We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic brand new hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Summer Deal: 25% Off
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brickell, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic brand new hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I recently reserved three rooms at the Renaissance Arlington and chose se hotel due to the complimentary shuttle service from DCA. The staff was professional and attentive, we were able to check in as early as 10:00 A.M. and my special requests (even though they were many) were honored. On Saturday night the pool was invaded with kids so we were unable to utilize it, however the facilities were modern and very clean.

I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I'm so glad you decided to give us a try! We are always striving to deliver a stay that meets the expectations of our guests and I'm glad we were able to do so while you were here. Please don't hesitate to come back to see us the next time you're looking for a place to stay in the DC area. Thank you for submittng your review. I appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    129
    33
    15
    13
See reviews for
88
74
29
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea, Vermont, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I wasn't in a room with a view of the capitol building but I could see the Capital city. This hotel is clean and modern. Shuttle to/from DCA and metro runs every 20 minutes most of the day. Staff is friendly and helpful. There aren't a lot of attractions immediately surrounding the hotel but the shuttle will get you into the thick of things.
fitness room is larger than most, with a good selection of machines and 24 hour availability. I'm a Hilton diamond member so usually stay in that chain but Marriott is my second choice and this one is the equal of any Marriott.
Meeting rooms/conference center were well laid out and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I'm so glad you chose to stay with us, but would love to know what it would take to make our hotel, and the Marriott brand, your first choice. Please don't hesitate to come stay with us again the next time you're in the area and give us another chance to win you over for good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nts. From the moment we walked in I was impressed. This hotel has a super swanky boutique feel. You walk into the hotel and you are greeted with free internet access. The hotel restaurant has great food! The morning buffet is $18 pp free for kids. The bacon was the best!!! The rooms were great with plenty of extra towels. A short 10-15 trip to all of the attractions. Only downfall is the pool is so small. We loved this hotel and we will definitely stay here again. Literally across the street from Reagan Airport.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Perhaps the next time you come, you'll be able to take one of our complimentary bicycles out for a ride. There is a fantastic trail nearby and it would be another way you can take in the sights. Thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Everything about this hotel is perfect! From the beginning till the end. We found a great deal @ $279 for 3 nights. They do charge $26 for parking per night but its worth it. Would happily recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I am delighted that you found Renaissance Arlington Capital View to be perfect. I really appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your stay and I hope you will think of us again on your next trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

First off, the hotel has a LEED® Gold certification, and its environmentally friendly policies prompted my stay; both the interior and exterior designs are extremely avant-garde and trendy, creating a really posh but also warm, friendly atmosphere. The hotel is actually quite far from DC - fifteen to twenty minute drive without traffic or some fifteen minutes via metro. There are free shuttle buses from the hotel to the metro station and Reagan airport every twenty minutes or so. But the wait at the metro station can be quite long and exhausting especially after a whole day of walking, shopping, and sightseeing. Good thing is that there is a mall at the station - the Crystal City Shops, offering a wide range of dining and shopping options. Also the Pentagon City mall is not far away. There is buffet breakfast served at the lobby restaurant and the food is very delicious, and the Illy coffee bar is also a must-try. The hotel can be a little noisy at times because it's a quite popular location for a lot of conferences, weddings, reunions. Compared to most other hotels in the area I think the Renaissance is definitely worth the price, all the nights I've stayed at the rates are under $100 and if you're Marriott Gold member you can enjoy the executive lounge which is at the top floor, overlooking the city. The lounge has a staggering, panoramic view of the airport, parts of the city and the Potomac River.

Room Tip: City-view, high-floor rooms are the best in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View. We are thrilled that you decided to give us a try based on the fact that we are a LEED Gold certified property. We are always looking for ways to reduce, resuse, and recycle everything we use here at the hotel. It's amazing how much we have accomplished since we opened in 2011 and our efforts are paying off. We appreciate all of the wonderful comments and hope you will be coming back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed 7 nights on the 7th floor with a gorgeous view of the Potomac, Metro rail, Amtrak and planes departing from Reagan airport and this included a distant view of the Capitol dome. It was quiet and so clean! The only thing that was a slight disappointment was the dining choices are limited. On site dining is very expensive and nearest options are few and a significant walk (> mile) away.
Shuttle service to Metro stop Crystal City was great and helped these DC newbies navigate the area with no problem :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with other TripAdvisor users. We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you had a pleasant experience with us. I would like to share that there are several dining options within a few blocks (located on 23rd Street) and our complimentary shuttle makes a stop there. Hop on, hop off, you're good to go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newland, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I'm not sure why other people are complaining about the location and shuttle service. It is the PERFECT location for a DC trip and the shuttle service was very friendly and convenient, and usually on time. Then again, we was there for fourth of July weekend and I'm sure more people were using the shuttle because of an influx of people in the city. Even if the shuttle wasn't an option, they provide bikes and it would have been a short bike ride to the metro. I know that isn't everyone's thing but DC is a very bike friendly city.

Atmosphere was great. Staff was generally friendly. The only problem we had was someone barging in on us without announcing that they were about to come in. The bad thing is it was only 11am. Granted, we didn't have the DND sign up but this was still unacceptable.

The room was really great. Incredibly kept. I know this isn't an old hotel but it appeared brand new and was very comfortable. The only thing I was disappointed in was we didn't have a view. I am assuming only a small portion of the rooms actually have a "Capital View". Not a big deal, but it would have made the trip a lot better.

Overall, I felt it was a good value. We got the parking included rate which made it worth it. We saved on parking our whole weekend (rare for DC).

Room Tip: Watch out for "parking included rates". Will save you a lot of money!
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is equipped with bikes which is excellent, forward thinking.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View for your stay. I apologize for the interruption by the staff during your stay. I hope this incident will not keep you from coming back to see us again. I agree with you, we are a very bike friendly city, so perhaps the next time you come, you can take one of our bikes out for a spin. There are a lot of great trails nearby and the weather has been fabulous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.