We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Bistro at Ballston

Bangkok Bistro at Ballston
715 N. Glebe Rd., (Restaurant entrance is on N. Glebe Rd.), Arlington, VA 22203
703-243-9669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 676 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I tried this in November 2012, using a Groupon deal. I tried three things: Citrus Tilapia, Pad Thai, and Pad See Eeow. The latter two dishes were good and very similar to other restaurants in the area at a competitive price -- wouldn't choose these dishes here over similar ones at Thai Kitchen, Suwatdee, Thai Noy or any of the other various Arlington Thai restaurants. However, the Tilapia was superb, with wonderful flavor (a little on the hot side) with vegetables prepared to perfection. I suspect based on just the three dishes tried, that the really outstanding dishes here are those that are an update from traditional Thai food. I will definitinely return to the restaurant again since food was good and prices were reasonable even without a Groupon deal. One note of caution -- sign is small, and this can be a little hard to find. It is not in Ballston mall but rather on Glebe road itself with entrance on Glebe Road -- in a row of various restaurants and other things. It is across from the Mazda dealership/Enterprise car rental if that helps (parking is a little tough -- some street parking across Glebe Road but watch for the zone signs because there are some limitations up until 8 pm).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    37
    18
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Welly Done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I got a Groupon deal for this restaurant and decided to try it out with a friend. The Garden Rolls were wonderful - a very light but satisfying appetizer. I ordered the Drunken Noodle with shrimp. The shrimp was cooked perfectly and the dish was spicy without being overpowering. My friend ordered a tofu curry dish (I don't remember which one). The tofu was cooked beautifully and flavored to perfection - I would have thought she was eating chicken. I'd definitely go back even without a coupon! It was worth every cent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roadtrip038
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great food everytime I visit, the food is always serve fast and with a smile. Chutima the bewst server ever.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
1 review
“Imitation Thai”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Beware. In this lovely imitation of a Thai restaurant, the decoration and the food look pretty but that's where it stops. Tom Ka Gai and Tom Yum Goong were lack lustre when they were fresh, and that was at least a few days ago. Tom Yum Goong had a veneer of rancid chili oil. Satay is frozen and reheated in a microwave--never saw a grill--and the sauce is out of a bottle. Papaya salad is several days old-the papaya was transluscent and tinged orange rather than fresh and green-and the crunch is long gone. Pad Pik Khing was doused with more of the same lack-lustre saucing and redolent with crushed red pepper from a bag. In all of this, not a single fresh pepper.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Really great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Really great place authentic and fresh good. Friendly service. We will definitely come back the next timer we aye on the DC Area

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Bistro at Ballston also viewed

Been to Bangkok Bistro at Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Bistro at Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.