We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for short stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Summer Deal: 25% Off
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location for short stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

First visit to this hotel and I found everything to be in order...clean, quiet, and very helpful staff. The concierge lounge was well stocked (other than newspapers) and parking was easy. Mr room was very clean and comfortable with a great shower! I travel to the DC area often and i will definately stay here going forward.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We appreciate the feedback from your stay. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View as your "go-to" place in Crystal City. We look forward to seeing you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    131
    34
    15
    13
See reviews for
93
76
29
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My son and I just returned from a two-night trip to Washington, DC. We stayed at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. We found the hotel as a Priceline.com Express Deal. It was half the price of similar properties (and some similar hotels were way more than double the price of ours). The hotel was beautiful and our room, with two double beds, desk, two chairs, a refrig., coffee maker, etc., was very comfortable. We had a nice view of the Potomac River. Although the train and Reagan Airport were close, we did not notice much noise from our fifth floor room. A shuttle runs every 20 minutes from the hotel to the nearest Metro stop. A small drawback was that the shuttle was crowded and once we needed to wait for another shuttle since there was no room for us. We parked underground, which was convenient; and we had in-and-out privileges. Parking was an additional $24 per night, which seemed like a small fortune to us Ohioans, but we had done our research before booking and knew this was a typical rate - even for D.C.'s Virginia suburbs. We have stayed at other Renaissance hotels before (when we have gotten good deals) and appreciate the wonderful mattresses, very clean duvets, comfortable pillows, oversized shower heads and (at least in Arlington; Columbus, OH; and Boston) decent views. We did not eat at the restaurant or coffee shop (which we felt were a bit pricey for our budget), but they looked very nice. I did get a cafe Americano at the coffee shop and it was delicious. The limo driver and front desk staff were courteous, and there was another employee at the bellhop desk who gave us helpful advice about activities and taking the Metro. We were in D.C. looking at colleges, so we did not have time to sightsee; however, Arlington Cemetery is only a few Metro stops and then a short walk away, and many other D.C. sights are relatively easy to get to as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We know you have a choice of hotels to choose from in Crystal City, so thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and only hope that you will come to stay with us again when visiting the area. Perhaps your plans will allow you to have more time to take in the sights. There's so much to see and do in the DC Metro area and we would be more than happy to provide you with a list of 'must see" activities. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I can't say enough about our experience at this hotel. From airport shuttle, which pulled up to the curb within 5 minutes to the check in desk to the friendly cleaning people, our entire four day stay was flawless. We asked for a room on an upper floor and had a great view. The bed was almost as comfortable as mine at home... There was a nice size walk in shower with a great shower head. We used the shuttle to the metro once but the rest of the time we walked. There are many great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel as well. We were attending a conference at the hotel and were served several meals by the hotel, all very good. What makes this place so different is the staff. They not only made us feel welcome and cared for but they all, and I mean ALL, acted like they loved their jobs and wanted to help us. Whatever the management does to motivate their employees is to be commended. Well done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for submitting your review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay during the conference at the hotel. We are very proud to be a part of the community and our staff understands the importance of delivering an excellent guest experience to all of our guests. We hope you will consider us for a future stay and will recommend us to family and friends who are traveling to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for a two night stay over the weekend. From the minute we arrived to the moment we left, we were treated like royalty. The hotel is beautiful and inviting and makes you feel great to be there. Though a little ways from the metro, there's a shuttle that runs every 20 minutes from the hotel to the Crystal City stop....which made life easy to get around. The food at the Socci (which includes the room service as well) is delightful and the bartender was a delight to speak with. When visiting the DC area, from here forward, we will ALWAYS stay at the Renaissance Arlington.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I can't tell you how delighted I am to hear that you will ALWAYS come back to stay with us when you're in the DC area! Since we opened the hotel in April 2011, our vision has been to become the landmark hotel of Washington, DC. Our dedicated team will continue to strive for guest service excellence because it really does matter to us. Thank you, again, for your business. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at here to do a training for a national organization and must say that the staff is excellent. They were quick, efficient and friendly. whether the bellman, front desk, maids, servers. The food served to our group was really excellent; unlike food served at meeting where it simply tastes catered. Hot food was hot and cold food was cold, everything was fresh and seasoning was tasty. My room was comfortable and had a nice view of the Potomac. And when I was leaving the shuttle started to pull away and the doorman ran after it so I could catch it! Thank you all!

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have a view of the Potomac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are glad that you had an opportunity to stay with us. Thank you for the hotel review. Our goal is to become the landmark hotel of Washington, DC and we are confident that if we continue to take care of our guests, we will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend trip to Washington, D.C. Check in was smooth and the room had 2 full beds. Bathroom was clean and extra towels were provided once requested. Would stay here again for the value. Hotel is a walk from the metro so bring good walking shoes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your business. I noticed that you mentioned the distance to the Metro Station and advised others to bring good walking shoes. While the Crystal City Metro Station is about a 10-15 minute walk from our hotel, we do offer a complimentary Metro Shuttle that will take you to and from the station. Plus, the drivers are more than happy to answer any questions you have or point out places to go along the way. The next time you come for a stay, you'll have to check it out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Renaissance Capital View and I have to say that the staff, from front desk, to Paulette (the hostess in Socci), to the security staff are all so friendly and helpful. Always greeting us, with a smile, each time we entered. The hotel was well appointed and very modern with a nice restaurant and coffee bar. The only complaints I have are that on our third day we asked housekeeping to come back later (they knocked on the door at 9am and we did not leave the room until 10am) and they never came back. Later that evening, we asked the front desk for some coffee, splenda and half n half for our room, since we didn't get housekeeping service that day, they were not replaced and while told it would be brought to our room, it never was. Also, it was a long wait (over 30 minutes) for the shuttle to pick us up at the airport (I am finding this typical with Marriott hotels lately). Overall, it was a great stay and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It is about a 15 minute walk to the metro station, most of which can be done through an indoor/under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View for your stay. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and while we are pleased to be meeting your expectations with our friendly guest service, we will also heed your comments regarding our housekeeping service and will share your concerns with the staff. It is extremely important to us that we meet all of our guests expectations consistently with each and every stay. Thank you for recommending us to others and we hope you'll come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Arlington Capital View's luminous design, sophisticated comfort and unparalleled service validate our position as not only one of the top rated hotels in the Washington, DC area, but across the continental U.S. Our Arlington, VA hotel is centrally located between downtown DC (3 miles) and Old Town Alexandria (3 miles). Courtesy shuttle services to National Airport and Crystal City Metro station provide possibilities to discover something new. Looking for an adventure? Our courtesy Trek Bicycles are the perfect mode of transportation when exploring the sights and hidden gems of our Nation's Capital! While visiting us, we hope you have the chance to enjoy one of the largest hotel fitness centers in the Arlington, VA area, a heated indoor pool, Espressamente Illy cafe, and modern Italian cuisine at SOCCi. We're proud to be a LEED(R) Gold certified hotel and our Navigators, the hotel's local area experts, are looking forward to helping you discover the best places to savor, sip, shop and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.