We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine stay in DC area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pa
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A fine stay in DC area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is now my favorite hotel in the DC area. It's fairly new, and the room appointments show it. The lobby is elegant and the rooms comfortable. It's hard to find a place in DC that's both attractive and isolated from street noise, and the Renaissance fills the bill. While there's almost no noise from the street, the noise from the hall and the connecting room can be quite loud, but given the trade, I'll take inside noise over outside noise. The folks at the desk are helpful and engaged. The restaurant is pricey, but that's to be expected in DC. Plenty of good places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for making us your No. 1 choice of hotels in the DC area. We are very pleased. Our location is ideal in that we are further away from all the traffic, yet conveniently located to everything DC has to offer. We will share your feedback regarding the hallway and room noise with the appropriate departments to see what measures we can take to ensure our guests have the privacy they deserve, especially when we are filled to capacity. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    107
    29
    13
    13
See reviews for
82
57
25
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
earth
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had an early flight out of DCA, so decided to stay here for one night and park the car at the hotel. Enjoyed the stay very much. Service was very good. Let me elaborate.

Check-in was very courteous and professional. The gentleman made me feel very welcome. Our room was quite spacious. Small fridge, coffee maker, inroom safe. Good-sized bathroom with Aveda toiletries. Beds were comfortable -- I'd rate them just below Westin or Fairmont beds. The room was well-maintained and clean.

Our room was almost directly across from the club lounge, so there was a fair bit of noise as people went in and out, till about 11 pm. After that it was very quiet. No complaints.

The hotel looked very updated. Very deserving of a high-end but not snooty image.

I used the parking setup via cheapairportparking, and the rate was much better than the hotel's own parking rates. The same valet people park the car regardless, and we can still get the shuttle. So all is well.

When we drove up, we were almost immediately greeted by the valet people. Very professional and helpful. No difference that we were not parking via the hotel. Because the hotel shuttle does not run till 5 am, we decided to get a cab so as to get to the airport earlier. Front desk confirmed they would get a cab for us to be at the hotel at 4:45. We came down, but no cab. And the front desk person there at the time knew nothing about it. Well, lo and behold the shuttle came anyway, and we just took it. Very easy and quick. So, not having the cab as promised was bad, but it turned out to be a good thing afterall (still a bit disappointed though that the specific request just went by the wayside that way).

There are some restaurants and stuff near the hotel, within walking distance. So there's a bit of variety for food if needed.

I would stay here again if needed and if the rates are good. Overall, nice property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let other TripAdvisor users know about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback very much. I will share your comments regarding the lapse of communication about the requested cab service with our staff and use it as a learning tool for improving our guest service. It is my hope that you will visit with us again soon. We would love to have you come back for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during memorial day weekend. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The concierge and navigator desk was super helpful in planning our sight seeing trips. The hotel had free bikes for the guests. They gave us his-and-her bikes fully serviced and checked air and gave us helmets and locks. This helped us cover the national mall and popular spots very easily. They also had free shuttle service to and from the airport and also to the nearby metro station every 20 min and the service for extremely punctual.

The only complimentary service I wish they could provide for the price is breakfast. Also the swimming pool was quiet small and a bit dirty. Could use some cleaning.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the airport for the best room in a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We will use the information to let our team know how things are going in the hotel as well as areas that need attention. We will keep working until we exceed every guest's expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Rooms pretty spacious and clean. Staff was very courteous and friendly. Got a great rate booking though Marriott official's website that included parking. Many great restaurants in the area and no more than 10 minutes away from DC. Very close to one of the main train stations as well.

I saw in a few other reviews complaints over nearby trains but Im a very light sleeper and didn't have any trouble at all. At worst, only reminded me of light traffic.

WIll definitely stay again if in DC area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review of our hotel. We appreciate your business and I'm grateful that you will think of us the next time you're in town. We'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed for a night. The room was well appointed had contemporary deign and luxurious feel.
Loved the rain shower head, and the reading lights on the bed headrest.The bed was very comfortable . had a good sleep for most part.Just that someone in the other room was talking loud

The hotel was clean and stylish.
They do provide free metro shuttle every 20 min which stopped at the shopping site too.

Buffet breakfast was also good. the made to order omelets were delicious.
Our room faced the terrace garden. Quiet and peaceful.

Would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! I am delighted that your stay was comfortable. We would appreciate recommendations to your family and friends and hope you will come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We needed to stay one night near Arlington, VA, and we found this place. I am very happy we chose this hotel because everyone in our family loved it. We checked in late in the evening, but regretted we didn't have enough time to enough this place. It was modern, clean with a lot of nice touch inside and out. All amenities are in perfect working conditions, and the rooms are among the most comfortable compared to some of the hotels we stayed in this class. The only downside is that you have to pay for the parking, but I understand this is normal in this part of town. The rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated, and the lobby feels very modern. Most importantly, this 4 star hotel offers a very good value for our Friday night stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your hotel needs. Sometimes interrupted travel plans can lead to the most wonderful discoveries. In this case, we got to meet you and your family and have you stay as our guest, and you now have a place that you can count on for friendly service, clean, well-appointed rooms, and amenities to discover. Please keep us in mind the next time you come to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at this property after being stranded in town due to airline cancellations. The staff were welcoming and the zen, hip vibe was apparent at the front desk upon check-in. I went up to my room which was clean, stylish and comfortable. I was traveling with my infant son and the staff brought up an immaculate crib for him and set it up for me. The breakfast in the club lounge was delicious, healthy and had a great variety. I walked around the property the next day before my flight left and enjoyed the artwork and sculptures. I highly recommend this hotel and plan to bring my husband back to stay when we visit the area again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a higher room and did not have any noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I was sorry to hear about your delayed travel plans, but at least it gave us an opportunity to extend our warm hospitality to you and your son. Now that you've had a chance to experience a stay at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, we look forward to seeing you and the rest of the family in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we're doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the center of convenience and luxury at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel and rethink what you know about staying in Northern Virginia. Carving a modern outline in the Crystal City skyline, our hotel is designed to be LEED-certified and boasts award-winning architecture inspired by motion and enhanced by light and texture, which allows us to create an organic and dynamic experience for all of our guests.We are located just minutes from the landmarks, corporate offices and government agencies of the capital area. Reagan National Airport is less than 1 mile away and we offer free shuttle service to and from the airport and closest Metro stop. Travelers can also tour the neighborhood with our in-house bicycles available to guests at no cost.SOCCi Kitchen + Bar serves a handcrafted Italian menu and hosts live entertainment acts each week. Espressamente illy Cafe is right in our lobby as well for cappuccinos and take-away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;