We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza in Arlington!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pete's New Haven Style Apizza

Pete's New Haven Style Apizza
3017 Clarendon Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201-2890
703-527-7383
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 675 restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: This place just opened yesterday. It's the third Pete's in the DC area.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Best pizza in Arlington!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was thrilled to find New Haven-style pizza in Arlington. Real attention to quality of ingredients--they even cure their own meats! I can't speak to anything but the pizza because I'm single-minded once I'm there, but the desserts look terrific too. The people are wonderful and really connected to the community--bonus points.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    32
    24
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“I live near New Haven, CT This is the real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great pizza, good service, fast and friendly. Very excellent beer. My wife raved about her Panini. This is a seat yourself no-frill place but it is about the pizza not the table service. Place you order and they bring it to your table but you get your own drinks etc. We were there at 5 PM on a Saturday and it was starting to really pick up. I imagine by 9 PM it is crazy, but great pizza is why!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gluten Free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great pizza -both the regular for my wife and gluten free for me! The pizzas were excellent and last week on a warm spring night we ate outside!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A far cry from the REAL New Haven apizza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I lived in New Haven for 6 years and got spoiled on Modern Apizza (best pizza ever!). Then I moved to DC and suffered from apizza-nostalgia. So you can imagine how excited I was when I heard about New Haven Style Pizza in Arlington. Unfortunately, my excitement vanished with the first bite. Yes, Pete’ New Haven Style pizza has thin crust. That’s about all it has in common with the real New Haven pizza. I believe it was baked in a gas, not a brick oven, and tasted accordingly. How disappointing. It may by an OK pizza by DC standards, but no one who once tasted the real New Haven pizza would ever consider Pete’s New Haven Style pizza to be an acceptable substitute.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“No Ordinary Pizzza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Second time there in the pst 6 months. They have a nice choice of tasty combination pizzas. We're from NYC, and prefer our pizzas with an ultra thin crust, running with olive oil, and piping hot. That was not our experience at Pete's, but we were not disappointed because of the variety of toppings available. Plus they were still running their special winter pricing, so we got a good value. All in all, I have to say that it was worth the trip. The best part is that even though you order at the counter, they have a host who assigns you a table, and the staff brings the food to you. It was crowded, but they let us stay as long as liked so we didn't feel rushed. The place seems welcoming to families with young kids, and the parents managed the young ones so that we hardly noticed. The place was very accommodating with the strollers and all the other kid paraphernalia. The parking in the area is a bummer, but there are garages where you can get away for about $6. Otherwise, street parking is available at meters, and after 6 pm, certain residential streets open up for non-residents. Metrorail is another option if you don't drive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pete's New Haven Style Apizza also viewed

 

Been to Pete's New Haven Style Apizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pete's New Haven Style Apizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.