We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I attended a conference for two nights and traveled alone. The hotel was clean, safe, and the staff was extremely friendly. The parking garage has designated parking near the elevators for my hybrid car. Bathroom amenities and bathrobe were a nice touch. A hotel safe located in the room. The brief walk to nearby restaurants had plenty of options in terms of type of food and pricing. I would stay again!

Room Tip: I was on 12th floor and could still hear some sirens. Suggest an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I am pleased that your conference allowed us a chance to show you what we're all about here at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View. We have a tremendous team onboard, waiting to greet our guests upon arrival and eager to start them on their discovery of all things Renaissance. We are very proud of our hotel and it shows. We can't wait for your next visit with us. Thank you for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    124
    33
    15
    13
See reviews for
87
72
29
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is quite new and is beautiful. Obviously, a great deal of thought went into building this hotel. Everything about it is beautiful - very cohesive decor, beautiful vignettes everywhere you look. The staff are very friendly, courteous and helpful. The rooms are very nice. There is a very nice green space you can see from some rooms and several nice terraces.

We were 5 minutes from the airport and a 15 minute cab ride (in heavy traffic) from all the museums.

I attended a conference there and the food and service was very good. Also room prices are quite reasonable. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have good views, so ask for one at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let others know about the Renaissance Arlington Capital View. Our hotel was created for the guest who likes to discover new things and, as you mentioned, the hotel has numerous outdoor terraces to relax and unwind after a long day of conference meetings. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and ask that you please recommend us to family and friends who will be visiting the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed here the weekend of the 21st of June, when I had problems with my original reservation at the Marriott Crystal Gateway around the corner, so I transferred reservations here...it is a new hotel, its more for singles and couples than for families. Pool was super small, but gym was one of the biggest I've seen in a Marriott, the rooms were nice and clean, bathrooms were clean with a lot of amenities to use. We didn't try any food in restaurant because prices were really high. They have valet parking but we did not utilize because I believe it was almost $30 a day. We found parking on the street, free after 6pm. There is also parking passed the hotel on street if you are lucky to snag one, we were fortunate to at least twice during our stay! Overall, I would stay here again just because it is a new hotel and the staff was super friendly!

Room Tip: Don't stay near elevator, my floor had an awful smell coming from that area...elevators are slow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking the time to let others know about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we will address your comments regarding the elevators. The staff looks forward to welcoming you back for another stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I love this hotel. It's brand new and gorgeous. Bathrooms, rooms, common areas, all immaculate and wonderful. Keep it up! Shuttle to DCA starts really early too. Not right ontop of restaurants and bars, but a 10 min walk up Crystal Drive, safe area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your stay. We're delighted that you "love" our hotel and everything we have to offer. We like to think of the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel as the "gem" of Crystal City and we hope you will recommend us to family and friends. We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

When we made our reservation we requested a two-bed room. When no two-bed rooms were available we requested a rollaway. We were informed that the policy is rollaways are available on a first-come basis. Fair enough, no problem. When we checked-in, right around 3 p.m., the desk clerk actually offered us a rollaway as he saw our original room request; we gratefully accepted. At 5 p.m. we were ready to go out for the evening but the rollaway had not yet arrived. We called the desk to get a status report and were told they would check on it. When we returned at 11 p.m. there was no rollaway in the room. This time when we called the desk they informed us there were no more rollaways available. As we stay in some level of Marriott hotel enough to maintain a silver Marriott Rewards card, we know this is atypical and subpar. Also, while the amenities in the bathroom were nice, the lotion was open and about 2/3 used. The mattress was comfortable, and the room and the common areas were clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I can certainly understand your frustration for not receiving the room type you had requested and then to have been offered a solution that we did not follow through with. I sincerely apologize for the guest service failure and I have discussed this review with our team so that we are better prepared to provide expected services with our guests from this point on. I hope that you will consider us for a future stay. We would appreciate your repeat business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

First of all when we arrived, my family was very tired after driving for over seven hours. The valet wanted us to pull the car all the way over so I left it where it was because there was no room where he wanted it. I want to mention that I was in a car accident a few weeks before and I told the valet when we checked out it was the same one and he opened the passenger door which caused it to almost fall off. When we went, to go through the door it got stuck. The hotel staff was alerted but it took them a while to respond. When we finally checked in the staff was very nice guiding us to where we needed to go for our appointment at CUA. The first night was no great shakes. We had set a wake up call at 6:15 it went off going off at 8:15 we missed the appointment at CUA. The club lounge staff forced us out so the staff could have drinks. We then decided to go to the pool, they were laughing at us when we went because we had on Speedo. Then when we were told the pool was closed for cleaning it was 5 minutes at first then 20 then 45 we decided not to wait. The staff had the gall to laugh at us again and then point. We then decided to go for dinner at the resturant we were standing for 15 minutes without seating and once we were they said we are busy when it was empty. The waiter brought us water but by the time he came back from sitting down ad socializing with other guests we had the sense to leave. It said that a movie $12.99 + tax and it wound up being $30. I was glad to check out!!!!

Green Features: They had none they said the room was 65 more like 99
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
It would seem you had several issues with our staff at the hotel and from the comments made in your review, I'm a little perplexed. First, when our occupancy is high, our porte cochere can become quite hectic and we rely on our Valet team to help our guests park their vehicles in a safe manner that will not impede with the flow of traffic, but allow them to enter the hotel to check-in. It appears that your arrival at the Reception desk was welcoming and you were happy with your guest room. As for being forced out of the Club Lounge because our staff wanted to have drinks, occassionally, we will have a client that wishes to pay to reserve this room for a private function or meeting, but it is NEVER used for staff functions and is only reserved outside of the normal Club Lounge hours (on weekends when the Club Lounge is closed). I am very proud of our staff members. They are a dedicated team that behaves in a professional manner. They understand it is never appropriate to make fun of our guests and we are very diligent to respect the privacy of each guest. It is unfortunate that you felt you were being harassed for your attire at the pool and I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed for four nights at this hotel for a professional conference. The hotel lobby is strikingly beautiful. My room was very comfortable and had a mini fridge. The staff is the most consistently friendly I have encountered. There is a convenient shuttle every 20 minutes to the metro and another to the airport (not sure of the frequency). The gym has a great selection of weight machines, free weights, and cardio machines. There is also a small indoor pool. The club room is not crowded, with a good selection for breakfast, room to work, and a great view of planes landing and taking off from Reagan airport. It was a great experience and I would strongly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 5th floor and I didn't hear any street noise
See more room tips
Green Features: There was a bag in the room to collect recyclables.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.