We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely happy about our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% off
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely happy about our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We needed to stay one night near Arlington, VA, and we found this place. I am very happy we chose this hotel because everyone in our family loved it. We checked in late in the evening, but regretted we didn't have enough time to enough this place. It was modern, clean with a lot of nice touch inside and out. All amenities are in perfect working conditions, and the rooms are among the most comfortable compared to some of the hotels we stayed in this class. The only downside is that you have to pay for the parking, but I understand this is normal in this part of town. The rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated, and the lobby feels very modern. Most importantly, this 4 star hotel offers a very good value for our Friday night stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your hotel needs. Sometimes interrupted travel plans can lead to the most wonderful discoveries. In this case, we got to meet you and your family and have you stay as our guest, and you now have a place that you can count on for friendly service, clean, well-appointed rooms, and amenities to discover. Please keep us in mind the next time you come to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    112
    30
    13
    13
See reviews for
84
64
28
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at this property after being stranded in town due to airline cancellations. The staff were welcoming and the zen, hip vibe was apparent at the front desk upon check-in. I went up to my room which was clean, stylish and comfortable. I was traveling with my infant son and the staff brought up an immaculate crib for him and set it up for me. The breakfast in the club lounge was delicious, healthy and had a great variety. I walked around the property the next day before my flight left and enjoyed the artwork and sculptures. I highly recommend this hotel and plan to bring my husband back to stay when we visit the area again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a higher room and did not have any noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I was sorry to hear about your delayed travel plans, but at least it gave us an opportunity to extend our warm hospitality to you and your son. Now that you've had a chance to experience a stay at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, we look forward to seeing you and the rest of the family in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we're doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have stayed here many times because of proximity to Alexandria where our son lives. The service is exceptional, the rooms are spacious and clean and there is a shuttle every 20 minutes to the nearest metro. The food in the restaurant is also very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest. We appreciate your repeat business at our hotel and are glad our guest service keeps you coming back. We'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here as price wise compared to downtown DC this offered good value for money. Check in was efficient, and the rooms spacious. There is a free shuttle running every 20 minutes the nearest metro or the crystal city shops which made up for some of the negatives - There is a very high charge for car parking and in room wifi access. We opted for the buffet breakfast which again seemed expensive at $19 but offered better value than picking individual items off the menu. Our room was not made up until very late in the afternoon. The area is packed with all the hotel chains and there was nothing specific that would make me rush back to this one rather than another.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for your recent stay. We know you have a choice of hotels in the Crystal City and DC area, but we are always trying to set ourselves apart from our competition by delivering friendly customer service and by paying attention to the little details that make a stay memorable. So far, we have been successful as we have many guests who come back to us again and again. I hope we will have an opportunity to win you over as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a classy hotel near the airport and near many good restaurants. I was speaking at a conference in the hotel and was given an Executive Suite by the conference organizers, which was a real treat. The suite overlooked the airport, yet was quiet, and overlooked the Potomac River with a small view of the Capitol dome in the distance. The conference facilities were excellent as was the parking. The hotel has a shuttle bus which took you, for free, to the nearest Metro stop and to the restaurant area near the hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The only food I ate at the hotel were the lunches at the conference and they were all excellent. My wife highly recommends the coffee bar in the lobby.

Green Features: The hotel had really good "green" policies and recyled well.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We're so glad you were able to come and stay at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View. It sounds like we met your expectations and I'm delighted you were able to take a little time aside from the conference to enjoy the locale. It sounds like your wife found a new coffee hangout when she comes to town! Illy's will be here waiting for you the next time you're here! Thank you for letting others know about this "gem" of a hotel in the heart of Crystal City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This very nice upscale Marriott hotel has one of the highest charges for guest room WiFi internet use I have seen. Yet, around the corner, in the Courtyard by Marriott, guest room WiFi is complimentary. Evidently the corporate decision has been made that those who can afford the more upscale Renaissance hotel can, and will, absorb the high daily fee. Since TripAdvisor rules may not allow me to post the amount, I will only say that, at these levels, home internet access would run into the high-three figures/month. Multiply that by the number of rooms, and you quickly realize that this fee is an enormous revenue generator for the hotel. Use the lobby where access is free, and avoid this scam.

Ironically, in my travels to other countries on business, sometimes to countries one might consider third world or certainly less advanced (most recently, Greece and Brazil, for example) hotels routinely provide free WiFi, and at faster speeds than US hotels.

Outside of this irksome detail, the hotel is a very nice place to stay. My room was on the third floor on the side facing the Amtrak tracks, yet noise from trains were minimal, and nights very quiet. Hotel staff very accommodating and friendly. Within walking distance of several great eateries, and a 15-minute walk to the metro.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We offer the latest in WiFi to our guests because we understand how important it is for our guests to stay connected. We have found our rates are in line with other full service hotels and it is never our intention to insult our guests by charging them for this service. As you mentioned, we do offer free access in our lobby. However, to offer our guests premium service in the guestrooms, we do apply a fee. We do appreciate your business and hope you will consider us for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a really nicely decorated and new(er) hotel in the DC area. It is in Crystal City, so a little inconvenient if you don't have transportation back into the city.

There is a shuttle to Reagan national airport which runs every 20 minutes.

The hotel is very nice! Super modern design and function. Great lobby restaurant and small cafe.

I didn't get to try out the concierge lounge or fitness center but I assume it was pretty nice as well. The rooms themselves are nice, the only thing is the sliding bathroom door - just not a fan of those marriott, what's the deal?!

Would definitely stay here again, especially if the rates hover around $130 per night, great deal!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards the capital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View for your stay. I'm sorry you didn't have a chance to work out in the Fitness Center or grab a bite to eat in the Concierge Lounge. Perhaps the next time you're in town, you'll have a little more time to do so. Did you know we also have free bike rentals? Now that the weather is warming up, you can get about and explore the city whenever you want. Please think of us for a future stay. We would appreciate an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the center of convenience and luxury at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel and rethink what you know about staying in Northern Virginia. Carving a modern outline in the Crystal City skyline, our hotel is designed to be LEED-certified and boasts award-winning architecture inspired by motion and enhanced by light and texture, which allows us to create an organic and dynamic experience for all of our guests.We are located just minutes from the landmarks, corporate offices and government agencies of the capital area. Reagan National Airport is less than 1 mile away and we offer free shuttle service to and from the airport and closest Metro stop. Travelers can also tour the neighborhood with our in-house bicycles available to guests at no cost.SOCCi Kitchen + Bar serves a handcrafted Italian menu and hosts live entertainment acts each week. Espressamente illy Cafe is right in our lobby as well for cappuccinos and take-away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.