We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near Crystal City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location near Crystal City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here for one night to attend a conference. Wish I could have stayed longer! The hotel is located within walking distance of lots of restaurants, and is also conveniently located near the airport if you are flying into town, or near the beltway if you are driving. The conference space was very nice and the food for the attendees was wonderful. I also appreciated that a complimentary internet code was included for the people attending the conference. (I personally think that it should be complimentary for every guest!). The room was fine and included a mini-refrigerator and a very nice shower. I would have liked a more detailed hotel information book with clear directions about things like the operation of the A/C, but otherwise I have no complaints. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If view is important to you then ask for a room facing the Airport. Otherwise your view will be of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I wish you could have stayed here longer, too! Perhaps you will come when you don't have to attend to business, but will have the time to attend to your own personal relaxation. You could hang out with us and have a nice lunch out on the terrace or do a little shopping in town. How about a nice, quiet evening enjoying a delicious dinner at SOCCi? Doesn't that sound appealing? Throw in a good book to curl up with and you could be rejuvenated in no time. Thank you for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor users.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    105
    29
    13
    13
See reviews for
82
57
25
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is fine, and the price is much better than others in the area. The rooms appear new, but the furniture shows its age quickly. The proximity to the airport is key (although the shuttle is only every 20 minutes). The lobby and common areas try too hard to be hip, but that really does not matter. The mattress is great, and the room is clean. Charging for Internet is a bit bad.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a City View room - you look into other rooms without a clear shot to DC. The Airport view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are always on the look-out for ways to improve our overall guest experience. We understand that first impressions are lasting impressions and we take a lot of pride in our hotel's appearance. Anytime we identify furniture in need of repair or replacement, rest assured it will be taken care of. We love the new feel of our hotel and we want to keep it that way. I hope you will consider us for another stay whenever you are in the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice hotel with a contemporary flair. Bed was very comfortable. Employees were friendly and for the most part helpful. We stayed here recently as we were in town to see the cherry blossoms which unfortunately we missed. The shuttle to the metro worked out fine. I was a little concerned about booking a hotel so near the airport, but did not read anything about noise issues in other reviews. When making a reservation I did request a room on the quiet side of the building. I repeated the request at check in. I found myself bothered throughout the night by what I discovered in the morning was noise from nearby passing trains. After talking to the front desk clerk we were changed to a room on the other side of the hotel which was fine. A helpful tip: there are a number of good reasonably priced restaurants easily accessible from the Pentagon City Metro stop which is just one stop away. After entering the mall there keep walking straight through the mall and through the parking garage and when you emerge there is a great Thai restaurant, an Irish pub and many others.

Room Tip: Request room away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review to TripAdvisor. We certainly appreciate your feedback and your business. There are certainly all kinds of things to discover when you stay with us. Crystal City has so much to offer and everything you could ever want is just a hop, skip, and a jump away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Renaissance “Capital View” is, in reality, at a distance of over five miles from the US Capitol. Any view of the capitol is limited to guests on an upper floor facing the Potomac. (Bring binoculars to see the capitol more clearly!) I suspect the chosen name has more panache than the “Renaissance Airport View.” Situated above Reagan National, for good or bad, that’s the real “view.” The hotel’s west side alternative has a view of adjacent hotels.

The Renaissance has a hip, trendy, flair, (if you enjoy this sort of vibe.) There’s upbeat music in the lobby area and the décor of common areas is quite modern, with festive green color tones throughout. While I requested a King room with an upper floor, “view” exposure, I was told by the front desk staff that they had no King on that side of the building. (Perhaps suspect, as I was staying at the property through a discounted Priceline rate). I was instead given a corner room on the non-view side of the building. The room itself was very nice, although quite small; almost like something you’d get in mid-town Manhattan. The biggest perks of the room were the great bed with superior quality sheets and excellent room darkening blinds, a weakness at most hotels. Also, as others have mentioned, the bathroom in the King room has a large walk-in glass enclosed shower and the shower head was simply fabulous, prompting long, lingering showers.

The Renaissance is located in the same building as the Residence Inn, and the two hotels share an exercise facility and pool. The latter is VERY small. Photos of the pool on the hotel website creatively capture a corner of the pool, as not to showcase the small size. Also, of interest is that the pool is open limited hours.

As we were traveling with a child, we requested a roll-away bed to use. Interestingly we were not charged for this at check-out, unless this was in error. It always seems that higher end hotels nickel and dime you to death with fees for everything. (Paying for parking was painful enough). Speaking of parking, there seems to be limited street parking on Potomac Avenue heading south from the entrance of the Residence Inn. If you’re on a budget, and don’t mind waking a block or so, you may be able to forgo the $24 parking fee charged for garage parking.

Hotel’s location at the south end of Crystal City is void of retail commerce close by. You can either walk north about six blocks to stores/restaurants, or drive about a mile south to a large strip center with a Target, movie theater, etc. Also, the Hyatt and Courtyard by Marriott are adjacent to the Renaissance. In pinch, you can be sneaky and hitch a ride on one of their shuttles back from the Metro if there’s a long delay getting the Marriott shuttle.

While I wouldn't pay the sticker price for this hotel, it's very nice and I will wholeheartedly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Potomac side come with a trade-off, increased airport & train noise. Rooms on lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review of our hotel! While a view of the airport is much more visible to our guests than a close-up view of the Capitol, I often hear guests exclaim in delight when they can spot the Capitol building from our Club Level Lounge. It's fun to see how many DC sights one can pick out of the horizon. And please don't feel discriminated against when it comes to bed types and what company a reservation was made with. It's true, we do not have a king bedroom on any of the upper club level floors on the view side of the hotel, with the exception of a hospitality suite, which was probably not available at the time of your arrival. I hope there are no hard feelings about that because we would certainly want you to come back again sometime. It sounds like you were able to discover quite a bit of the hotel, but now that the weather is warming up, perhaps you can return to the hotel and take one of our bikes out for a spin and explore some more of the Crystal City area. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This was a first time stay for my family. The hotel is still new and the price was well worth the stay. We had a view to see the airplanes coming and going, which was awesome for the kids. The room was clean and the mattress comfy. Michael at the counter was very polite and informative. The valet guys were very nice too. I'd visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I am pleased that your experience met with your satisfaction and that you would gladly come back for another visit. We'll be waiting for you. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaggleofGirls
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed here after leaving a dump of a hotel in Boston, so that may color my review, but this place is wonderful. Great rooms both in size and decision. beautiful lobby. good location. room service came quickly, was very nice, and the food was good. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry to hear that your hotel experience prior to the Renaissance Arlington Capital View was not up to par. Lucky for us that you gave us a chance to show you what we're all about! I hope you'll come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We've stayed at many hotels in the DC area and this is by far our favorite. We decided to stay at the Renaissance because of all the positive reviews and I'm happy to say the hotel does live up to it's hype. The next time we are in the DC area we will be staying here again.

Our family of 5 had 2 adjoining rooms (1 king and 2 doubles) with an amazing view of the airport, metro trains and many cargo trains. It was was actually cheaper to have 2 rooms with a AAA rate than it was to stay at an Embassy suites or Residence Inn.

The rooms are clean and well decorated. The king bedroom had a very nice walk in shower while the 2 doubles had a bathtub/shower combo. The breakfast room service was prompt. Check in was efficient and friendly. The kids loved the computers in the lobby.

One piece of advice is to skip the metro and drive in if you're sight seeing in DC. The metro can add up in price, especially for a family of 5, and the wait for the shuttle (to and fro) can add at least half an hour onto your trip. You can find cheap parking in DC online. The drive in is only about 10 minutes, depending on time of day.

The small cons:
- cargo trains are a bit loud, but not enough to wake you up
- the view of the airport was a huge plus, not sure if i would give it 5 stars if i faced the other way
- pool can get very crowded with kids
- wait for metro shuttle

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We appreciate all of the wonderful comments about our hotel. Thank you for choosing us for your family's stay. Our hotel's vision is to become the landmark hotel of Washington, DC. We know we can achieve this vision by creating a memorable experience for our guests and "wowing" them with guest service that exceeds expectations. We look forward to your repeat business with us. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the center of convenience and luxury at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel and rethink what you know about staying in Northern Virginia. Carving a modern outline in the Crystal City skyline, our hotel is designed to be LEED-certified and boasts award-winning architecture inspired by motion and enhanced by light and texture, which allows us to create an organic and dynamic experience for all of our guests.We are located just minutes from the landmarks, corporate offices and government agencies of the capital area. Reagan National Airport is less than 1 mile away and we offer free shuttle service to and from the airport and closest Metro stop. Travelers can also tour the neighborhood with our in-house bicycles available to guests at no cost.SOCCi Kitchen + Bar serves a handcrafted Italian menu and hosts live entertainment acts each week. Espressamente illy Cafe is right in our lobby as well for cappuccinos and take-away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.