We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you can.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Arlington/Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Days Inn Arlington/Washington DC to your Saves list
Days Inn Arlington/Washington DC
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Arlington Boulevard, Route 50 at Ft Myer, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Midland, Michigan, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid if you can.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stayed here with my family. We had a double bed. I shared my bed with my little sister and my parents had the other bed. When we went to check in the lobby smelled a little funky. We got our room key, and the front of the hotel looks a LOT better than the back, which is where we stayed. We were on the second floor, and when we got in, I could already tell this was not a very nice hotel. Our window didn't lock-good thing we were on the second floor. Our toilet had trouble flushing a couple times, and wouldn't flush for a few minutes. The bathrooms are outdated and look like they're from the 1950's, and not normal looking hotel-type bathrooms. VERY small. We had three girls in our group-so this was an issue. The bathroom seemed somewhat dirty though, but that may be because of the age.
They have wireless internet-which is a nice feature. Except when we plug our laptop cords in they fall right out of the socket, and not all of them are three pronged. The outlets would barely hold in my phone charger too.
The staff is very nice and helpful, and has a shuttle to the Metro area which is also a plus. You are very close to DC, but if you can, find a different hotel, even if you have to pay a bit more. We had to budget our money because we were also going to another city after DC.
The beds were okay, but the sheets didn't fit the bed, they were too small. I was scared I was going to have spiders crawl on me. We stayed four nights, and by the fourth night I got used to the hotel.
It's nice to sit outside at night if it is not too hot, there are a few guests always outside when I stayed there.
Overall, the hotel can use a lot of updates. Nice staff, but if you can, try to find somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Arlington/Washington DC, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear xKissingFire, Thank you for taking the time and consideration to let us know about the circumstances surrounding your recent visit to Days Inn. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconsistencies in service you experienced during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    37
    78
    75
    123
See reviews for
75
75
32
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I am trying to get my money back - a colleague used priceline and we have paid $700 for this disaster. We stayed for an hour after viewing three rooms. There was a special victim's unit police van in the parking lot, the windows wouldn't lock, there were burn marks in the furniture, the remote control was screwed down to the desk, people live there and smoke outside, cigarette butts fill half full cups of old beer on the patio, dark, dirty, horrendous smelling, PRICELINE SHOULD BE ASHAMED FOR "PARTNERING" WITH THIS MOTEL. I would much, much sooner sleep in my car.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Arlington/Washington DC, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear KCKC70, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

The staff is nice. The overall location is decent. The shuttle is convenient. But the smell in the lobby is overpowering. The restaurant is only open early in the morning. The beds didn't have a bottom sheet, just a reversed top sheet that didn't even cover the end of the bed. They reuse the shampoo bottles but leave the broken seal that says not to use if the seal is broken. The internet was consistently down. I was awakened by a screaming woman throwing a vial of crack cocaine (I kid you not) into the trash can outside my room before kicking that prostitute back out to the rainy streets.

Room Tip: The best room isn't that great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Arlington/Washington DC, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear derekmas10, Thank you for taking the time and consideration to let us know about the circumstances surrounding your recent visit to Days Inn. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconsistencies in service you experienced during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield,North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

The management was ready and willing to accommodate our requests and needs. The beds could be better. The air conditioner did not work.

Room Tip: Just ask to be moved
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Arlington/Washington DC, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear joanmckay, Thank You for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.
After arriving before check in, it seemed far too much effort to have our room ready early.
When we finally got checked in the room seemed reasonable, apart from the bathroom having random hair in the sink and bath.
No information was given to us about breakfast service times, we actually found out about it from our taxi driver when he dropped us back at the hotel.
One really good thing is that every hour the hotel runs a free shuttle to the closest metro station at Rosslyn, but they didn't tell us about it, it just happened that we were in the lobby on the hour.
No wifi available in the room, when questioned we were told to call the service provider ourselves, at our cost of phone call, which isnt much but being international travellers can add up, and don't think it is my job to fix the hotels problems?
There was one girl behind the desk that was very friendly, but apart from that the staff were uninviting and not very helpful.
would not recommend this hotel unless there is nothing else available

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Arlington/Washington DC, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Auscouple81, Thank you for taking the time and consideration to let us know about the circumstances surrounding your recent visit to Days Inn. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconsistencies in service you experienced during your stay. We can offer no excuse, but do want to reassure you that your concerns have been addressed with the appropriate members of our staff and steps have been taken to prevent recurrences of this nature in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

This hotel is ok- if its the only hotel you can get (like us!)
Its good for the money however when we first checked in we got given room 147- small and really unsafe facing the car park. We immediatly asked to be moved to a second floor room and had to pay $50 to upgrade. The room we got upgraded to was so much nicer- big bed , bigger shower. However eventhough it says free shuttle buses beware that the staff and shuttle bus driver don't speak much english. We waited for the shuttle bus 45 minutes and then it drove off without us. Costed roughly $10 for a cab from here to Rossyln metro.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Arlington/Washington DC, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear travel_k8_11, Thank You for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Coming from a third world country, it is probably understandable that I do not have much to rave and rant about. I however am not pleased that the rate I reserved a booking on in the net was not the rate I paid at arrival.

Plus people go out of their way to be really unhelpful - then again that is a reaction a black man soon gets used anywhere in the west, everyone expects you to beg or pull out a gun or infect them with meningitis or something

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Arlington/Washington DC, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear JustAnotherFace, Thank you for taking the time and consideration to let us know about the circumstances surrounding your recent visit to Days Inn. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconsistencies in service you experienced during your stay. We can offer no excuse, but do want to reassure you that your concerns have been addressed with the appropriate members of our staff and steps have been taken to prevent recurrences of this nature in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Arlington/Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Arlington/Washington DC

Address: 2201 Arlington Boulevard, Route 50 at Ft Myer, Arlington, VA 22201
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Arlington/Washington DC 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Arlington/Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Arlington/Washington Dc Hotel Arlington
Days Inn Washington Dc
Arlington Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Arlington/Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.