We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid Thai fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Bistro at Ballston

Bangkok Bistro at Ballston
715 N. Glebe Rd., (Restaurant entrance is on N. Glebe Rd.), Arlington, VA 22203
703-243-9669
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #32 of 653 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good solid Thai fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My friend had a Groupon for this place, but it would have been a good value even without that. We split the garden rolls (very large soft rolls) and each had an entree. Her tofu panang was good, but she wished she had asked for it with mixed veggies, since it was just the tofu in sauce. I shared my vegetarian pad thai, which did come with vegetables, so we were happy. We also got the mango and sticky rice dessert, which was really delicious. The bill was surprisingly small (even before the Groupon). The only thing I'd recommend is to ask for more of the salad dressing for the garden rolls instead of the sauce that comes with it, which was okay ... but the peanut-ginger (?) salad dressing was really wonderful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    36
    17
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration Freebie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We just had to take them up on their birthday promotion where the celebrant gets his meal for free -- well actually, we got $11 off the bill. Not bad. They start the meal with a free salad. We had the deep fried fish -- yummy for about $24 I think and it was much bigger and better than our other favorite Thai Square restaurant. Pad Thai was okay, and for appetizers we had the Tofu Tod -- deep fried tofu and dip it into their sauce. All good. We have been here before, on a Groupon Deal. And we liked the curry dishes as well. Though the Tom Yum soup was only ok, needed more kick to it.

Easy to visit, as there is parking in the building for just $1 in the evenings, or free if you an get street parking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Another great go-to for Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Ballston is changing since I first visited in the early 00's, but one thing hasn't changed. Great Thai food! My bf and I make it about 75% of our diet. This place is really good. I think we must have been Thai people in a previous life.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai at Great Prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the first time visiting Bangkok Bistro, and it lived up to the hype. We made reservations but found no tables available when we arrived. However, only a few minutes' wait and a table was created for us to the side of the regular dining area. Service was fantastic, the kitchen was efficient, the meals were authentic Thai, and the prices were a bargain.

We will definitely return for another visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“BB at Ballston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This Thai restaurant is a very nice, cozy but affordable price, clean and pleasant restaurant to go to if you are thinking of an authentic thai food to eat. From the owner/manager down to their staff, you'll feel welcome as soon as you come in the door. With all smiles they will seat you to the table. I had a very nice experience here with my friends and co-workers when we had a get together one Friday evening. The manager even gave us a free appetizer to start with. We really enjoyed the food and we had fun. My friends went home with smile on our face.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Bistro at Ballston also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Bistro at Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Bistro at Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.