We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid Thai fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Bistro at Ballston

Bangkok Bistro at Ballston
715 N. Glebe Rd., (Restaurant entrance is on N. Glebe Rd.), Arlington, VA 22203
703-243-9669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 692 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good solid Thai fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My friend had a Groupon for this place, but it would have been a good value even without that. We split the garden rolls (very large soft rolls) and each had an entree. Her tofu panang was good, but she wished she had asked for it with mixed veggies, since it was just the tofu in sauce. I shared my vegetarian pad thai, which did come with vegetables, so we were happy. We also got the mango and sticky rice dessert, which was really delicious. The bill was surprisingly small (even before the Groupon). The only thing I'd recommend is to ask for more of the salad dressing for the garden rolls instead of the sauce that comes with it, which was okay ... but the peanut-ginger (?) salad dressing was really wonderful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    20
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration Freebie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We just had to take them up on their birthday promotion where the celebrant gets his meal for free -- well actually, we got $11 off the bill. Not bad. They start the meal with a free salad. We had the deep fried fish -- yummy for about $24 I think and it was much bigger and better than our other favorite Thai Square restaurant. Pad Thai was okay, and for appetizers we had the Tofu Tod -- deep fried tofu and dip it into their sauce. All good. We have been here before, on a Groupon Deal. And we liked the curry dishes as well. Though the Tom Yum soup was only ok, needed more kick to it.

Easy to visit, as there is parking in the building for just $1 in the evenings, or free if you an get street parking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai at Great Prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the first time visiting Bangkok Bistro, and it lived up to the hype. We made reservations but found no tables available when we arrived. However, only a few minutes' wait and a table was created for us to the side of the regular dining area. Service was fantastic, the kitchen was efficient, the meals were authentic Thai, and the prices were a bargain.

We will definitely return for another visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“BB at Ballston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This Thai restaurant is a very nice, cozy but affordable price, clean and pleasant restaurant to go to if you are thinking of an authentic thai food to eat. From the owner/manager down to their staff, you'll feel welcome as soon as you come in the door. With all smiles they will seat you to the table. I had a very nice experience here with my friends and co-workers when we had a get together one Friday evening. The manager even gave us a free appetizer to start with. We really enjoyed the food and we had fun. My friends went home with smile on our face.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Virrginia, USA
1 review
“Excellent Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I went with my husband for my birtdhay to used their promotion, eat Free on your birthday. The service and the food was very good, The Drunken Noodle and Pad See Eeow were delicious, and the best of the best was my Desert (mango with sweet sticky rice). Thank you to BB@B

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Bistro at Ballston also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Bistro at Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Bistro at Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.