We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exercise in anger management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 North Fort Myer Drive, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Roanoke, VA
1 review
“An exercise in anger management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

I read some other reviews about this Holiday Inn prior to staying here. One review explained the Hotel let them park their car there before check in so we decided to give this a try. We asked the staff if we could park our car until check in at 3:00 and they said that was no problem at all. Unfortunately when we arrived back at 3:00 for check in, we discovered they had our car towed. The man at the desk called the towing company immediately to bring our car back. We were without our car for over an hour however it was not damaged in the towing process. The staff explained someone probably saw us leave the hotel through the parking garage and didn't know we were guests. The hotel did not offer any compensation for the inconvenience of having our car wrongfully towed.
We stayed on the 9th floor and specifically asked for a room facing away from the construction. We were not close to the elevators so we did not hear the noise mentioned in other reviews. We did however hear plenty of planes until 10:00 at night. Not being from a city with a large airport, this was very noticeable to us. It may not bother others who are use to this.
The room was dated except for the flat panel TV. They must have replaced the pillows because they were not lumpy as we expected from reading other reviews. The bathroom is small but the sink outside the door was handy. The sliding glass doors did not close properly so the wind blew through our room and it was chilly. The metro was about a block away and the walk was easy. We found the best thing about the breakfast bar was the view and the staff was nice. The food left something to be desired.
I don't think we will be staying at this hotel again when we return to the D.C. area.

  • Liked — Location to metro
  • Disliked — Having our car towed
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    359
    152
    71
    39
See reviews for
299
186
68
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

We took the kids to DC for Spring Break and spent 4 nights at the Holiday Inn Rosslyn. After doing a lot of research and talking to friends that have been to DC, this hotel stood out as the best value for a family on a budget.

We paid $209/night which wasn't the cheapest we could find, but when you throw in the free parking and free breakfast for two adults and kids, the value was very good. Just make sure that you sign up for the Priority Club (free) before you book so you get the free breakfast and daily newspapers.

This definitely isn't a five star hotel and it was showing some signs of wear; however, the hotel was clean and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

The Metro is only two blocks and there are several fast food type restaurants within walking distance. The area is active at night and we felt safe walking to and from the Metro and dinner (even after dark). The kids also enjoyed the indoor pool after a long day of walking to all the sites.

If you are looking for a clean, reasonably priced hotel for the family in a convenient location, I would definitely recommend the Holiday Inn Rosslyn.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfort,ky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

Having lived in Virginia and visited the Metro DC area, I was familiar with this Holiday Inn. After I had moved to Kentucky, my Virginia friends were getting married in Chevy Chase, MD, and I was going to visit friends in Fairfax, VA, and then head south to Florida for a family Thanksgiving, so I needed a hotel that would be "centrally" located to everything with easy access for both driving and the DC subway (Metro). I booked online and got the room for $100/night, which is a huge bargain for the area, especially how good the accomodations were!

Ample free parking was at ground level inside the hotel, but I was there on a weekend a few days before T'giving, so it probably wasn't as crowded as it normally is during the week or on holidays. I wouldn't recommend bringing a trailer or anything larger than a standard-sized SUV, as you won't be able to negotiate the tight garage!

The staff was very friendly, and my room on the 12th floor was impeccably clean and had a great view of Georgetown. There was construction going on next door, but, as it was the weekend, there was no work being done, so I can't attest to the noise level. However, I saw jets from nearby Nat'l Airport flying directly over the hotel, and could barely hear it (I am *very* sensitive to noise!), so I imagine that the construction noise would have been minimal.

The only "down" side was the lack of good restaurants within a block or two of the hotel. There is a restaurant at the top of the hotel with a great view of DC, but it is expensive. So, during the times I wasn't with my friends, I ate at the local McDonald's, but would have preferred something more elaborate. Although a vast array of eateries on M Street in Georgetown is a short walk away, the traffic can be a harrowing experience for those with little kids or handicapped in tow (weekends are far calmer than weekdays).

  • Liked — Centrally located
  • Disliked — Lack of nearby restaurants or supermarkets/delis/etc
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

The free parking was great, but the Metro is a significant hike from the hotel and then a looong descent to that particular platform, so it's certainly not easy/quick to use. All the restaurants in the area were a long walk to get to. The hotel cafe was closed for construction and the 17th floor restaurant prices were way too high for the lower quality of food/service. It was always buffet style for every meal and they would run out of food and dishware, workmen varnished the wood walls while diners were eating (strong smell) and the hostess was eating a bowl of cereal at the entrance podium.

The elevators were very slow the days we were there.

The rooms were dated but clean. The bathroom door was flimsy and beat up. The mattresses were terrible. They felt very cheap, and without support. We asked for a rollaway bed because 2 people couldn't sleep in the same bed very comfortably and the rollaway was broken in many places. It took 3 calls to finally get it replaced.

We appreciated the free WIFI, the free parking, and the balcony. Ask for a view of the Potomac if you decide to stay there.

  • Liked — Free parking. Free WIFI.
  • Disliked — Metro and restaurant locations.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

Stayed here last week for $129 per night. Midweek rates at comparable hotels downtown were all well over $200 plus parking. For my money, I got a perfectly decent hotel. Nothing luxurious, just typical Holiday Inn. Room was decent size for my family of four, though the extra rollaway bed (free) did crowd things a bit. Bathroom was small, but there's an outside second sink and mirror. Again, basic amenities but clean and functional.

Bargain touches included free parking, which is almost nonexistent in DC. That alone saves about $25 per day compared to other hotels. Also free wi-fi throughout the hotel. I bought my first laptop the day before just to take advantage of this. Fast and easy. Flat panel TV in room was also nice.

For Priority Club members, full breakfast buffet is also included for your entire party. They give you a card at check-in showing which days you are there, and you just show the card to the restaurant host. Restaurant is on floor 17, with full views of the city (mostly Georgetown). Food includes scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon , sausage, corned beef hash, biscuits, sausage gravy, assorted breads and pastries (go for the chocolate croissants), oatmeal, cereals, fruit, and yogurt. They even overheard my kid ask me if there were any pancakes, and a waiter showed up soon after with a plate of them. We never even asked. Service was great. Priority Club is free, so join online before reserving your room and you'll get all the perks right away.

Factoring the free parking and breakfast for 4, this hotel saved me about $150 per night compared to similar hotels downtown. That's huge. Usually to save that much you have to stay in a dump or way out of town. As for location, it's a block away from the Rosslyn metro station, which is the first one outside the city. Hop on the blue or orange line, and you're at Foggy Bottom in 3 minutes, White House (McPherson Sq) in 6 minutes, and Smithsonian in 10 minutes. Add a little time for the incredibly long escalator at Rosslyn (2:24 top to bottom). You can also walk to Georgetown, just across the Key Bridge a block from the hotel.

  • Liked — Free parking, free breakfast, free wi-fi, good location, great rate
  • Disliked — Not luxurious, but hey, it's a Holiday Inn. Nothing to complain about.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

Great location just out of Washington but easy access via cab or tube. Food leaves a little t obe desired compared with what is available just across the bridge. But clean nice suite and friendly people.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

We booked a room with a king size bed. They gave us a room on the 15th floor. It was spacious with the balcony overlooking the Georgetown area and the Key Bridge. The view at night was impressive through the sliding doors. As indicated in another review, the sliding doors could use a cleaning but didn't really bother us.

There was in room coffee but the lack of counter space made making coffee a bit difficult. A greater inconvenience was that there was no ventilation in the bathroom.

For entertainment, the room had a 30+ inch wide screen LCD TV with many channels. Better than my TV at home.

Although there was construction next door to the hotel, our room did not face it. We didn't notice any noise from the construction what so ever.

The subway was just 1.5 blocks away. There is a small mall above the subway station with a drug/convenience store, coffee shop and restaurants. Mcdonalds and Burger King are across the street.

Our room price included breakfast, but only for one person. Having read other reviews, we decided to spent a few bucks at Mcdonalds instead.

The fitness centre and indoor pool looked great. I wished I remembered
to bring my swim trunks.

The front counter and lobby staff are friendly, except for one young lady.

I looked at many hotels in the DC area. This hotel offered the best value.

  • Liked — good value
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge

Address: 1900 North Fort Myer Drive, Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#28 Family Hotel in Arlington
#28 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Washington, DC and adjacent to historic Georgetown , the Holiday Inn Rosslyn at Key Bridge lies aside the Potomac River across from the Francis Scott Key Bridge. The hotel offers guests complimentary indoor parking, a Washington, DC hotel rarity; a fitness center ; wireless high-speed Internet ; an indoor pool ; as well as a business center. Enjoy the breathtaking view of the nation's capital from your own private balcony in one of our 307 guest rooms. Reagan National Airport , the Pentagon, Capitol Hill, and numerous shopping malls are within 3 miles of Holiday Inn Rosslyn. The Rosslyn Metro Station is less than 2 blocks away and gives travelers convenient access to all the major business and leisure destinations in the Washington, DC, Arlington and Crystal City areas. Visit the Smithsonian museums, White House, Washington Monument, Arlington National Cemetery, and Mount Vernon. After working or sightseeing, enjoy fine dining along with a spectacular panoramic view of Washington, DC, the Potomac River and the Rosslyn business district at the Vantage Point Rooftop Restaurant, where Kids Eat Free! Then unwind at the hotel's Point After Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Rosslyn Va
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.