We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pizza in DC, FWIW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pete's New Haven Style Apizza

Pete's New Haven Style Apizza
3017 Clarendon Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201-2890
703-527-7383
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #185 of 755 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Description: This place just opened yesterday. It's the third Pete's in the DC area.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best pizza in DC, FWIW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Pete's has the best pizza crust in DC: crisp on the bottom, chewy on the inside, though not nearly as good as in New Haven or Naples. The plain cheese pizza is OK. The tomato sauce is good, but the cheese is too much of a thick, solid layer. The veggie slices (which seem to change from day to day) are inventive but hit or miss; they suffer from the common disease of piling too many things on at once. At lunch Pete's is super-convenient, since you order at the counter and your food comes quickly. The beer selection is very good, too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank shirleyotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Sat outside, nice tables in the sun or shade. Quick service. Excellent food. Salad was small for the price, but I guess most come here for the pizza, which did not disappoint, thin and crispy!! Another member in our party had a pasta dish and they said that was excellent as well. You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3girls7911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good pizza in Clarendon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The New Haven pizza is a variety of the so called neapolitan pizza; a thin crust pizza. Here the crust is crispy and tastes more like flatbread. They have a variety of fillings, all of them good. I love the chief's choice. The spinach salad, with crumbled goat cheese and pine nuts is excellent. I always go for the slices because they don't have small pizzas, which makes me lower a point on their rating because warmed up pizza is not as good as fresh from the oven.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M2C7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great for those with celiac disease and food allergies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This place has decent GF pizza and non-soy dairy free Daiya "cheese". Also good GF pasta with marinara sauce. Order though manager. Very kid friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieTootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsons, West Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tasty Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I had a "Down the Hill" specialty pizza. It had meatballs, sausage, black olives, peppers, mushrooms. and carmelized onions I like a little more cheese on my pizza, but overall it was very good. We shared a pistachio cannoli which was good also. Although they were very busy (Saturday night), it did not take long to get our food. You order at the counter and then the food is delivered to your table. You can eat either inside or outside. A very fine pizzeria!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pete's New Haven Style Apizza also viewed

 

Been to Pete's New Haven Style Apizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing