We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Each year we have a better time than the last!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 North Fort Myer Drive, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Long Island, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Each year we have a better time than the last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Every year for Memorial Day weekend, my hubby and I stay at this hotel along with any number of couples that we may be traveling with. We participate in the Rolling Thunder motorcycle rally and run that takes place on Memorial Day (if you've never been to DC, go on a patriotic holiday like this, it's the only way to spend Memorial Day, and you will go home a forever patriot!!!). This is the largest rally each year in DC, and unarguably, the bikes are the loudest you'll ever bear witness to. The whole city rumbles. Nevertheless, the Holiday Inn staff are pleasant to EVERY patron, biker or not.
The Hotel itself is in a TERRIFIC location just over the Francis Scott Key Bridge from Georgetown--the hippest neighborhood in DC, and half of the hotel rooms have a beautiful view of the Potomac River from the balcony (be sure to request a river side room). If you're a biker, this location is excellent because it's right off of Route 66, down the road from Arlington National Cemetery and the Pentagon, not to mention the scenic George Washington Memorial Parkway as well as the lovely Rock Creek Parkway--both great rides!
The hotel has an indoor pool, and the top floor (great views!) restaurant is good with a big breakfast buffet (eggs, bacon, sausage, grits, oatmeal, toast, fruit, yogurt, granola...). BIG TIP: call ahead and sign up for Priority Club membership (free), and with that you'll build up points, but more importantly, you get FREE breakfast upstairs at the restaurant, and a discount on dinner. The service is friendly, food is good/great.
There is a subway nearby that will take you in to town and to the Pentagon, but I never used it, so I can't recommend it, but a friend did use it once and said it was clean and easy to follow.
The rooms are very clean, and many, if not most, have been recently renovated. We have had pleasant experiences here for the past 5 years in a row that we've chosen to stay here, and not to mention restful and comfortable sleep. Forget the pricy hotels downtown, this Holiday Inn is the proverbial most-bang-for-your-buck!

Room Tip: Sign up for Priority Club membership and also ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRosslyn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks so much for posting this review! We're happy to be your hotel of choice here, look forward to seeing you again!

Kindest Regards,

Holiday Inn Rosslyn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    456
    187
    78
    42
See reviews for
379
240
77
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

It's a Holiday Inn and you get what you expect. For some reason the hotel does not accept pre-payments by bank transfer making it awkward for those travelling without a credit card - yes there are still some people who do not have international cards.

Room Tip: Stay 13 nights and you get on the Executive Level with a view over the river - very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Yes, the location is awesome! Metro is right around the corner which makes an awesome base to explore DC without having to pay DC hotel price! Stayed on the weekends where the rate are way cheaper than weekdays. Golds Gym is right around the corner as well which was great since I can use my member Travel Pass. The hotel itself is old, nothing special really, the staff was okay. We got a room with balcony but it was under renovation so we couldnt enjoy the fresh air.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We arrived at the hotel around noon on July 4 and just hoped to park the car and store our luggage to check in later. We were extremely surprised and pleased when we were told that we could check in right away. The staff at the front desk provided us with a map of the immediate area that showed restaurants, stores and the Metro station (only about a block away). They also helped us with driving directions to the Air & Space Museum's Udvar-Hazy Center in Chantilly.
We stayed at this same hotel three years ago, and because of the good location and free parking, we booked again this year. The rooms are simple and clean. Since there were four of us staying in one room, we really appreciated the extra sink that was outside the bathroom. The beds must have been upgraded since our last visit, because they were much more comfortable than we remembered. The refrigerator and small safe in the rooms were very helpful. We especially enjoyed the hot breakfast at the top of the building each morning (free with Priority Club membership). The men on staff were wonderful and made us feel special each morning as they remembered our preferences and stopped to talk with us. The food was fresh and very good and the view of Georgetown, Arlington and D.C. was amazing!
We have been completely satisfied with our two separate stays at this hotel and will definitely return if we travel to the D.C. area again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Our family of 4 (kids are 17 and 13) stayed here July 15-20th for a sightseeing vacation of DC. The value (great breakfast, free parking) and location (close walk to Georgetown, short trip to Metro station with short rides into DC, great views) cannot be beat. The staff, particularly Betty, at the front desk, and Abdul, at breakfast, were VERY helpful and friendly. Thank you, both, for adding to our trip! Abdul is VERY nice to point out where things are from the restaurant views---and he remembers you each morning...REALLY enjoyed meeting him!
The rooms are dated but clean (a must-have for me!). We could have used a refrigerator in the room but made do with a cooler and the ice machine. btw, we were on the 7th floor, right next to the ice machine and elevators but it was never "too noisy." The separate sink helped speed up our time in the mornings.
We pulled into the parking deck on Friday morning, were allowed to check in early (was AWESOME to get a start on our day and not have to return to check in midday!) and our car did not move until we left Wednesday afternoon. Many restaurants and drug stores close by for conveniences...no need to drive anywhere...and I would advise against it anyway!
We had a WONDERFUL time and will definitely return to HI Rosslyn next time we're in DC!

Room Tip: Ask for preferences...front desk was really helpful to us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed at HI Key Bridge on July 8th and 9th, and we were very happy with our stay. I say that not because it's a really upscale or nice hotel (it's not, really), but because it had all of the essential things that we needed and came at a great price. This hotel is an excellent value in Rosslyn.

Me, my wife, and our 3 kids (ages 5, 4, and 2) stayed over the weekend to break up a long road trip and visit some of the DC museums and monuments. We were not disappointed.

What we liked:
1) Really good breakfast was included for HI Priority Club members. I don't stay at HI very often, but I do have a membership. It saved us a lot of money and time each morning, and the food was really good. Plus, the views from the restaurant are very nice.
2) Free parking. This is an outstanding benefit this close to the city.
3) Proximity to the Metro. Just a short walk!
4) Balcony. After putting our kids to bed at 8:30 each night, my wife and I could still hang out for a while. Free wifi, nice view of Georgetown, and a bottle of wine kept us entertained.
5) Cheap!!! Booked this for $79/nt on Travelocity as part of an early-booking promo. Since most hotels in this area are another $100 more per night, this place is an EXCELLENT value.

What I didn't like:
1) Things were a little dirty, honestly. The balcony was so dirty we had to wash our feet after each trip out there, and the room's chairs had obviously been kept out there for a while as well (I put it ours there myself for the evenings, mentioned above). It didn't bother me too much, but some people (including my wife) could have issues with it.
2) Staff at the front desk were very good for basic hotel functions (checking in/out). But, don't expect them to be helpful for anything out of the ordinary. We asked for info about bus transit to/from Georgetown (there's a circulator that runs right by the hotel for $1) and suggestions of places to eat (we enjoyed Pizzaria Paradiso), but the staff told us "We have no idea. We don't go there." I understand they aren't concierges, but suggestions of where to eat should be pretty standard local info in my opinion. There were other examples I could share, but this was the one that stood out most to me.

Overall, I was happy with our stay and would certainly recommend this hotel. Plan to do your own research ahead of time for dining, entertainment, and transit options, though. But, as stated, it had everything I was looking for and made our trip to DC very nice!

Room Tip: Guessing all the rooms are about the same, but we liked our river view. Ask for that if you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

On the face of things, a fairly typical HI, all a bit 'vanilla', nothing 'exceptional' but also nothing really to complain about... But overall, we rate this hotel as a very convenient location for a visit to DC; topped off by a surprisingly good restaurant; good food; friendly service and a GREAT view from the 17th floor looking out over the Potomac & Georgetown University. Our party of 3 ate there four times in our trip and enjoyed every single meal! 5 minute walk to Rosslyn metro and convenient access from the freeways also score on the 'convenience' front. FREE parking a definite bonus these days for a city location... No complaints from us...

Room Tip: Join the Priority Club scheme!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge

Address: 1900 North Fort Myer Drive, Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#21 Business Hotel in Arlington
#27 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Washington, DC and adjacent to historic Georgetown , the Holiday Inn Rosslyn at Key Bridge lies aside the Potomac River across from the Francis Scott Key Bridge. The hotel offers guests complimentary indoor parking, a Washington, DC hotel rarity; a fitness center ; wireless high-speed Internet ; an indoor pool ; as well as a business center. Enjoy the breathtaking view of the nation's capital from your own private balcony in one of our 307 guest rooms. Reagan National Airport , the Pentagon, Capitol Hill, and numerous shopping malls are within 3 miles of Holiday Inn Rosslyn. The Rosslyn Metro Station is less than 2 blocks away and gives travelers convenient access to all the major business and leisure destinations in the Washington, DC, Arlington and Crystal City areas. Visit the Smithsonian museums, White House, Washington Monument, Arlington National Cemetery, and Mount Vernon. After working or sightseeing, enjoy fine dining along with a spectacular panoramic view of Washington, DC, the Potomac River and the Rosslyn business district at the Vantage Point Rooftop Restaurant, where Kids Eat Free! Then unwind at the hotel's Point After Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Rosslyn Va
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.