had a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed here for 4 days on business.

Pros: Nice rooms (with great view), good restaurant/bar, great location (near to metro and to a large range of restaurants)

Cons: All due to the sheer size of the hotel - Slow check-in, slow elevators, impersonal feel, expensive for the quality

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

A well located hotel with friendly, helpful staff, spacious, clean rooms, and very good conference facilities. The fitness centre is free for guests, as is intermittently available in room wireless internet. The only issue is the similarly named Marriott Crystal CITY hotel just around the corner, which may well be lovely too, but is no doubt the source of confusion amongst new arrivals. I would have no hesitation staying here again and highly recommend the hotel and the city itself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Very clean ... Staff was helpful and courteous ... It is situated on top of the Metro so getting around was nice ... a Mall is also underneath, so there are plenty of places to grab a quick bite to eat

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#17 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Gateway Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.