We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall A Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #7 of 48 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Taylorsville, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overall A Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for a 3 nights over Labor Day weekend. We arrived late and valet attendants did an excellent job at assisting us in unpacking. We were stunned when walking into the lobby, very modern and over the top. The lady that checked us in was very welcoming and even offered to walk us to the elevator, which I thought was a nice touch.

We were upgraded to a room with a view of the airport/ Capital, which I recommend. The room was very spacious and very well decorated. The cleanliness of the room was great besides the dust on top of the headboard. Beds were comfortable with Simmons Beautyrest mattress and down duvet. The only negative with the beds is that the hotel website states that they had featherbeds which was not true, it was a thin cotton topper. I am a elite member with Marriott and this isn't the first time that this info has been mis stated on the website for a Marriott property. Not sure if this is the hotel responsibility or corporate but the issue needs to be address. Housekeeping did a great job and was very friendly.There was an issue with the coffee maker in one of my family's room on the second morning. It started smoking and appeared to be getting ready to catch on fire. They quickly unplugged it and everything was fine, but the smell that was left in the room was horrible. Front desk was able to get them switched to another room, but no compensation for the inconvenience.

The hotels restaurant Socci was great. We ate there for lunch and tried the breakfast buffet one morning. Also we ordered room service and it was delivered hot and fresh. I would definitely recommend eating at Socci.

The hotel offers a complementary shuttle with pick up and drop off at the metro station, this was very convenient for traveling into DC for site seeing. The lady driving in the morning was friendly and a safe driver. She offered us a map for the metro that was very helpful.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel. We will be sure to stay here next time we visit the DC area.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am also pleased to announce that since our communication via e-mail, we have been able to correct the information on our website so that it no longer lists featherbeds being avaialable in our guest rooms. We appreciate your thoughtfulness to let us know about the error and hope the next time your in the Crystal City area, you will remember us and come for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    104
    29
    13
    13
See reviews for
80
54
24
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend and enjoyed. Customer service, rooms, and fitness/pool where all very good. Kids enjoyed the indoor pool. Great lobby and bar area...restaurant is there but we ate out each night on the go. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
It makes us so happy when guests announce that they would stay with us again! Thank you for letting us take care of you and your family while you were in the DC area. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, NJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Beautiful hotel and comfortable stay. Decor is so modern and everything is so new. Excellent fitness room, small pool. 4 Apple computer stations set up in the lobby. Expensive dining room service, but there is a cafe Illy bar for a quick bite.

We had a tough time finding the hotel, but it is the right behind the Marriott courtyard on 27th street exit on the Jeff Davis highway. Not much to desire in terms of location, it is surrounded by other huge hotels and highways. Drive to 23rd street restaurant row for plenty of options.

They do have $24 daily parking fee, but it is negotiable - wierd!! I saw a parking sign across the street for $10 or $16, and I asked the front desk. They said they will match it, then since I am an elite member, they say they will give me free parking. Awesome!!!!!

The do have a shuttle to the capital city metro, but we did not use it. Driving into DC is soooooo convenient, maybe 10 min.

Room Tip: Ask for high floors facing the airport and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro,MD
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is simply beautiful. We stayed there overnight because we had an early flight out of National Airport and it is only 5 minutes away. The lobby is very big, with computers and a nice bar area. Lots of seating. The room gorgeous. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: High floors have nice views of Crystal City
See more room tips
Green Features: We were very impressed with the hotel's environmentally-friendly practices. The recycling and energy efficient products.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are the perfect hotel for anyone who has an early flight out of Reagan National. Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for submitting your review of the hotel on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is little over a year old And is a great addition to the Arlington area. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. The highlight of room has to be the walkin shower plenty room and great shower head. I think there shower is actual better shower thsn the JW which supose to be a touch better. There is a nice size exercise room as well as a in door pool. The pool is a little on the
small side so you won't able do any laps. The pool is also located
next to an outside deck area with seating. Great place to have drink and enjoy the outdoors. The staff is very attentive but there still seem to be some minor glitch that they are not sure to handle. They were apologetic but need to check supervisors to get it right. I tack this up to still being rather new. There is both Valet and self park make sure to remind the front desk that you self park so that they replace your ticket with one that allows you in and out privileges.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View. We appreciate guests who take the time to write about their experience and for adding details about the hotel that others should look for when they come. I'm glad you discovered the outdoor terrace next to the pool. It is a great place to enjoy peace and quiet, read a book, or sip a refreshing beverage. Perhaps on your next visit you will be abe to carve out a little time to discover our complimentary bikes and take in the views of the local area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed at the Renaissance for a conference with about 600 attendees. After staying at other hotels in the area, my expectations were low. Boy, was this place a wonderful surprise! The staff bent over backwards for us. The rooms were stunning-with very comfy beds, well-lit spaces and QUIET interiors. The conference rooms were comfortable, easy to navigate and beautifully decorated. Finally, the entire fun atmosphere of the place really lifted the mood of everyone there. The hotel is a little far from the metro, but they have a great shuttle service for people who want to get to the station without a long walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
It is amazing how many loyal guests return to the Renaissance Arlington Capital View following a conference at our hotel. While attendees may not have much of a say when it comes to where a conference is held, they do have a choice as to where they stay when they are here visiting on their own time. We understand that if we want guests to return, we need to WOW them with a great first impression. I am thrilled that our first impression has inspired you to return! We look forward to seeing you again in Crystal City. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great hotel. It was clean, new and in a terrific location that was convenient to restaurants, shops, the Metro and Reagan National Airport. The staff at all levels were extremely helpful and friendly.
We stayed in a suite on the 8th floor overlooking the airport. If we looked far to the left, we could see the dome of the Capitol Building. Some reviewers have complained about the train noise since the tracks are right across the street from the property. We could hear them, especially the AmTrak and freight trains, but we weren't disturbed by it. From our room we also had a great view of the airport. It was fun to see the planes taking off and landing. Noise was not a problem there either. One night we had a terrific view of lightning over the city.
The hotel runs a shuttle every 20 minutes that takes you into Crystal City and to the Metro. There is a nice bar and restaurant in the hotel. We were there for a conference. The meeting rooms were well-appointed. The staff kept coffee, tea and snacks available. There were small outdoor terraces available on several levels that were pleasant places to be outside to read or talk.
We parked underneath the hotel-again very convenient and reasonable cost.
Our suite was lovely. There were two closets, refrigerator, 2 TV's, a large walk-in shower, separate living and sleeping areas. There is a good size workout room and a small indoor pool. We were very comfortable there. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Suites on higher floors facing the airport have more room, less noise and better views.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel does provide a bag for recyclables. The green roof garden on the same level as the pool is great.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel. I am delighted that you were able to discover so many different aspects of the hotel including the meeting spaces, the restaurant and lounge, the pool area, and the outdoor terraces. We feel we have something to offer our guests that is unique in the DC area and I'm certain your review and recommendations will entice others to come see what we're all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the center of convenience and luxury at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel and rethink what you know about staying in Northern Virginia. Carving a modern outline in the Crystal City skyline, our hotel is designed to be LEED-certified and boasts award-winning architecture inspired by motion and enhanced by light and texture, which allows us to create an organic and dynamic experience for all of our guests.We are located just minutes from the landmarks, corporate offices and government agencies of the capital area. Reagan National Airport is less than 1 mile away and we offer free shuttle service to and from the airport and closest Metro stop. Travelers can also tour the neighborhood with our in-house bicycles available to guests at no cost.SOCCi Kitchen + Bar serves a handcrafted Italian menu and hosts live entertainment acts each week. Espressamente illy Cafe is right in our lobby as well for cappuccinos and take-away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.