We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration Freebie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Bistro at Ballston

Bangkok Bistro at Ballston
715 N. Glebe Rd., (Restaurant entrance is on N. Glebe Rd.), Arlington, VA 22203
703-243-9669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 676 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration Freebie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We just had to take them up on their birthday promotion where the celebrant gets his meal for free -- well actually, we got $11 off the bill. Not bad. They start the meal with a free salad. We had the deep fried fish -- yummy for about $24 I think and it was much bigger and better than our other favorite Thai Square restaurant. Pad Thai was okay, and for appetizers we had the Tofu Tod -- deep fried tofu and dip it into their sauce. All good. We have been here before, on a Groupon Deal. And we liked the curry dishes as well. Though the Tom Yum soup was only ok, needed more kick to it.

Easy to visit, as there is parking in the building for just $1 in the evenings, or free if you an get street parking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    37
    18
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Another great go-to for Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Ballston is changing since I first visited in the early 00's, but one thing hasn't changed. Great Thai food! My bf and I make it about 75% of our diet. This place is really good. I think we must have been Thai people in a previous life.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai at Great Prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the first time visiting Bangkok Bistro, and it lived up to the hype. We made reservations but found no tables available when we arrived. However, only a few minutes' wait and a table was created for us to the side of the regular dining area. Service was fantastic, the kitchen was efficient, the meals were authentic Thai, and the prices were a bargain.

We will definitely return for another visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“BB at Ballston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This Thai restaurant is a very nice, cozy but affordable price, clean and pleasant restaurant to go to if you are thinking of an authentic thai food to eat. From the owner/manager down to their staff, you'll feel welcome as soon as you come in the door. With all smiles they will seat you to the table. I had a very nice experience here with my friends and co-workers when we had a get together one Friday evening. The manager even gave us a free appetizer to start with. We really enjoyed the food and we had fun. My friends went home with smile on our face.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Virrginia, USA
1 review
“Excellent Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I went with my husband for my birtdhay to used their promotion, eat Free on your birthday. The service and the food was very good, The Drunken Noodle and Pad See Eeow were delicious, and the best of the best was my Desert (mango with sweet sticky rice). Thank you to BB@B

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Bistro at Ballston also viewed

Been to Bangkok Bistro at Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Bistro at Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.