We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pizza in DC, FWIW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pete's New Haven Style Apizza

Pete's New Haven Style Apizza
3017 Clarendon Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201-2890
703-527-7383
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 686 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: This place just opened yesterday. It's the third Pete's in the DC area.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best pizza in DC, FWIW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Pete's has the best pizza crust in DC: crisp on the bottom, chewy on the inside, though not nearly as good as in New Haven or Naples. The plain cheese pizza is OK. The tomato sauce is good, but the cheese is too much of a thick, solid layer. The veggie slices (which seem to change from day to day) are inventive but hit or miss; they suffer from the common disease of piling too many things on at once. At lunch Pete's is super-convenient, since you order at the counter and your food comes quickly. The beer selection is very good, too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    24
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Sat outside, nice tables in the sun or shade. Quick service. Excellent food. Salad was small for the price, but I guess most come here for the pizza, which did not disappoint, thin and crispy!! Another member in our party had a pasta dish and they said that was excellent as well. You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good pizza in Clarendon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The New Haven pizza is a variety of the so called neapolitan pizza; a thin crust pizza. Here the crust is crispy and tastes more like flatbread. They have a variety of fillings, all of them good. I love the chief's choice. The spinach salad, with crumbled goat cheese and pine nuts is excellent. I always go for the slices because they don't have small pizzas, which makes me lower a point on their rating because warmed up pizza is not as good as fresh from the oven.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great for those with celiac disease and food allergies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place has decent GF pizza and non-soy dairy free Daiya "cheese". Also good GF pasta with marinara sauce. Order though manager. Very kid friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsons, West Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Tasty Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I had a "Down the Hill" specialty pizza. It had meatballs, sausage, black olives, peppers, mushrooms. and carmelized onions I like a little more cheese on my pizza, but overall it was very good. We shared a pistachio cannoli which was good also. Although they were very busy (Saturday night), it did not take long to get our food. You order at the counter and then the food is delivered to your table. You can eat either inside or outside. A very fine pizzeria!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pete's New Haven Style Apizza also viewed

 

Been to Pete's New Haven Style Apizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pete's New Haven Style Apizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.