We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hone Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful hone Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great hotel. It was clean, new and in a terrific location that was convenient to restaurants, shops, the Metro and Reagan National Airport. The staff at all levels were extremely helpful and friendly.
We stayed in a suite on the 8th floor overlooking the airport. If we looked far to the left, we could see the dome of the Capitol Building. Some reviewers have complained about the train noise since the tracks are right across the street from the property. We could hear them, especially the AmTrak and freight trains, but we weren't disturbed by it. From our room we also had a great view of the airport. It was fun to see the planes taking off and landing. Noise was not a problem there either. One night we had a terrific view of lightning over the city.
The hotel runs a shuttle every 20 minutes that takes you into Crystal City and to the Metro. There is a nice bar and restaurant in the hotel. We were there for a conference. The meeting rooms were well-appointed. The staff kept coffee, tea and snacks available. There were small outdoor terraces available on several levels that were pleasant places to be outside to read or talk.
We parked underneath the hotel-again very convenient and reasonable cost.
Our suite was lovely. There were two closets, refrigerator, 2 TV's, a large walk-in shower, separate living and sleeping areas. There is a good size workout room and a small indoor pool. We were very comfortable there. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Suites on higher floors facing the airport have more room, less noise and better views.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel does provide a bag for recyclables. The green roof garden on the same level as the pool is great.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel. I am delighted that you were able to discover so many different aspects of the hotel including the meeting spaces, the restaurant and lounge, the pool area, and the outdoor terraces. We feel we have something to offer our guests that is unique in the DC area and I'm certain your review and recommendations will entice others to come see what we're all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    110
    30
    13
    13
See reviews for
84
63
27
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a hipster nyc hotel in crystal city virginia. Very close to reagan national, 5 min. drive or take the shuttle that runs every 20 min. Very friendly staff and nice modern lobby. There is an illy coffe shop in the lobby but it closes too early at 6pm. The rooms were spacious and clean with nice showers and plenty of tv channels. Its a short walk to plenty of restaurants and shopping. Self parking in the garage was pretty fair at 24$ a night and i got a great rate for the room on priceline. Highly reccomend this hotel and i will be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for highly recommending us to others in your review and for pointing out some of the great features of our hotel. We provide an atmosphere that sets us apart from other hotels in the DC area and our friendly guest service makes us uniquely Renaissance. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to express your views on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

From check-in to check-out, this business week long stay at this ultra-modern (Mon-Fri) was EXCEPTIONAL. I travel a lot in my job, so staying in "not just another business hotel" can be a treat. THIS hotel is worth the stay ! Efficient, CLEAN, and HELPFUL in all the basic things needed when one is "on the road". The gentlemen who are the bellmen out front are eager to help you EASILY get ---- a Limo, a Taxi or the FREE shuttle and SAFE shuttle to President Reagan National Airport (DCA) or the Crystal City METRO. The neighborhood is safe and some GREAT restaurants are within an easy stroll from the hotel. Around the same area, other big chain hotels are present, but I recommend staying at this Renaissance. Period. The other guests were interesting, as well.

For those of you who travel once or often to Northern Virginia and want GREAT lodging --- STAY HERE !

Room Tip: Pay for an Upgrade to have a "Capitol View"---worth every US Dollar you pay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View for your stay. We're glad you like the "vibe" of the hotel and that you will continue to come back to see us when you need a place to stay in the city. We appreciate your recommendation to other TripAdvisor users and we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Everything was great; the service in the restaurant, registration, etc. The food was very good as well. There is a fridge in the room-which most high-end hotels don't offer. The roof-top garden is nice change of view versus concrete buildings. Reasonably-priced by DC standards. It was a delight.

Room Tip: Views are the roof-top garden or the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We are proud that you have chosen us to be your favorite hotel in the DC area. Thank you for letting others know about some of the characteristics of our hotel that makes us uniquely Renaissance. We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you check into this hotel in the evening, you feel like you're in a New York City boutique hotel, or even a night club that happens to have airport shuttle service. It has a very trendy feel without being pretentious. You won't think you're at a Marriott. However, when you check out in the morning, this feels much more like a regular hotel. It's like having 2 hotels in 1.

The room had a nice modern layout. The shower was terrific. I also really liked all of the counter space that comfortably held toiletries for 2 people. There was also an extra shelf under the sink to hold more items which really came in handy.

Breakfast is served in the hotel's restaurant called Socci. This is a very interesting setting where steam punk meets art deco. The buffet was very tasty. The complimentary mini-smoothie at the beginning of breakfast was a pleasant surprise and a nice way to start the meal.

In addition to the airport shuttle which runs every 20 minutes (National-Reagan airport is about 5 minutes away) this hotel also runs a shuttle to the Crystal City Shopping Center. We really enjoyed staying here and we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your "experiences" at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel and that you'll be back to visit again. Your feedback is appreciated very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Best hotel in the area, from my exploration -- it's updated and clean, and the staff is very attentive. Had the room service soup - fast delivery, tasted good at the late hour. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Got a room far from the elevator for most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We appreciate your business and thank you for letting others know that the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel is the choice hotel for their DC area stay. We would be grateful for a return visit should you ever come by this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel next to DCA. Bright, airy, with a great view from the upper floors. Clean rooms and comfortable beds and a good sized fitness center. Wonderful staff; Amy in the Club lounge went above and beyond after a long day of travel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View for your stay. We appreciate your comments and will be sure to pass along your compliments to Amy. I'm sure it will make her day. Please think of us for another stay whenever you're in the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the center of convenience and luxury at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel and rethink what you know about staying in Northern Virginia. Carving a modern outline in the Crystal City skyline, our hotel is designed to be LEED-certified and boasts award-winning architecture inspired by motion and enhanced by light and texture, which allows us to create an organic and dynamic experience for all of our guests.We are located just minutes from the landmarks, corporate offices and government agencies of the capital area. Reagan National Airport is less than 1 mile away and we offer free shuttle service to and from the airport and closest Metro stop. Travelers can also tour the neighborhood with our in-house bicycles available to guests at no cost.SOCCi Kitchen + Bar serves a handcrafted Italian menu and hosts live entertainment acts each week. Espressamente illy Cafe is right in our lobby as well for cappuccinos and take-away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.