We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Modern Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #7 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Modern Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this property while attending a conference on-site. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable, and relaxing. The lobby was great for hanging out and networking. The conference space was beautiful and comfortable as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Now that you've had an opportunity to experience our hotel for business, I hope you will also consider us for a leisure stay, as well. Thank you for taking the time to let other TripAdvisor users know that they can rely on us for a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    103
    29
    13
    13
See reviews for
79
54
24
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable. Made the reservation almost two months in advance and they oversold the double bed rooms. We ended up with a king and TWO rollaways! Not what we expected for a two night stay. The manager did comp the parking which was about $70.00 for a two day stay. We still enjoyed our stay. There are lots of good places to eat near the hotel in walking distance.

Room Tip: If you require a double bed room, make sure it is in your instructions. The rooms are only average s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review to TripAdvisor and for choosing our hotel for your stay. I apologize that we were unable to offer you the double bed room at check-in and hope the resolution was able to meet your needs. We care about the comfort of our guests and will do everything we can to meet the requests made on a reservation. Please come back with your family to visit with us again. We would appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We went to this hotel for a school trip and we had not arrived until 9:30, we were a pretty large group; 4 charter busses, and were exausted from the trip and all the sight seeing. My group was extatic to see our room as it had a large fridge so we could keep our drinks cold for the next day, the room was exceptionally clean, the bathroom was really nice and spacious and the bed was more comfy than my bed at home and the reading light attached to the headboard was a nice touch. The rooms were modern and excellent. The next morning, we were down for breakfast a we had a nice buffet style with lots of choices and the food was good too. The decor was by far my favorite thing however, it was classy, modern and fun to look at. This is the definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I am delighted that your group enjoyed their stay at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View and that our hotel and the staff met your expectations. We hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Beautifully renovated Marriott property by DCA airport. Spacious rooms all newly renovated. Great staff. Meeting facilities nice, easily accessible. Good value. Restaurants great too. Near Metro for access to DC. Only drawback is not being in the District.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel. We are actually a new hotel, built from the ground up. We opened in 2011, but have not gone through renovations yet. We work very hard to keep everything looking and feeling as fresh as when we opened and, judging from your review, we are doing a good job. Please recommend us to family and friends when possible. It would be appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

While the standard of the hotel rooms and other facilities were of a normal global standard; clean, well equipped and decorated to the latest fashion, (whatever that is), what impressed me was the unflinchingly friendly service.

Let me explain. The place was busy - full rooms and about 3 conferences running at the same time (including the one I was attending), yet nothing was too much trouble for the staff who made sure all aspects of the stay went to plan. The bar staff were particularly efficient during some pretty demanding periods.

My one negative comment is that the lifts (elevators) clearly couldn’t cope with when the guest numbers approached maximum. 10 minute wait became the norm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review to TripAdvisor. I am glad you mentioned our friendly staff service. They really do care about our guests! I will share your comments with them. I'm sure it will make their day. Occasionally, we will receive a large number of guests who will arrive at the hotel at the same time and it can create some competition for our elevators, but we will do everything we can to make the process as smooth as possible. We understand that guests who have been traveling all day just want to get to their rooms to unwind and relax and get back downstairs to the lobby to get a drink at our bar or a bite to eat at our restaurant. We hope to see you back at the Renaissance Arlington Capital soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had stayed at the Hyatt Crystal City for Conference for 5 nights and they could not accomodate us but the Renaissance could for one more night. That night was great. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The room was impeccably clean. The lobby has a boutique hotel feel to it, something I am not accustomed to with the Marriott chain. It reminded me of a Klimpton, or W more than a Marriott property. The coffee bar / cafe Illy (yes the European Coffee) was great. Had good service, great coffee, good selection, everything fresh and appealing and tasty. The restaraunt in the Hotel we only ate the breakfast but the staff was very friendly, and helpful and the food was hot (something it was not the 2 prior mornings at the Hyatt Crystal City across the street.) This is a great hotel. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We're glad you had an opportunity to try us out! I am thrilled that you enjoyed the vibe of the hotel--it's what we here at the hotel refer to as "Renaissance chic". You'll see this trend at Marriott Renaissance brand hotels. It sounds like you had a great time while you were here. Wouldn't it be great if next year's conference was a Renaissance conference? Thank you for your review. Please refer us to friends and family. We would appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel is fine for a night. Stayed here as part of a multi-day conference. It’s in a nice neighborhood and very close to DCA. The negatives outweighed the positives for me, especially for multiple nights. I would stay here again if a conference was here but there are better choices in the area.

Positive
• Rooms are exceptionally clean .
• Bed and bedding very comfortable.
• Shower good.
• Easy to get to from the airport.
• Hardly any airport noise in spite of the close proximity.
• Located in a nice neighborhood with good selection of restaurants within walking distance.
• Concierge room is good with private meeting room available (first come first serve) and nice views.

Negative
• Rooms are very small.
• Closet in room is non-functional; almost impossible to get into or get anything out of.
• Bathroom is very small.
• Train tracks nearby with some noise from the engines. No room is immune to the noise.
• Not convenient to Metro; it is a nicewalk and shuttle service is available, but if you are lacking time this can be a problem.
• Breakfast buffet is very expensive as is parking.
• Postage stamp sized pool. Impossible to use if filled with kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review to TripAdvisor. We are interested in hearing what our guests have to say about their experience at the hotel. Although you expressed a desire to select another hotel in the area for an extended stay due to the size limitations at our hotel, I am pleased that you also highlighted the positive features of our hotel. Each hotel in the DC area is unique in both design and ammenity features in order to appeal to a wide variety of guests. Should your travels ever bring you back to the south side of Crystal City, I hope you will consider the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the center of convenience and luxury at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel and rethink what you know about staying in Northern Virginia. Carving a modern outline in the Crystal City skyline, our hotel is designed to be LEED-certified and boasts award-winning architecture inspired by motion and enhanced by light and texture, which allows us to create an organic and dynamic experience for all of our guests.We are located just minutes from the landmarks, corporate offices and government agencies of the capital area. Reagan National Airport is less than 1 mile away and we offer free shuttle service to and from the airport and closest Metro stop. Travelers can also tour the neighborhood with our in-house bicycles available to guests at no cost.SOCCi Kitchen + Bar serves a handcrafted Italian menu and hosts live entertainment acts each week. Espressamente illy Cafe is right in our lobby as well for cappuccinos and take-away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.