We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poignant memorial but could be so much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pentagon Memorial

Pentagon Memorial
1 Rotary road, Arlington, VA 22202
703 697-7351
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$69*
and up
Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour
Ranked #5 of 40 Attractions in Arlington
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
Attraction details
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Poignant memorial but could be so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were here unescorted and really needed a guide to explain some of the intricacies of what is being commemorated and how.
We stood and looked at the memorial and think we worked out the significance of some bits but it would have been nice to have someone explain stuff. The absence of written explanations, for example, I think makes this a bit of a missed opportunity. We were left to guess where the plane hit. It would have Ben good to have more info about the circumstances on the plane and on the ground.
It was scorching hot and perhaps consequentially pretty deserted. The drinking water supply was badly needed. :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    114
    37
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hernando Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The pride that the soldier takes in protecting this memorial and knowing all the names of those who were killed on 9/11 is an amazing tribute. The soldier tells how the book of names came about and a little piece of knowledge on each person. You really feel the overwhelming sense of loss there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Pentagon Memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A visit here is definitely worthwhile!!! A beautiful memorial that will bring you to silence and maybe tears! Do not miss it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Moving experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A must see and experience the feelings when you realize the sacrifices and losses of the 9/11 attack.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhorne, pa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful and reflective”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have been to all 3 Memorial Crash sites from 9/11 and the Pentagon Memorial is the most reflective and meaningful of them all. This was my second visit and we did the cell phone narrative explanation, which was wonderful. I don't remember that from my visit 2 years ago. Every American should visit this Memorial

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pentagon Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Pentagon Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pentagon Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.