We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and fast, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lebanese Taverna - Pentagon Row

Lebanese Taverna - Pentagon Row
1101 South Joyce Street, Arlington, VA 22202
703-415-8681
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lebanese Taverna - Pentagon Row is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 693 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Army Navy Drive
Transit: Metro Pentagon City - blue and yellow lines
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good food and fast, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I came here with several colleagues for dinner on a Wednesday night. It was busy but our table was ready immediately (we had reservations). The waiter was great: good recommendations and quite engaging. We had grape leaves and hummus appetizers. I had shrimp arak for dinner which I thought was delicious. I would be pleased to dine here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Overall Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Nice atmosphere and the outdoor seating is great if the weather is right. The waiter was very attentive and helpful with his recommendations. Their menu had so many options and a great selection of gluten free dishes. The food was delicious. I like it when I can select several smaller dishes rather than one large entree, it feels like I'm getting much more and it's a great way to try new things. The cocktails were also very good. I will definitely return and would recommend it for others.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The food and service are wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have been to the Lebanese Taverna several times in recent months. It is a lovely experience. The baba ganoush is amazing, I hate eggplant, and I loved it anyway. The bread is always hot and fresh, and is wonderful with the aforementioned baba ganoush as well as the hummus.

Service is always lovely. We have been treated pleasantly, and are always welcomed. Our servers have always been aware of where we are in the meal, and making sure we need what we want. We have never been disappointed.

The only dessert we have had there is so good, we go back just for it. It is the molten lava cake with a schmir of home made marshmallow and pistachio ice cream. It is just wonderful, although we always wish for more of the marshmallow. Yummy!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“authentic great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Was surprised by the quality and authenticity of the food at what promised to be nothing more than a upscale urbanite chain restaurant. Several of us had the sampler plates which came with around 9 different dishes and was plenty of food. Each dish was really good ( I have a part Lebanese wife who loves to cook) and was real Lebanese style food. My wife had the lamb kabobs and she said they were well marinated and quite tasty. Décor is nice. Service was great. The waiter brought extra pita bread and sauces at no charge. Full bar and cocktail area that is very nice. If you are looking for upscale Lebanese food this is certainly worth a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you like Middle Eastern food you'll like this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had Ouzi with Stuffed Grape Leaves, Shwarma, and a White Pizza. Our drinks came with very flavorful freshly baked flat bread. The Ouzi had perfectly cooked lamb with a yogurt sauce on the side. Surprisingly the grape leaves were served hot. It was served over an earthly rice pilaf. The Shwarma was well flavored, not to redolent of onions, wrapped in the fresh flat bread. Unfortunately we ordered salad and instead were served fries (which were your average fries). The white pizza was interesting. Pickled vegetables were served on top (which didn't thrill my 13 year old son). Feta and herbs were used on the pizza. Very understated. We also had a Cave Kouroum, Petit Noir with our lamb dishes (very well suited) and a pomegranite lemonade for the son (he wasn't happy until the flavors were stirred together).

For dessert we had a trio of ice creams (vanilla/honey, pistacchio, and cardamom), all very good; as well as Creme Brulee with Roasted bananas and an lightly sweetened carob sauce; and warm sweet cheese tart, golden semolina crust, sesame seed biscuit. We were each happy with our choices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lebanese Taverna - Pentagon Row also viewed

 

Been to Lebanese Taverna - Pentagon Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lebanese Taverna - Pentagon Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.