We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad Memorial” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pentagon Memorial

Pentagon Memorial
1 Rotary road, Arlington, VA 22202
703 697-7351
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Pentagon Memorial like an insider
Top Rated
$69*
and up
Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour
Ranked #4 of 72 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sad Memorial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was very sad to see, especially as the first victim encountered was a small child!! It was very unusual - I've not seen anything similar before.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    131
    41
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Poignant memorial but could be so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were here unescorted and really needed a guide to explain some of the intricacies of what is being commemorated and how.
We stood and looked at the memorial and think we worked out the significance of some bits but it would have been nice to have someone explain stuff. The absence of written explanations, for example, I think makes this a bit of a missed opportunity. We were left to guess where the plane hit. It would have Ben good to have more info about the circumstances on the plane and on the ground.
It was scorching hot and perhaps consequentially pretty deserted. The drinking water supply was badly needed. :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The pride that the soldier takes in protecting this memorial and knowing all the names of those who were killed on 9/11 is an amazing tribute. The soldier tells how the book of names came about and a little piece of knowledge on each person. You really feel the overwhelming sense of loss there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Pentagon Memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A visit here is definitely worthwhile!!! A beautiful memorial that will bring you to silence and maybe tears! Do not miss it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Moving experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A must see and experience the feelings when you realize the sacrifices and losses of the 9/11 attack.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pentagon Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Pentagon Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pentagon Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.