We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Hotel room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #7 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Typical Hotel room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend trip to Washington, D.C. Check in was smooth and the room had 2 full beds. Bathroom was clean and extra towels were provided once requested. Would stay here again for the value. Hotel is a walk from the metro so bring good walking shoes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your business. I noticed that you mentioned the distance to the Metro Station and advised others to bring good walking shoes. While the Crystal City Metro Station is about a 10-15 minute walk from our hotel, we do offer a complimentary Metro Shuttle that will take you to and from the station. Plus, the drivers are more than happy to answer any questions you have or point out places to go along the way. The next time you come for a stay, you'll have to check it out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    101
    28
    13
    13
See reviews for
78
53
24
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deltona, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Renaissance Capital View and I have to say that the staff, from front desk, to Paulette (the hostess in Socci), to the security staff are all so friendly and helpful. Always greeting us, with a smile, each time we entered. The hotel was well appointed and very modern with a nice restaurant and coffee bar. The only complaints I have are that on our third day we asked housekeeping to come back later (they knocked on the door at 9am and we did not leave the room until 10am) and they never came back. Later that evening, we asked the front desk for some coffee, splenda and half n half for our room, since we didn't get housekeeping service that day, they were not replaced and while told it would be brought to our room, it never was. Also, it was a long wait (over 30 minutes) for the shuttle to pick us up at the airport (I am finding this typical with Marriott hotels lately). Overall, it was a great stay and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It is about a 15 minute walk to the metro station, most of which can be done through an indoor/under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View for your stay. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and while we are pleased to be meeting your expectations with our friendly guest service, we will also heed your comments regarding our housekeeping service and will share your concerns with the staff. It is extremely important to us that we meet all of our guests expectations consistently with each and every stay. Thank you for recommending us to others and we hope you'll come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I picked this place because i needed a place to stay over night for an early flight from DCA. The hotel is not inexpensive (including $29 for 12 hours of valet and wifi wasn't free). But it was worth the cost in terms of cleanliness, service and convenience to DCA. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We know that you have a choice of hotels in the Crystal City area to choose from and we will continue to provide exceptional guest service to keep our guests coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel. It's a modern and welcoming upscale hotel. I only stayed here one night this time around, but have stayed here before. The room was spacious and clean. Crystal City restaurants and Pentagon City Mall are a short cab ride away, or if you like to walk, a few blocks away. Highly recommended if you are able to pay its rates.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel for TripAdvisor. We appreciate the repeat business and look forward to seeing you again at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great upscale hotel at a reasonable price. We got the package with parking. Great amenities (bar, coffee shop, restaurant. We attended a wedding here. food was good tand getting in and out of DC was a breeze. Room are big with modern amenities. lots of wall plugs / respectales all around to plug in charging etc.

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. we will love to come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Your submission to TripAdvisor is greatly appreciated. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View for your stay. We take a lot of pride in how we treat our guests and are eager to share our great hotel with others. Please refer us to friends and family when they head our way. We would love to have them discover us, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was the very time I stayed in a Renaissance hotel, and I definitely wanted to stay more often since then. The hotel itself is close to DCA, and it's in next to Hyatt and a lot other hotels. In the morning you can grab a coffee at the illy place in the lobby or a Starbucks nearby. If was very safe and nice to walk in the neighborhood, compared to DC downtown. If you need to take DC Metro, there's a shuttle from/to Crystal City Metro Station.

The lobby is contemporary and I really enjoyed the ambiance of the fireplace and study-looking decoration. The rooms are perfectly clean, spacious and comfortable. Service is top notch too, especially the shuttle bus drivers. They are so helpful and kind to my family members who hardly know any English language. At a rate of $99 again I'll probably stay here again, if there's no cheap rooms near DuPont Circle or Alexandria Old Town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I am delighted that you had the chance to discover the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. Thank you for choosing us! We are situated in a prime location for our guests which makes it convenient for them to get to where they want to go without having to spend a lot of time doing it. Along with our own SOCCi restaurant at the hotel, the local area is chocked full of great places to dine and all just a hop, skip, and a jump from the hotel. We would be grateful for your repeat business if ever your plans bring you this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Don't be alarmed by my review title. This hotel was GREAT. We really enjoyed our stay, and the hotel was clean and upscale. Loved the location, and especially loved the FREE bike loner program. We were able to bike to the capital in no time along the beautiful bikeway (ie we never had to tangle with cars on the road). But ... don't make the mistake of trying to park across the street in the parking deck. I parked there and was basically accosted by a guard for "not walking out the correct exit." The parking deck is not associated with the hotel. The deck allows parking but they get MAD if you walk out on the side facing the hotel. The incident scared me so bad that I left the garage (after paying $7 for parking there for a mere 10 minutes, 9 of which I was being yelled at by a guard who was pointing a GUN at me!) On the weekend, parking is ample on the street and I had no trouble parking for free.

Room Tip: Don't park in the deck across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for complimenting our hotel. I gather you had quite the scare when you parked your car across the street. Not that this explanation will make it any better, but the garage across the street happens to be located in a government agency building and the security for the building is tighter than Fort Knox. A sign of the times, I suppose. However, on this side of the street, at the Renaissance, we're aiming for relaxation, comfort and a stress-free environment. Don't get me wrong, the security of our guests is extremely important and we have our own security on the premises. However, the way we approach our guests when they exit the hotel's parking garage is a lot different than the experience you had at the garage across the street. I hope this incident will not deter you from visiting us in the future. We would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the center of convenience and luxury at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel and rethink what you know about staying in Northern Virginia. Carving a modern outline in the Crystal City skyline, our hotel is designed to be LEED-certified and boasts award-winning architecture inspired by motion and enhanced by light and texture, which allows us to create an organic and dynamic experience for all of our guests.We are located just minutes from the landmarks, corporate offices and government agencies of the capital area. Reagan National Airport is less than 1 mile away and we offer free shuttle service to and from the airport and closest Metro stop. Travelers can also tour the neighborhood with our in-house bicycles available to guests at no cost.SOCCi Kitchen + Bar serves a handcrafted Italian menu and hosts live entertainment acts each week. Espressamente illy Cafe is right in our lobby as well for cappuccinos and take-away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.