We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #7 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Okemos, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good location but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location is convenient to the Reagan National Airport. However, the hotel is priced high even for the Washington, DC, area. Serviceable, and would use again, but no reason to go out of my way to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to rate our hotel and submit your feedback to TripAdvisor. We are glad that you mentioned our great guest service and the fact that we are near DCA. It is my hope that these values will steer you back in our direction the next time you're in Crystal City. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    97
    28
    13
    13
See reviews for
77
52
22
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a refreshing change this hotel is from the traditional and generic. This places feels like a "W" hotel without all the attitude. Strikingly modern, yet inviting decor and excellent service help further distinguish it. The lobby, complete with art and sculptures in a "great room" with a bar, open kitchen and iMac computers sets the tone. The rooms, while not huge, are uber stylish and have great amenities such as bathrobes, lots of lotions and products from Aveda, mini- fridges and an amazing shower. And the bed is heavenly too.

The fitness center feels like a 1st Class gym with tons of equipment, including free weights, nautilus, treadmills, fresh fruit and water. There is a changing room but no sauna or steam room. The pool is on the small side but clean and new. The restaurant serves up a nice brunch with made-to-order omelets and waffles along with apple sausage, Yukon potatoes, fresh fruit, bacon, lox and bagels and other breads.

The service is polite, efficient and professional. Ask and they will deliver, or try and find a way.

Few hotels impress me these days but this place is first rate. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review to TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. I am glad you had the chance to explore the hotel and to take advantage of the amenities we have to offer such as the restaurant and fitness center. We can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It is not often I rate a hotel with five (5) stars but this one deserves it. I stayed there overnight for a morning flight out of Reagan National Airport and it was wonderful. The reception staff member was extremely professional, polite and went out of her way to make me feel like a special guest. The hotel lobby is beautifully appointed and the rooms were very nice and clean. I especially enjoyed the Executive lounge; the food was delicious and the airport/capital view was great. Every member of the staff was pleasant; kudos to the management of this hotel. One important point is the nearest Metro train stop is Crystal City which is about a 15 minute walk, however the hotel shuttle van runs every 20 minutes and includes a stop at the Metro station and the airport.

Room Tip: Try to choose airport view side of the hotel, otherwise you'll just see buildings on the other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I am delighted that you chose our hotel for your stay. We truly appreciate your business and hope that you will consider us for another stay in the near future. Surely your review of the hotel will encourage others guests to give us a try and for this, I thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

In the heat of the DC summer and in the middle of a move, it was sheer bliss to stay here. The staff was incredible, the beds were heaven and the executive lounge was my favorite! Great gym and pool. Once again, staying at the Marriott is great, they know how to treat their loyal customers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review and for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel during your transition. I hope everything is going according to plan and that you will recommend our hotel to friends and family when they come to town for a visit. Good luck with your new home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My family and I visited DC for Christmas 2012. I am so glad we chose this hotel!
Pros:
- Helpful front desk staff - always courteous
- Easy check in: we were greeted at door and check in was a breeze
- Rooms: beautiful, new rooms with nice TV's and bathrooms - all clean and updated
- Location: hotel is a 5-7 min drive from DC - hotel also offers a shuttle to airport/metro
- Club Lounge: this was the biggest surprise - we were upgraded so we had free access to the club lounge on the 14th floor - free deluxe breakfast, heavy h'orderves, and dessert! The staff in the club lounge were ALWAYS courteous and put the guests FIRST!

Cons:
- parking is over 20 a day but parking garage is easily accessible
- finding the hotel for the first time: there are a couple turns that the GPS left out when we first arrived - signs are not located in a location that first time guests can find easily

Overall - VERY PLEASED with this hotel. Its staff and amenities are wonderful for families visiting DC.

Room Tip: request a room on the airport side - views of airport and of capital are great on the high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for your holiday stay! We are pleased that you enjoyed the service and the amenities offered at our hotel and that you took the time to pass along your sentiments for other guests who may be considering our hotel for their needs. We appreciate your comments very much. Please come back to see us again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is only one and a half years old and it is funky !!! Very modern in design (maybe too much so for some) but very nicely done. It is connected to the Marriott Residence Inn and is very well located.
The facilities are very comprehensive with a particularly fine gym.
I thought the service was excellent, particularly the gentleman who checked us in. This is what hotel service should be like.
Well done Marriott/Renaissance. I hope to be back to enjoy your lovely hotel and attentive service,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We appreciate your business and your review regarding your experience at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel. We are delighted that our service and hotel amenities met with your expectations and we welcome your repeat business the next time you're back in Crystal City. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Service was impeccable, beds delightful, gorgeous view, and amenities galore. We stayed one night on Christmas eve, choosing this location because of its proximity to the airport and a planned visit to Arlington National Cemetery. Cant wait to come back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We will be delighted to see you again! Thank you for the review you submitted to
TripAdvisor and thank you for pointing out the convenience of our hotel's location to area attractions and to DCA airport. That's what makes us the gem of Crystal City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Address: 2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the center of convenience and luxury at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel and rethink what you know about staying in Northern Virginia. Carving a modern outline in the Crystal City skyline, our hotel is designed to be LEED-certified and boasts award-winning architecture inspired by motion and enhanced by light and texture, which allows us to create an organic and dynamic experience for all of our guests.We are located just minutes from the landmarks, corporate offices and government agencies of the capital area. Reagan National Airport is less than 1 mile away and we offer free shuttle service to and from the airport and closest Metro stop. Travelers can also tour the neighborhood with our in-house bicycles available to guests at no cost.SOCCi Kitchen + Bar serves a handcrafted Italian menu and hosts live entertainment acts each week. Espressamente illy Cafe is right in our lobby as well for cappuccinos and take-away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.