We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend and enjoyed. Customer service, rooms, and fitness/pool where all very good. Kids enjoyed the indoor pool. Great lobby and bar area...restaurant is there but we ate out each night on the go. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
It makes us so happy when guests announce that they would stay with us again! Thank you for letting us take care of you and your family while you were in the DC area. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    127
    33
    15
    13
See reviews for
87
73
29
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, NJ
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Beautiful hotel and comfortable stay. Decor is so modern and everything is so new. Excellent fitness room, small pool. 4 Apple computer stations set up in the lobby. Expensive dining room service, but there is a cafe Illy bar for a quick bite.

We had a tough time finding the hotel, but it is the right behind the Marriott courtyard on 27th street exit on the Jeff Davis highway. Not much to desire in terms of location, it is surrounded by other huge hotels and highways. Drive to 23rd street restaurant row for plenty of options.

They do have $24 daily parking fee, but it is negotiable - wierd!! I saw a parking sign across the street for $10 or $16, and I asked the front desk. They said they will match it, then since I am an elite member, they say they will give me free parking. Awesome!!!!!

The do have a shuttle to the capital city metro, but we did not use it. Driving into DC is soooooo convenient, maybe 10 min.

Room Tip: Ask for high floors facing the airport and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro,MD
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is simply beautiful. We stayed there overnight because we had an early flight out of National Airport and it is only 5 minutes away. The lobby is very big, with computers and a nice bar area. Lots of seating. The room gorgeous. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: High floors have nice views of Crystal City
See more room tips
Green Features: We were very impressed with the hotel's environmentally-friendly practices. The recycling and energy efficient products.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are the perfect hotel for anyone who has an early flight out of Reagan National. Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for submitting your review of the hotel on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is little over a year old And is a great addition to the Arlington area. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. The highlight of room has to be the walkin shower plenty room and great shower head. I think there shower is actual better shower thsn the JW which supose to be a touch better. There is a nice size exercise room as well as a in door pool. The pool is a little on the
small side so you won't able do any laps. The pool is also located
next to an outside deck area with seating. Great place to have drink and enjoy the outdoors. The staff is very attentive but there still seem to be some minor glitch that they are not sure to handle. They were apologetic but need to check supervisors to get it right. I tack this up to still being rather new. There is both Valet and self park make sure to remind the front desk that you self park so that they replace your ticket with one that allows you in and out privileges.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View. We appreciate guests who take the time to write about their experience and for adding details about the hotel that others should look for when they come. I'm glad you discovered the outdoor terrace next to the pool. It is a great place to enjoy peace and quiet, read a book, or sip a refreshing beverage. Perhaps on your next visit you will be abe to carve out a little time to discover our complimentary bikes and take in the views of the local area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed at the Renaissance for a conference with about 600 attendees. After staying at other hotels in the area, my expectations were low. Boy, was this place a wonderful surprise! The staff bent over backwards for us. The rooms were stunning-with very comfy beds, well-lit spaces and QUIET interiors. The conference rooms were comfortable, easy to navigate and beautifully decorated. Finally, the entire fun atmosphere of the place really lifted the mood of everyone there. The hotel is a little far from the metro, but they have a great shuttle service for people who want to get to the station without a long walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
It is amazing how many loyal guests return to the Renaissance Arlington Capital View following a conference at our hotel. While attendees may not have much of a say when it comes to where a conference is held, they do have a choice as to where they stay when they are here visiting on their own time. We understand that if we want guests to return, we need to WOW them with a great first impression. I am thrilled that our first impression has inspired you to return! We look forward to seeing you again in Crystal City. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great hotel. It was clean, new and in a terrific location that was convenient to restaurants, shops, the Metro and Reagan National Airport. The staff at all levels were extremely helpful and friendly.
We stayed in a suite on the 8th floor overlooking the airport. If we looked far to the left, we could see the dome of the Capitol Building. Some reviewers have complained about the train noise since the tracks are right across the street from the property. We could hear them, especially the AmTrak and freight trains, but we weren't disturbed by it. From our room we also had a great view of the airport. It was fun to see the planes taking off and landing. Noise was not a problem there either. One night we had a terrific view of lightning over the city.
The hotel runs a shuttle every 20 minutes that takes you into Crystal City and to the Metro. There is a nice bar and restaurant in the hotel. We were there for a conference. The meeting rooms were well-appointed. The staff kept coffee, tea and snacks available. There were small outdoor terraces available on several levels that were pleasant places to be outside to read or talk.
We parked underneath the hotel-again very convenient and reasonable cost.
Our suite was lovely. There were two closets, refrigerator, 2 TV's, a large walk-in shower, separate living and sleeping areas. There is a good size workout room and a small indoor pool. We were very comfortable there. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Suites on higher floors facing the airport have more room, less noise and better views.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel does provide a bag for recyclables. The green roof garden on the same level as the pool is great.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel. I am delighted that you were able to discover so many different aspects of the hotel including the meeting spaces, the restaurant and lounge, the pool area, and the outdoor terraces. We feel we have something to offer our guests that is unique in the DC area and I'm certain your review and recommendations will entice others to come see what we're all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a hipster nyc hotel in crystal city virginia. Very close to reagan national, 5 min. drive or take the shuttle that runs every 20 min. Very friendly staff and nice modern lobby. There is an illy coffe shop in the lobby but it closes too early at 6pm. The rooms were spacious and clean with nice showers and plenty of tv channels. Its a short walk to plenty of restaurants and shopping. Self parking in the garage was pretty fair at 24$ a night and i got a great rate for the room on priceline. Highly reccomend this hotel and i will be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for highly recommending us to others in your review and for pointing out some of the great features of our hotel. We provide an atmosphere that sets us apart from other hotels in the DC area and our friendly guest service makes us uniquely Renaissance. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to express your views on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.