We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pentagon Memorial

Pentagon Memorial
1 Rotary road, Arlington, VA 22202
703 697-7351
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 35 attractions in Arlington
Type: Monuments/ Statues
Attraction Details
Hernando Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The pride that the soldier takes in protecting this memorial and knowing all the names of those who were killed on 9/11 is an amazing tribute. The soldier tells how the book of names came about and a little piece of knowledge on each person. You really feel the overwhelming sense of loss there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    95
    31
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburg, Kansas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pentagon Memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A visit here is definitely worthwhile!!! A beautiful memorial that will bring you to silence and maybe tears! Do not miss it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Moving experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A must see and experience the feelings when you realize the sacrifices and losses of the 9/11 attack.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhorne, pa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful and reflective”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have been to all 3 Memorial Crash sites from 9/11 and the Pentagon Memorial is the most reflective and meaningful of them all. This was my second visit and we did the cell phone narrative explanation, which was wonderful. I don't remember that from my visit 2 years ago. Every American should visit this Memorial

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This memorial to the victims of 9/11 is moving and calming at the same time. It is quite out of the way and bear in mind that if you are taking the subway from DC, you will still need to walk around the Pentagon (a LARGE building) to get to the memorial. In my opinion, it's worth the effort to get here. I highly recommend calling the phone number listed at the entrance to access the free audio guide as this greatly enhances the experience. There are benches representing the victims with flowing water under each one. The in-pointing benches represent the victims who were on the plane while the out-pointing benches represent the victims who where in the Pentagon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pentagon Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Pentagon Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pentagon Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pentagon Memorial to your Saves list