We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
GaggleofGirls
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed here after leaving a dump of a hotel in Boston, so that may color my review, but this place is wonderful. Great rooms both in size and decision. beautiful lobby. good location. room service came quickly, was very nice, and the food was good. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry to hear that your hotel experience prior to the Renaissance Arlington Capital View was not up to par. Lucky for us that you gave us a chance to show you what we're all about! I hope you'll come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    107
    29
    13
    13
See reviews for
82
57
26
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We've stayed at many hotels in the DC area and this is by far our favorite. We decided to stay at the Renaissance because of all the positive reviews and I'm happy to say the hotel does live up to it's hype. The next time we are in the DC area we will be staying here again.

Our family of 5 had 2 adjoining rooms (1 king and 2 doubles) with an amazing view of the airport, metro trains and many cargo trains. It was was actually cheaper to have 2 rooms with a AAA rate than it was to stay at an Embassy suites or Residence Inn.

The rooms are clean and well decorated. The king bedroom had a very nice walk in shower while the 2 doubles had a bathtub/shower combo. The breakfast room service was prompt. Check in was efficient and friendly. The kids loved the computers in the lobby.

One piece of advice is to skip the metro and drive in if you're sight seeing in DC. The metro can add up in price, especially for a family of 5, and the wait for the shuttle (to and fro) can add at least half an hour onto your trip. You can find cheap parking in DC online. The drive in is only about 10 minutes, depending on time of day.

The small cons:
- cargo trains are a bit loud, but not enough to wake you up
- the view of the airport was a huge plus, not sure if i would give it 5 stars if i faced the other way
- pool can get very crowded with kids
- wait for metro shuttle

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We appreciate all of the wonderful comments about our hotel. Thank you for choosing us for your family's stay. Our hotel's vision is to become the landmark hotel of Washington, DC. We know we can achieve this vision by creating a memorable experience for our guests and "wowing" them with guest service that exceeds expectations. We look forward to your repeat business with us. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

First visit to this hotel and I found everything to be in order...clean, quiet, and very helpful staff. The concierge lounge was well stocked (other than newspapers) and parking was easy. Mr room was very clean and comfortable with a great shower! I travel to the DC area often and i will definately stay here going forward.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We appreciate the feedback from your stay. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View as your "go-to" place in Crystal City. We look forward to seeing you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My son and I just returned from a two-night trip to Washington, DC. We stayed at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. We found the hotel as a Priceline.com Express Deal. It was half the price of similar properties (and some similar hotels were way more than double the price of ours). The hotel was beautiful and our room, with two double beds, desk, two chairs, a refrig., coffee maker, etc., was very comfortable. We had a nice view of the Potomac River. Although the train and Reagan Airport were close, we did not notice much noise from our fifth floor room. A shuttle runs every 20 minutes from the hotel to the nearest Metro stop. A small drawback was that the shuttle was crowded and once we needed to wait for another shuttle since there was no room for us. We parked underground, which was convenient; and we had in-and-out privileges. Parking was an additional $24 per night, which seemed like a small fortune to us Ohioans, but we had done our research before booking and knew this was a typical rate - even for D.C.'s Virginia suburbs. We have stayed at other Renaissance hotels before (when we have gotten good deals) and appreciate the wonderful mattresses, very clean duvets, comfortable pillows, oversized shower heads and (at least in Arlington; Columbus, OH; and Boston) decent views. We did not eat at the restaurant or coffee shop (which we felt were a bit pricey for our budget), but they looked very nice. I did get a cafe Americano at the coffee shop and it was delicious. The limo driver and front desk staff were courteous, and there was another employee at the bellhop desk who gave us helpful advice about activities and taking the Metro. We were in D.C. looking at colleges, so we did not have time to sightsee; however, Arlington Cemetery is only a few Metro stops and then a short walk away, and many other D.C. sights are relatively easy to get to as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We know you have a choice of hotels to choose from in Crystal City, so thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and only hope that you will come to stay with us again when visiting the area. Perhaps your plans will allow you to have more time to take in the sights. There's so much to see and do in the DC Metro area and we would be more than happy to provide you with a list of 'must see" activities. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I can't say enough about our experience at this hotel. From airport shuttle, which pulled up to the curb within 5 minutes to the check in desk to the friendly cleaning people, our entire four day stay was flawless. We asked for a room on an upper floor and had a great view. The bed was almost as comfortable as mine at home... There was a nice size walk in shower with a great shower head. We used the shuttle to the metro once but the rest of the time we walked. There are many great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel as well. We were attending a conference at the hotel and were served several meals by the hotel, all very good. What makes this place so different is the staff. They not only made us feel welcome and cared for but they all, and I mean ALL, acted like they loved their jobs and wanted to help us. Whatever the management does to motivate their employees is to be commended. Well done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for submitting your review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay during the conference at the hotel. We are very proud to be a part of the community and our staff understands the importance of delivering an excellent guest experience to all of our guests. We hope you will consider us for a future stay and will recommend us to family and friends who are traveling to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for a two night stay over the weekend. From the minute we arrived to the moment we left, we were treated like royalty. The hotel is beautiful and inviting and makes you feel great to be there. Though a little ways from the metro, there's a shuttle that runs every 20 minutes from the hotel to the Crystal City stop....which made life easy to get around. The food at the Socci (which includes the room service as well) is delightful and the bartender was a delight to speak with. When visiting the DC area, from here forward, we will ALWAYS stay at the Renaissance Arlington.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I can't tell you how delighted I am to hear that you will ALWAYS come back to stay with us when you're in the DC area! Since we opened the hotel in April 2011, our vision has been to become the landmark hotel of Washington, DC. Our dedicated team will continue to strive for guest service excellence because it really does matter to us. Thank you, again, for your business. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at here to do a training for a national organization and must say that the staff is excellent. They were quick, efficient and friendly. whether the bellman, front desk, maids, servers. The food served to our group was really excellent; unlike food served at meeting where it simply tastes catered. Hot food was hot and cold food was cold, everything was fresh and seasoning was tasty. My room was comfortable and had a nice view of the Potomac. And when I was leaving the shuttle started to pull away and the doorman ran after it so I could catch it! Thank you all!

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have a view of the Potomac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are glad that you had an opportunity to stay with us. Thank you for the hotel review. Our goal is to become the landmark hotel of Washington, DC and we are confident that if we continue to take care of our guests, we will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the center of convenience and luxury at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel and rethink what you know about staying in Northern Virginia. Carving a modern outline in the Crystal City skyline, our hotel is designed to be LEED-certified and boasts award-winning architecture inspired by motion and enhanced by light and texture, which allows us to create an organic and dynamic experience for all of our guests.We are located just minutes from the landmarks, corporate offices and government agencies of the capital area. Reagan National Airport is less than 1 mile away and we offer free shuttle service to and from the airport and closest Metro stop. Travelers can also tour the neighborhood with our in-house bicycles available to guests at no cost.SOCCi Kitchen + Bar serves a handcrafted Italian menu and hosts live entertainment acts each week. Espressamente illy Cafe is right in our lobby as well for cappuccinos and take-away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.