We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin crust pizza with pasta option as well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pete's New Haven Style Apizza

Pete's New Haven Style Apizza
3017 Clarendon Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201-2890
703-527-7383
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 685 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: This place just opened yesterday. It's the third Pete's in the DC area.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Thin crust pizza with pasta option as well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Three of us enjoyed dinner here. I thought the crust was a bit hard but my family liked it. Thin and crusty vs thick and oiled type. Very good beer wine soda choices too. Overall a good option vs chain pizza.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Really Good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After living outside NYC for the last 10 years, I didn't think I'd find quality pizza in the D.C. area, but Pete's New Haven Style Apizza proved me wrong. My family ordered the Pete's Original and the Staven and both received high marks all around. The crust was the only nit I could pick with Pete's - probably left in the oven just a little too long. While not exactly "burned", the crust was certainly "toasted", which led to a little less-than-chewy texture that I would prefer and find easily in NYC. The sauce, cheese, and toppings, however, were terrific. Excellent mix and balance of flavors and texture. I would definitely order pizza from Pete's again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Pizza I've Found Outside NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Having been born and raised in New York City, I miss easy access to good pizza. I haven't found any pizza in northern Virginia as good as what I grew up with, but Pete's is close. The best part of their pizza is the crust - it's crispy on the outside and light and airy on the inside. The sauce was pretty good as well - it tasted fresh and not like it just came out of a can. It's also the only place I've found in the DC area that has garlic on the tables as a condiment. I've only been there once, but I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Really really good pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Although the pizza prices are on the high side ($27 for a large), the pizza is delicious and fresh and the large pizza fed three of us easily.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“yummy in my tummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love pizza. Pete's uses the best ingredients and some of the best people working there. I love the specials offered, varied each month and/or seasonally. The pizzas are delicious and so are the desserts- I love the gelato and sorbetto selection. It's a little pricey for tight budgets, but it's totally worth the splurge...this is when your email subscriber specials come in handy. I love the Edge of the Woods..the eggplant is delish! It's not ever difficult to convince my co workers to buy a pie.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pete's New Haven Style Apizza also viewed

 

Been to Pete's New Haven Style Apizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pete's New Haven Style Apizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.