We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Summer Deal: 25% Off
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
“Fabulous hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was @ the Renaissance 9/18 - 9/23 for a conference (GLM Summit). From our initial greeting from Richard when we disembarked from taxi to the entire staff @ front desk, we received superb customer service. Michael @ Front Desk assisted me with getting phone charged FedExed to my husband 9/19/13. His coworkers, Joey, Daniel, and Aye were also terrific. Aye assisted me with an early check-in on 9/19/13 and I felt like she indeed went above and beyond to coordinate this early check-in. The entire operation is classy and the staff makes their guests feel very valued and appreciated indeed. Choose Renaissance for future travels, whether business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We enjoyed having the GLM team on board with us in September and we hope that we'll be seeing all of you again. We have a great team of super stars at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View and they understand the importance of making each and every guest feel special. Thank you for taking the time to mention a handful of our superstars. They will appreciate the recognition and I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    140
    36
    15
    13
See reviews for
100
80
30
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed this new hotel in Crystal City. We were upgraded to a spacious one bedroom suite. Rooms were very modern, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet on Sunday morning (free for Marriott Gold elites). Walking distance to restaurants and bars in Crystal City. Free shuttle van to National Airport. Friendly service - would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let others know the perks of staying at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View. I am pleased that we were able to upgrade your stay and that you were able to take advantage of the breakfast buffet. We appreciate your business and it's always great to see our Gold Elite members. Please come back when you're ready for another weekend getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I booked the Marriott for a conference not expecting much. I actually looked into staying in a different hotel because of my negative impression of the Marriott but could not match the conference price. I was totally wrong about my impressions. The hotel is nice, clean. The rooms are spacious clean, in good repair. The room was QUIET, very important for me. The staff was friendly and outgoing, very willing to help. Location is great, walk to shops and restaurants. Free shuttle. Close to an awesome running trail.
A very pleasant surprise, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for giving us a chance to show you what Marriott has to offer especially when you stay at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and we're the newest in town. All I ask now is that you recommend us to friends and family and become a loyal fan whenever you're in the neighborhood. We'll be here to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for business and I have to say I would stay again. The front desk staff have been wonderful when I ask for restaurant recommendations. The bed was so comfortable. I always have a problem sleeping away from home but not here. The room had a coffee maker, fridge and microwave. It saved money on food. It also had a full sized blow dryer, not one of those attached to the wall kind with the short cord. Someone complained about noise in their review but I was here 6 days and I never heard one shower, tv, toilet flush or blow dryer. Even the traffic below was muffled out. The hotel is a short walk to restaurant row. Just about anything you want to eat is there but not a lot of fast food. They charge $16 a day to park. The parking garage is hard to maneuver because of some badly placed poles. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we'll be delighted to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean modern hotel. Newer hotel, nice workout room with a small pool. Good location about 1/2 mile from the metro, also the hotel offers a free shuttle from Reagan airport. My stay was very good, my only "complaint" would be is if you have a room that overlooks the airport, it is kind of loud, because on that side of the hotel is also the train, so you get airplane and train noise. But in my opinion the view far out ways the inconvenience of a little noise. You get a view of the capital and nice sunrises.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I appreciate the feedback you've given about your stay at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. I have to agree, the views from the east side of the hotel are pretty spectacular and offer all of the splendor of life in the DC city. It would be wonderful to see you again, so come on by when you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Previously we were frequent guests of this hotel but changed properties last year because of waning customer service. We tried this property again and were amazed by the improved service. Every staff member we met took obvious pride in his/her job and this hotel.Great service began at check in with the warm greeting by the amazing Austin. He and Joy greeted us every time we walked through the lobby. A new bellman Richard went out of his way to make us feel welcome.After our year hiatus from this hotel Mark greeted us by name when entering the concierge lounge! The concierge lounge is tidy and kept up properly at both breakfast and evening snack time . A better dessert selection would be appreciated.The property is modern,clean ,and well maintained. The afternoon happy hour is reasonably priced and fun.We are looking forward to our future stays at the Renaissance Capital View!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are so glad you came back to us! We have a fantastic team onboard at the Renaissance and we continually strive to create memorable experiences for each guest that stays with us. Thank you for mentioning some of our super stars here at the property. I will enjoy sharing your comments with all of them. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I ended up staying at this hotel for a conference that was actually at another hotel across the street, but that hotel was sold out so I booked a room at the Renaissance Capital View. And let me just say I'm so glad the other hotel was sold out because the Renaissance was one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. First of all we did have a capital view as well as a view of the airport, river, etc. It was lovely to watch the sun come up over the city. We did not hear any noise from planes taking off or landing. I was watching them, but couldn't really hear them. The bed was the nicest bed I've ever slept on. The sheets smelled so fresh and clean and the pillows were amazing! And the front desk could not have been more helpful. They kept our luggage while we attended the conference. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view. We were on the 11th floor facing the airport
See more room tips
Green Features: They provided a separate bag for recyclables. I think that's the first time I've seen this in a hotel.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We love it when guests discover us because of one reason or another and end up loving the end result! We appreciate all of the wonderful comments you made about our hotel and our staff and we are grateful that you took the time to share them with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#9 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City
Hyatt Regency Crystal City
#19 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.