We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza but shocked by the rude service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pupatella Neapolitan Pizzeria and Friggitoria

Pupatella Neapolitan Pizzeria and Friggitoria
5104 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA
571-312-7230
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 675 restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great pizza but shocked by the rude service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Second time here and the pizza is very good. I was brought the wrong pizza and the buy boy thought it was ok to tell me that I was wrong. I then brought the receipt to the cashier who also proceeded to tell me that that was what I told her was what I wanted....until I basically put the receipt under her nose. Seriously, the pizza is good, but please don't give me attitude when you are the ones who screwed up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    42
    29
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza in a casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Several friends had raved about the Neapolitan-style pizza at Pupatella. Being somewhat of a pizza connoisseur, I had to try it. My husband and I went there for an early dinner and ordered two pizzas (the menu recommends ordering one pizza per adult - but we each only ate half of ours). We got one Classica and one Buffata (no sauce) and they were delicious - very flavorful. We also ordered the arancini (fried risotto balls with eggplant, $4), which we recommend as an appetizer. The pizzas range in price from $9 to $15. The service is pretty basic: you order at the counter, find a table, and the wait staff brings your food. The restaurant also features gelato, which we'll have to try on our next visit. The restaurant is located in a nondescript neighborhood of Arlington that is mainly dominated by fast food and chain/strip mall eateries, but don't let that deter you. It's well worth the trip!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Terrific pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The pizza is top notch. We tried two different pizzas and they were both a 10/10. They even have a small, but mighty draft beer selection. Add a decent salad to that... And viola, one of the best pizza places in Northern Virginia.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pizza--Awful Parking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The pizza is wonderful--and delivered to your table FAST--but the parking is absurd. For some reason, taxies use their parking lot as a waiting area for cab. As a result, your best bet for parking is the Safeway Supermarket across the street (where they do not tow). Is the pizza worth it--heck yes!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Just like Italy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My son who lives near this little spot knew how much his Mom likes real Italian style pizza so he treated us last night for Morher's Day. Didn't care for the appetizer sampler we ordered (still don't know what it was), but the salads , pizza and Chianti were excellent. Other than being a bit overwhelmed by arugula on the salad and one of our pizzas, the place was we worth the trip. Four of us split the appetizer sampler, two full size salads, three pizzas, and a bottle of the house Chianti and all left satisfied and full.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pupatella Neapolitan Pizzeria and Friggitoria also viewed

 

Been to Pupatella Neapolitan Pizzeria and Friggitoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pupatella Neapolitan Pizzeria and Friggitoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.